Lifewater (20 reviews)

Sobe Lifewater Pacific Coconut

Sobe Lifewater Pacific Coconut

It has finally happened. I have found a coconut water drink that tastes exactly like I always thought coconut water would taste. To be clearer I mean it tastes like toasted coconut. To be even clearer it tastes like tanning oil. Now I’ve never used, nor tasted, tanning oil, as I believe it would make me spontaneously combust. I have smelled it and this tastes exactly like it smells. My ladyfriend also confirmed that it has the same taste. That is gross. Who wants to ingest anything like that? I honestly can’t imagine a single person out there who would buy this, try it, be able to stomach it at all, and then go back and buy some more. Is this drink some sort of tax write off for Sobe? There has to be some strange back story here and I want to hear it!

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coconut, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 7/30/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Pacific Coconut with Coconut Water, 20 oz. (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Cherimoya Punch

Sobe Lifewater Cherimoya Punch

Not the worst. That's saying something because when it comes to that yumberry one I've had in the past. It smells a bit like pear, according to my friend Mike. The taste isn't too strong and for that reason, it wins. It's a melon-y, watered down lemonade taste. It's not bad. It's probably a great diet drink because, after all, it has 0 calories.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 11/2/2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Cherimoya Punch - 20-fl. oz. Bottles (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Macintosh Apple Cherry

Sobe Lifewater Macintosh Apple Cherry

Macintosh Apple and cherry sounds like a good combination to me? What do you say? Yes? Si? Some of us at Thirsty Dudes can pretend to be bilingual. Remember that review that I did where I counted in Korean? Trilingual. Seriously, I took a couple years of Spanish in high school and some in college. I am awful at it now. I wish I were better. I live in a heavily Puerto Rican populated neighborhood and sometimes I wish I could talk to them in their native tongue.

This drink has a half candy, half alcohol smell to it. You think that it's going to burn when you drink it, but it's fairly calm to the taste. You get a little bit of apple but I would say the cherry is more prominent. It's not a bad diet taste, either. It is sweetened with Erythitol but doesn't have that gnarly uber-sweet taste. I think this might be one of the better Lifewaters I have tried.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 2/1/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater - Macintosh Apple Cherry - 20 fl. oz. (Pack of 12)

Sobe Lifewater Orange Tangerine

Sobe Lifewater Orange Tangerine

That little Sobe lizard has gone a long way. When they first popped up in the mid to late 90's I was a fan, but I never expected them to stay around very long. I worked in a grocery store and one of my jobs was to return items that people decided they didn't want, or returned to the shelves. The number of bottles of Sobe that I had to put back was a bit ridiculous. The number of Sobe bottles that I took into the back room and drank instead of putting them back on the shelves likes I was supposed to was also pretty ridiculous. On a similar note, one day I took a bottle of each kind of BBQ sauce we carried and took them to my secret area of the back room (where I knew there were no cameras) and tried them all to discover what brand it was that a local taco chain used on a limited burrito they had. Sadly it was none of the 20+ I tried and the possibly slow kid that took my money in exchange for tacos refused to tell me. I should probably find him and throw a water balloon full of BBQ sauce at him.

Now that I have been thoroughly sidetracked by my looting and burrito intake, back to the point. No one seemed to want Sobe. I loved it. It was a quasi energy drink / Gatorade. Since then they have tweaked their flavors and gone off into other worlds of beverages. With their Lifewater line I believe they have something that the masses will enjoy. It of course is in the vein of other vitamin enhanced water/sports drinks out there, but it has a bit more flavor. The more flavor it has the further it gets away from being a "water" drink in my eyes, but who am I to complain? Oh yeah, I am a professional drinkologist.

The orange tangerine flavor we have here unsurprisingly reminds me of Tang. This may be the future of space drinks. It's chock full of vitamins and minerals that every astronaut needs in his or her daily space life. I'd also like to point out that they did a good job of lowering the sugar, without compromising flavor by cutting it with erythritol. Now we just need a proper space BBQ shop and I can get a job on a space station and then loot it.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 10/23/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater D-fense Orange Tangerine, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Nectarine

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Nectarine

Pomegranates: +1
Nectarines: -1
Coconut Water: 0

Total Score: 0

Regardless of the rather neutral score, I was somewhat enthusiastic to try it. Maybe it's because I don't ingest a lot of nectarine flavored drinks. I don't like to eat oranges, but I enjoy the orange flavor. I sped drank think before the coconut water took over. You know, the inherent chalkiness that comes with a coconut drink. You get a flavor, and it's fruity, but I personally couldn't distinguish between pomegranate and nectarine.

If I had to make a list of coconut drinks for people who don't like coconut drinks, this would be one on the list.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Coconut, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 12/15/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Name Your Link

Sobe Lifewater Agave Lemonade

Sobe Lifewater Agave Lemonade

Yesterday's limeade is today's lemonade. To be different, you've got to go and sweeten with strange stuff, like agave, or that's what you like to let people think. See here's the thing. This is a strange drink that is full of lies. Agave is a natural sweetener. Going through the ingredients, you will notice that there is no agave in it. Oh, there's "natural flavor" but come on. What does that even mean. That's a copout. It would be like making a drink that is genuinely "all natural" and then for ingredients just putting down "natural flavors, natural sweeteners, natural preservatives" What a joke.

Lies aside, this is alright. It's lemonade and it tastes like lemonade but you miss out on a lot of the things that you love about lemonade. Pulp? I love pulp and it's gone. This lemonade would be like strained lemonade that's a little thicker. Not a bad thicker but noticeably thicker. There is yerba mate in there but it doesn't have the bitterness that comes with it. Don't really know why it's there.

There are a lot of questions that I don't care if they get answered or not. I don't care where the agave is. I don't care where the pulp is. I’m completely apathetic. I don't care. It's good enough. It’s above honorable mention but below a medal. Right smack dab in the middle.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Lemonade, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 2/2/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sobe Lifewater Agave Lemonade 1 Liter (Pack of 12)

Sobe Lifewater Black and Blue Berry

Sobe Lifewater Black and Blue Berry

A punch in the face: that's what I'm going to give you. You hit my brand new, 2001 Hyundai Accent and now I've got to get insurance involved...man. I just got out of the dealership. I know it's 2012, but it's new to me. Sure it's got 104,000 but that's just broken in. It's Korean and they make a quality product. So, to reiterate, I am going to make you black and blue.

No, you don't understand. I paid $800 for this car and sure it was a smoker's car and sure the transmission was a little wonky and sure it had a "Hatchet Man" vinyl graphic on the back hatch, but it was in great shape and the lady who sold it to me was so nice.

I'm sorry. Who did you say you were? You work for Sobe? Oh, your green tea is pretty sweet but a guilty pleasure of mine. Oh, that's right. You do make Lifewater. I've had some good ones of those. Black and Blue? No, I'm going to make you black and blue. Oh, you're going to give me a case of black and blue so that I don't punch your lights out. Alright, that's a fair trade. All this talking calmed me down anyway. Let's give it a go.

Well that's interesting. It's like blueberry when you sip it and when you swallow it tastes like a blackberry. That is real science there, Sobe man. There is a slight artificial sweetener taste, but it's just additional sweetness, not gross.

You know, this crash might have been the best thing that ever happened to me. Well, I do have a pretty great kid and wife, and I've accomplished a great deal. This was going to be a field car anyhow so I guess I didn't need it. Well, don't worry about anything. We'll let our insurance take care of it. Have a nice day, Sobe man. Next time, remember to stop at stop signs.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 2/4/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater 0 Calories, Black & Blue Berry, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Sobe Lifewater Mango Melon

Sobe Lifewater Mango Melon

Sometimes we get to a point where we have just reviewed far too many flavors of the same product line. What’s left to say? That you’re stuck in a desert and your hallucinating from the heat and lack of fluids, so you follow a lizard, and the lizard talks to you and tells you the secrets of the universe, and informs you specifically what the secret behind pi is. Finally he reaches into his stomach and pulls out a bottle of mango melon flavored Lifewater. The bottle is dripping with viscera and such, but as I said you’ve been wandering this godforsaken desert for what feels like 40 days and nights and you’re wondering how the Jews did it in the bible, so you open the bottle and even though lizard guts are touching your lips you chug that bottle of refreshment. It tastes like someone dissolved a mango and melon flavored powder in a bottle of water and didn’t quite shake it up well enough. It also tastes very diet, but in the erythritol way and not the sucralose way, you know the way that is tolerable. As soon as you swallow that last drop that tastes somehow grainy even though it doesn’t in texture, you turn to look at the lizard, but you realize that you’re not in the desert at all. You are actually in the middle of math class and you’ve drooled all over your protractor. There is an empty bottle on the floor next to your desk and you have a vague recollection of buying it from the pop machine in the cafeteria. For some reason there is still lizard guts on your lips. Is that what’s left to say? If so, strange times indeed.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 4/11/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater C-Boost Mango Melon, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Cherry

Sobe Lifewater Pomegranate Cherry

If it was Sobe’s mission to take two of the most potent fruit juices this word has ever seen and use them to flavor water in a way that makes them not potent at all, well job well done. I actually don’t get much pomegranate out of this. It’s mostly just cherry and I’m okay with that. To be frank I’m getting pretty sick of our friend the pomegranate. He’s infiltrated far too much of the beverage world, and I could use a break from him. To get back on track, this like every Lifewater is just Sobe’s version of Vitamin Water and it’s completely apparent in the taste. Sure Sobe has been around longer, but their drinks didn’t use to be so “water based.” The only thing different between this and Vitamin Water is that this has taurine in it. I’m pretty sure no Vitamin Waters do. If I did a blind taste test I would guess this was a new flavor of Vitamin Water, which I suppose isn’t a bad thing. Billions of people, including myself, love their products and drink them all the time. Here’s to competition.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on 6/25/2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sobe - Lifewater Zingseng Pomegranate Cherry - 20 Fl. Oz. (Pack of 12)

Sobe Lifewater Fuji Apple Pear

Sobe Lifewater Fuji Apple Pear

An open letter to pears everywhere:

Dear pears,
I'm sorry that I crap on you all the time. No, not literally. That would be a sight to see, though, wouldn't it? Me sitting over a bushel of pears, letting them have it. No, I am sorry that I call you "crappy apples" all the time. I complain, but it's really my way of saying that I want you to be better. Creative criticism, if you will. I have just tried your collaboration with the apples of Fuji and now I've got to say, you two are great together. A dynamic duo, like Batman and Robin or any other superhero and sidekick. This drink is sweet and apple come out and pear comes out and everyone plays together in the flowered plains called my mouth. It's not too sweet and although this is technically a "diet" drink, the Erythritol isn't overpowering and leaves me with a cool sweetness, as it often does.

In closing, you have done a great job with your friend, Dr. Fuji Appleton. I am sorry for all the guff I give you. You do have many appreciative friends who enjoy you, and it's one of those "you can't win them all." scenarios. I am one man and am clearly outnumbered. I just wanted to give you the benefit of the doubt with this drink because you truly are amazing.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on 10/7/2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Lifewater Lean Machine Fuji Apple Pear, 20 oz (Pack of 24)
<< previous | 1 | 2 |