Lifewater (20 reviews)

Sobe Lifewater Yumberry Pomegranate

Sobe Lifewater Yumberry Pomegranate

This seems to be my go to drink lately. Despite the name, this is far from water, even farther from water than Vitamin Water. It's lighter than juice, but more flavorful than water. This drink goes down really smooth and really quenched my thirst at work yesterday out in the hot sun. I've tried other flavors of Sobe Lifewater before, and none compare to this one. While the pomegranate flavor isn't that noticeable, yumberry definitely lives up to its name. The bottle was so full of flavor it was like a party in my mouth.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on 9/28/2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Purify Yumberry Pomegranate, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Cherimoya Punch

Sobe Lifewater Cherimoya Punch

Not the worst. That's saying something because when it comes to that yumberry one I've had in the past. It smells a bit like pear, according to my friend Mike. The taste isn't too strong and for that reason, it wins. It's a melon-y, watered down lemonade taste. It's not bad. It's probably a great diet drink because, after all, it has 0 calories.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 11/2/2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Cherimoya Punch - 20-fl. oz. Bottles (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Macintosh Apple Cherry

Sobe Lifewater Macintosh Apple Cherry

Macintosh Apple and cherry sounds like a good combination to me? What do you say? Yes? Si? Some of us at Thirsty Dudes can pretend to be bilingual. Remember that review that I did where I counted in Korean? Trilingual. Seriously, I took a couple years of Spanish in high school and some in college. I am awful at it now. I wish I were better. I live in a heavily Puerto Rican populated neighborhood and sometimes I wish I could talk to them in their native tongue.

This drink has a half candy, half alcohol smell to it. You think that it's going to burn when you drink it, but it's fairly calm to the taste. You get a little bit of apple but I would say the cherry is more prominent. It's not a bad diet taste, either. It is sweetened with Erythitol but doesn't have that gnarly uber-sweet taste. I think this might be one of the better Lifewaters I have tried.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 2/1/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Macintosh Apple Cherry - 20 fl. oz. (Pack of 12)

Sobe Lifewater Fuji Apple Pear

Sobe Lifewater Fuji Apple Pear

An open letter to pears everywhere:

Dear pears,
I'm sorry that I crap on you all the time. No, not literally. That would be a sight to see, though, wouldn't it? Me sitting over a bushel of pears, letting them have it. No, I am sorry that I call you "crappy apples" all the time. I complain, but it's really my way of saying that I want you to be better. Creative criticism, if you will. I have just tried your collaboration with the apples of Fuji and now I've got to say, you two are great together. A dynamic duo, like Batman and Robin or any other superhero and sidekick. This drink is sweet and apple come out and pear comes out and everyone plays together in the flowered plains called my mouth. It's not too sweet and although this is technically a "diet" drink, the Erythritol isn't overpowering and leaves me with a cool sweetness, as it often does.

In closing, you have done a great job with your friend, Dr. Fuji Appleton. I am sorry for all the guff I give you. You do have many appreciative friends who enjoy you, and it's one of those "you can't win them all." scenarios. I am one man and am clearly outnumbered. I just wanted to give you the benefit of the doubt with this drink because you truly are amazing.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/7/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Lean Machine Fuji Apple Pear, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Black Cherry Dragonfruit

Sobe Lifewater Black Cherry Dragonfruit

You've got your best suit on and you're ready to go. It's your big day. You've got an interview at a publishing house and this is your opportunity to get out of this town. You board the train into the city and when the snack cart rolls by, you are feeling thirsty and decide to grab something to drink. You scramble through your briefcase, which you bought just for this interview because, you know, big city people carry a suitcase. You scrounge enough money to buy a Sobe Lifewater and since you're aggressively trying to get a job, you decided on the black cherry dragonfruit. Dragons don't ask questions. Dragons are closers. Who gets to drink coffee? Coffee is for closers. A.B.C. Alec Baldwin is your new spirit guide for the rest of the long train ride into the city.

You drink this drink and it's good. It's light and has a bit of a bitter erytritol taste, but you're on your way to be an adult and you can deal with a little bitterness. For the first time with a dragonfruit drink, you can actually taste it, and that pleases you because you've only had one once at an exotic fruit taste test party at a rich friend's house. What a night. Kumquat, dragonfruit, pomegranate, and the like. A night you will not soon forget.

You take the last sip and when you throw the bottle in the garbage can, the cap comes loose and spills purple juice on your crisp white shirt. You can cover most of it in your suit coat so you decide that is all you can do and you go into the interview. You talk to the CEO of the company for over an hour and things are going great. As you stand to leave, you shake his hand and he takes one last look at you and sees the newly acquired stain. He asks you what it is and since you don't want to start off on a bad foot by lying to your potential boss, you tell him that you were enjoying a Sobe Lifewater and when you threw it out, the cap flew off, spilling some on your shirt. He laughed and took his jacket off. Under the jacket lied over a dozen stains. "This is mustard and this one is ketchup. Over here we've got both black and blue ink. On the back, you've got chocolate and here on my arm is pizza. You're going to fit in great. I'll see you next Monday. Congratulations."

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/11/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Black Cherry Dragonfruit - 20-fl. oz. Bottles (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Blackberry Grape

Sobe Lifewater Blackberry Grape

Ever since Vitamin Water came on the scene tons of companies have popped up with their own versions. They all refer to them as water drinks. Let's call them what they are people; they are sports/revitalization drinks. This is closer to a Gatorade than it is a glass of water. I feel like as soon as you add a sweetener to water that it no longer can be considered water. If this is a water drink than so is a bottle of Coke. Both are over 50% water, but really come on.

Now that I have that rant out of the way, the drink is pretty great. I don't know why they put erythritol in here along with normal sugar, but luckily you can't taste it at all. Maybe that is the secret that drinks need. There are only 9g of sugar in this, but it tastes just as strong as it's competitors. The main flavor is definitely grape, but there is some berry flavor mixed in there as well.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/13/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Enlighten Blackberry Grape, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Orange Tangerine

Sobe Lifewater Orange Tangerine

That little Sobe lizard has gone a long way. When they first popped up in the mid to late 90's I was a fan, but I never expected them to stay around very long. I worked in a grocery store and one of my jobs was to return items that people decided they didn't want, or returned to the shelves. The number of bottles of Sobe that I had to put back was a bit ridiculous. The number of Sobe bottles that I took into the back room and drank instead of putting them back on the shelves likes I was supposed to was also pretty ridiculous. On a similar note, one day I took a bottle of each kind of BBQ sauce we carried and took them to my secret area of the back room (where I knew there were no cameras) and tried them all to discover what brand it was that a local taco chain used on a limited burrito they had. Sadly it was none of the 20+ I tried and the possibly slow kid that took my money in exchange for tacos refused to tell me. I should probably find him and throw a water balloon full of BBQ sauce at him.

Now that I have been thoroughly sidetracked by my looting and burrito intake, back to the point. No one seemed to want Sobe. I loved it. It was a quasi energy drink / Gatorade. Since then they have tweaked their flavors and gone off into other worlds of beverages. With their Lifewater line I believe they have something that the masses will enjoy. It of course is in the vein of other vitamin enhanced water/sports drinks out there, but it has a bit more flavor. The more flavor it has the further it gets away from being a "water" drink in my eyes, but who am I to complain? Oh yeah, I am a professional drinkologist.

The orange tangerine flavor we have here unsurprisingly reminds me of Tang. This may be the future of space drinks. It's chock full of vitamins and minerals that every astronaut needs in his or her daily space life. I'd also like to point out that they did a good job of lowering the sugar, without compromising flavor by cutting it with erythritol. Now we just need a proper space BBQ shop and I can get a job on a space station and then loot it.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater D-fense Orange Tangerine, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Strawberry Kiwi

Sobe Lifewater Strawberry Kiwi

I've been drinking a lot of pop and my mouth has gotten tired of it. I needed something to break the monotony. It happens when you drink so much stuff. It all starts to blend together and you need a break. Since we don't take actual "breaks" here at Thirsty Dudes, our breaks are us drinking something different.

For the trillionth time, I can't believe that we haven't done this yet. Strawberry Kiwi Lifewater? Get out. It's been out forever and we're just now getting to it. This should give you the incentive to go out and try something new if we have just now gotten around to something that you can get anywhere.

This is probably a standby classic for you because it's so good. It's light, sweet, and has a great fruit flavor. Great. Did you hear me? I don't use that word a lot. Good, alright, OK, whatever. I don't use "great" a lot. I do and I don't care. I'll say it again. It isn't too sweet and has no bad aftertaste. It's not to bad in the calorie department which is good as I just Gregory House M.D.'d this entire bottle.

This new season of House is pretty good and all over the place, too, if you haven't gotten around to it. You're only three episodes deep. You could catch up on one rainy day. Hugh Laurie. You're a great man. Come do a guest review. Someone get Hugh Laurie to do a guest review.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 11/10/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Strawberry Kiwi Bliss - 20 fl. oz. (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Nectarine

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Nectarine

Pomegranates: +1
Nectarines: -1
Coconut Water: 0

Total Score: 0

Regardless of the rather neutral score, I was somewhat enthusiastic to try it. Maybe it's because I don't ingest a lot of nectarine flavored drinks. I don't like to eat oranges, but I enjoy the orange flavor. I sped drank think before the coconut water took over. You know, the inherent chalkiness that comes with a coconut drink. You get a flavor, and it's fruity, but I personally couldn't distinguish between pomegranate and nectarine.

If I had to make a list of coconut drinks for people who don't like coconut drinks, this would be one on the list.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coconut, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 12/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Name Your Link

Sobe Lifewater Strawberry Apricot

Sobe Lifewater Strawberry Apricot

James, it's great to see you. How was space? Great? Did you play golf in space? Man, I would have driven the ball all the way to earth and then, somehow, watch it burn up on re-entry. Oh, the thought of that gets me so pumped. So, space. That must have been awesome. Really? No cheese. Well, the pamphlets they are handing out down here on earth are telling me otherwise. It's Swiss, but it's space cheese nonetheless.

Woah! What is this? Really? Gifts, from space? Oh, gifts from NASA. Cool, but honestly, space gifts sounds a lot better. I guess NASA gifts would be of better quality since there is nothing in space, apparently, except space rocks. Really though? Not one moon rock? You brought me official NASA dried fruit. That's cool. What am I supposed to do with this? Oh, mix it in with this space water you gave me? What are these, strawberries and apricots? Awesome. Let me mix it here. Oh, this is delicious. You know what, though? It just tastes like Sobe Lifewater. It's better the more I drink it. No one uses apricots and I cannot appreciate these space dried ones more. Strawberries? I have had these and they are delicious, but I've had them. I appreciate them, but I've had them. I enjoy the erythritol sweetness and the fifty-fifty strawberry/apricot mix. This is good, dude. Thanks. I can buy it mostly anywhere as, like I said, Sobe Lifewater, but this being space juice makes it so much better. Thank you very much.

Woah! You brought me a Fisher Space Pen from NASA, too? This is the pen that writes upside down! Awesome. I'm sorry that I gave you such a hard time about that moon rock and space cheese stuff. This is a great gift.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 1/5/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Name Your Link
<< previous | 1 | 2 |