Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

Harrisburg Dairies Southern Brewed Sweet Tea

I typically love independent, mom and pop, generic iced teas because they're hand made and generally very good. This one was a bit of a let down.

The sugar was overpowering to the point where it tasted more like tea flavored sugar water than sweetened iced tea. You didn't get much tea flavor at all.

I will continue to try out small company iced teas like this in search for more winners.

Website
http://www.harrisburgdairies.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mate Fusion Blueberry Acai Tea

Mate Fusion Blueberry Acai Tea

I'm glad that there are a handful of companies popping up who are using mate in their iced teas. It has a very unique flavor, and it is a source of more caffeine then other teas. This is the first time I've tried Mate Fusion, and they have made themselves a great little beverage. The blueberry slightly overpowers the mate in the flavor department. It's very refreshing, and I can see myself enjoying it again on a hot summer day.

Website
http://www.matefusiondrink.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Green Tea With Cherry

Xing Tea Green Tea With Cherry

I've had Xing Tea before. It was a nice change from the Arizona tall boys to these because of the totally different cane sugar taste. This cherry flavor was unique since I've never had that flavor iced tea before. It certainly was unique but it was so cherry flavored that they could almost remove "tea" from the title and change the title to a juice and get away with it. It's got green and black tea in it but it's so faint that it's almost non-existent.

Look, it was one tasty drink, and I recommended it and would get it again, but now I know to get it when I have the taste for juice and not iced tea.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Green Tea With Pomegranate

Xing Tea Green Tea With Pomegranate

Better than the cherry? Possibly. Once again, not a strong tea flavor, but this time the pomegranate was the star. The aftertaste of the fruit was pretty spot on to the sweet, tartness of real pomegranate seeds.

The pomegranate green tea is a nice, drinkable alternative to the ten minutes and yellow fingers you have to deal with on a real pomegranate. I do love the bursting flavor of those lil' seeds, though.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mt. Angel Root Beer

Mt. Angel Root Beer

I saw this bottle at New Seasons yesterday and was drawn in by the plain label in a sea of colorful bottles. I had high hopes for this micro-brewed root beer, and I wasn't let down. I wish all root beer was this smooth. Even though I've only had one bottle so far, I think this is easily in my top 5 root beers.

Website
http://mtangelbrewingcompany.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Mike reviewed this drink three and a half years ago, and just wasn’t into it. As you can see below, it just didn’t deliver what he wanted from a sweet tea. Cut to now, the company contacted us and said that from what he wrote, they thought something was wrong with his can, as in a bad batch or something. They ended up sending us a couple cans to try again, and I have to say they were absolutely right.

I will now address Mike’s issues:
1) There is a difference between sweet tea and sweetened tea.

I can most definitely taste the sweet tea aspect of this. You can absolutely taste the cane sugar, and it’s one of the driving tastes in this beverage. That is what makes a sweet tea to me.

2) He couldn’t taste any actual tea, and it tasted fake.

There is both black and green tea in this, which I admit is odd in a sweet tea, and purists would scoff at it and claim it wasn’t real sweet tea. Those people are snobs. I can definitely taste both type of tea very distinctively. It gives a new twist to an old standard. I am personally a fan, and during a sweltering summer I would drink this all of the live long day.

Sorry you got a bunk can Mike, because this is great and more than lives up to my Xing expectations.

**********************************************************************************
Mike's Old Review:
The more I am drinking Xing Tea the more I am getting disappointed. This sweet tea is, technically, sweetened tea, but there is a significant difference between "sweet tea" and sweetened tea. Also I taste no actual tea in this drink and something about it seems fake. I don't think I need to say anymore.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Mayer Bros. Pomegranate Lemonade

Mayer Bros. Pomegranate Lemonade

Hmm. Tart. Super tart. It's as if they accidentally labeled it pomegranate and it was really grapefruit. That's what the bite was like. Like sinking your teeth into a grapefruit. I honestly got no pomegranate flavor.

Kudos to the local Mayer Bros. for using real cane sugar, but the taste is simply off. See you in the fall for cider, though.

Website
http://www.mayerbrothers.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Metromint Peppermint

Metromint Peppermint

The first time I bought this I went in headfirst and bought a 4-pack. I lucked out because it was actually pretty refreshing. It is just peppermint and water so it didn't leave much to imagination but it was a nice, cool flavor that left a clean aftertaste. I feel like this is something that you could even water down to be more of a hint of peppermint.

It would be nice if they made it in a larger container so you could share it with others now that I think about it. For the first time I think that personal bottles are greedy.

Website
http://www.metromint.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 16th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Metromint Water, Peppermint, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Metromint Spearmint

Metromint Spearmint

The spearmint, so far, has been my least favorite flavor by Metromint by far. Simply put, it tastes like when you are chewing spearmint gum and drinking water at the same time. Sure it's a crisp taste, but I feel that the flavor of spearmint is so unique to gum that it's hard to think otherwise.

Website
http://www.metromint.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 16th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Metromint Water, Spearmint, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Sweet Leaf Raspberry Iced Tea

Sweet Leaf Raspberry Iced Tea

This tea has a good, natural taste. Problem with a lot of companies is that they think that if it's flavored, they have to make it prominent, but Sweet Leaf gets it. They have a good tea taste with a subtle amount of sweetness and raspberry. It's good and the entire can may be drank in one sitting all the while you not having to worry if you have dental insurance.

If purchased at the right place, you can find this entire line for under a dollar, which is a steal for all organic iced tea. Anyone who drinks as much as we do here probably understands that.

Website
http://www.sweetleaftea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 16th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sweet Leaf Tea 26603 Raspberry Tea Bottle
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |