Organic (52 reviews)

LIV Organic Berry

LIV  Organic Berry

Organic. Organic is good. No harmful pesticides or other garbage making it into your food/drinks. The thing that some people forget is organic doesn't mean it has to taste good.

When this is right out of the fridge and it's really, really cold it's fairly good. I tastes like a fruit punch flavored sports drink. You can tell their is something hidden underneath. Like sea monsters hiding in the murky depths of the seas, there is something unpleasant in this drink. You can barely make it out when it's really cold, but as it warms up it becomes more apparent until it's like someone proclaimed, "Release the Kraken!" Then there is nothing but sorrow for everyone.

I was confused as to what it could be since it's sweetened with agave, which I love, and it has actual juice in it. I've narrowed it down to brown rice syrup, sea salt and potassium citrate. One of those three has to be the culprit, which ruins a potentially decent beverage.

Website
http://liv-organic.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 22nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
LIV Organic Sports Drink, Berry, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Blue Sky Organic Orange Divine

Blue Sky Organic Orange Divine

Last night was the US Presidential Election, and Barack Obama will be our president again for the next four years. I was half-heartedly watching the election coverage on my laptop as I read last night. Watching states turn blue was a treat. I was waiting for the swing states to switch over (mostly Ohio, Florida and Virginia). I had decided that when Florida went blue I would celebrate with a nice orange soda to pay my respects to the people in that state who made the right decision. Time went by and Florida stayed grey. I got to thinking about that orange pop and I really wanted it. In my head I justified that by drinking it I would help usher on the counting of the votes. I think I messed things up guys. Luckily other parts of the country picked up the slack and the blue won, but I’m pretty sure the fact that I picked such a lack luster soda was what delayed the count (it’s 11am now and it still isn’t done).

Blue sky was one of the first organic sodas that I remember seeing on the market. In 2000 or so I remember going to the local health food store to get a nice seitan sandwich and I grabbed my first can of Blue Sky (not Orange Divine). I remember thinking it was good, but nothing spectacular. That’s fine, not everything needs to be over the top. I thought I knew what I was getting into with this can. It has natural orange flavor in it, so I was expecting it to be a lesser tasting/more sweetened Orangina. I ended up getting something that was between a sparkling orange juice and your everyday orange soda, except it had been filtered through the general taste of a health food store. Something was definitely off about it. It tasted as if it had been lightly spiced for some unknown reason. There is nothing listed in the ingredient list that should give it such a flavor, so I’m stumped.

Again, I apologize to the folks of Florida for delaying the count of their votes. If I had chosen a better orange soda I bet this would be all wrapped up.

Website
http://www.blueskysoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Juice
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 7th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Blue Sky Orange Divine, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Core Organic Orange Clementine

Core Organic Orange Clementine

I’m not exactly sure what this beverage is supposed to be. It’s not really a juice, but it’s also not a sports drink. The bottle says it is an “organic fruit infused beverage,” and according to the ingredients list it’s kind of a mix of everything. It is composed of coconut water, 4% juice, white tea, and a whole mess of organic, zero calorie sweeteners. The result just tastes a bit generic, like some random “juice” box you’d get as a kid, expect now it tastes overly diet. This sort of tastes a modern version of Kool Aid. The orange/clementine flavor is there, but it tastes a bit powdery. I appreciate what they are trying to do with this, but the arrow is hitting just outside of the target. It’s almost good, but it just doesn’t mess right.

Website
http://core-hydration.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Erytritol
Categories
Coconut, Iced Tea, Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 22nd, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Blue Sky Organic Root Beer Encore

Blue Sky Organic Root Beer Encore

Blue Sky and Hansen's are both made by the some company. I don't really know why they have two different lines of pop, but they do.
This is a pretty standard root beer. It tastes like what I remember root beer to be like when I was a kid. I have to say that if I drank this back-to-back with the root beers I drank as a kid now, this would be worlds better. It doesn't have any added spices or roots extracts, just a general root beer flavor. When something like that is done right, like this is, it's nothing to scoff at.

Website
http://www.blueskysoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Juice
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Blue Sky Free Rootbeer, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Santa Cruz Organic Concord Grape

Santa Cruz Organic Concord Grape

At first, it tasted like your standard non-alcoholic, sparkling grape juice that you would use to ring in the new year. In addition, it didn't taste like concord grapes. Just like grape flavoring. Then it happened...

It started to taste like concord grape and started developing it's own taste. A crisp, fruity, sweet taste that tasted like that of a concord grape. Not as concord as the Aloevine Grape drink, which doesn't make sense, as there are actual concord grapes in this drink.

Nonetheless, this was good. Now, at any time you can celebrate the smaller things like:

  • Your dog not going to the bathroom in the house for a week.
  • Getting a raise.
  • Christmas.
  • Getting a new hat.
  • Passing a hard test.
  • Not dying.
Versatile and delicious. Like Parker Louis, this drink can't lose.

Website
http://www.scojuice.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 13th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Santa Cruz Organics Grape, 12-Ounce (Pack of 24)

Smart Juice Organic Fig

Smart Juice Organic Fig

Friends. Ladies. Do you know what is absolutely awful for you? Fig Newtons. I don't know why because I don't think I've ever read the label and I certainly don't work in the factory at night, moonlighting as a janitor only to steal industry secrets.

As rad as that would be, except that every secret spy knows that if they take the job of a janitor, even for one day, they will at some point in their mission have to clean the ladies bathroom which, as we all know, is much worse than the men's bathroom.

This has a peculiar taste. Not bad, just different. I'm not familiar with figs outside of their delicious casing. It's almost like a black current or perhaps a red grape. It's not bitter but it is a sipping juice.

Next time you are doing espionage work at the Fig Newton factory, stop in to the juicer room where I assume they juice real figs to use down the line, and steal a sip.

Website
http://www.smartjuice.us
Country
Turkey
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Smart Juice Organic Fig Juice, Pure, Fresh Pressed, 33.8 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6)

Smart Juice Organic Tart Cherry

Smart Juice Organic Tart Cherry

It's a lazy Sunday morning/afternoon. Just laying around and not doing much. I decided I needed a little lunch and what better way to celebrate mid day than with a pumpernickel bagel and a bottle of cherry juice? I love cherries as a fruit. They are tasty and fun to eat due to all of the pits you get to spit out. This should be incredible. It's nothing but cherry juice. No preservatives. No sweeteners. Absolutely nothing else is in this bottle. As it turns out when you compress so many cherries and don't cut it with water it is intensely strong. Cherries are ridiculously sweet. Even though there is no sugar added to it, it tastes like the filling in a cherry pie. It seriously is that sweet.

If you're a passive cherry fan, you may want to water this down a bit. On the other hand if you are a cherry enthusiast this is probably just what you're looking for. I will admit it was a little too strong for my liking. The bagel on the other hand was pretty stellar.

Website
http://www.smartjuice.us
Country
Turkey
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Smart Juice Organic Tart Cherry Juice ( 6x33.8 OZ)

Hollywood Organic Carrot Juice

Hollywood Organic Carrot Juice

Ladies and Gentlemen, in an effort to gain superhuman sight I shall now consume no food other than carrots and drink nothing other than carrot juice. I am sick of this normal vision. I dream of a day when I can read at night and more importantly look through a closet refrigerator door so that I can realize there is nothing I want to eat inside without wasting the manual and electrical energy.

I will start this experiment in greatness with this carton of juice. 11.2 fl oz of freedom is what I hold in my hand. Hmm. This doesn’t taste like actual carrots nearly as much as I imagined. Since the only ingredient is organic carrot juice I really expected this to taste like I chewed up a carrot for about 15 minutes. This is actually much sweeter than I anticipated. I would have sworn there was sugar added, but nope. It tastes like a juice of some sort that is vaguely carrot tasting and lightly sweetened. I’m kind of disappointed that it doesn’t taste exactly like carrots, but I but if I drank a juice that did and this back to back, this would win out. Not bad.

What’s what Sally? If I eat nothing but carrots my skin will start to turn orange? Well I want no part of that. I will leave the gift of super sight to rabbits and cats. He’s to wasting fridge energy!

Website
http://www.hollywoodcookingoil.com
Country
Canada
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 5th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hollywood Carrot Juice, 11.2-Ounce Tetra Pack (Pack of 6)

LIV Organic Lemon

LIV  Organic Lemon

I've been thinking about what I think about this drink for the last hour. I'm not sure because it's all over the place. It's really sweet and that I don't really like but that soon subsides and lets actual flavor through. The first flavor is that of a mediocre lemonade. Following that is a bit of a salty taste and that's because there is actual sea salt in it.

Now, I know what you're thinking. You are saying to yourself "Mike, what did you think of this strange drink?" and I will tell you. It's oddly not that bad. Yeah, sure, it's not the best of everything but it's pretty refreshing. If you drink it fast enough, it tastes like a lemon Gatorade. That's probably good right? Not to mention it's all natural ingredients. That's good right? Also, yeah, to start, everything is kind of "alright" but the more you drink, the more you realize, "Hey, this isn't that bad." and next thing you know, it's gone and you're like "Wait, when did this happen? I remember not liking this and now it's gone and I kind of want more."

Maybe one of the ingredients not labeled was mind control. Although I don't think that the FDA would approve that, a lot of companies get away with "Natural and Artificial Ingredients" and that seems a bit...vague.

Website
http://liv-organic.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 29th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
LIV Organic Sports Drink, Lemon, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

LIV Organic Citrus Passion

LIV  Organic Citrus Passion

You've worked hard all day. You endured an entire triathlon and you're not even tired. You almost gave up when it got to the running part, but you stuck it out. You're a champ. You deserve a treat. How about a nice organic sports drink to re-fuel. I know that took a lot out of you. In the past this company hasn't treated you very well, but with this drink they made up for it. It tastes like orange juice and passion fruit juiced mixed up with a little bit of sea salt mixed in to replace your electrolytes. It's one of the better sports drinks you've had, due to it being all-natural. Now it's time to get up and cut the grass. You've already wasted most of the afternoon watching that triathlon on CNN.

Website
http://liv-organic.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
LIV Organic Sports Drink, Citrus Passion, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |