Premium (22 reviews)

Biliner Premium Mineral Water

Biliner Premium Mineral Water

Mark Smits was a famous actor. He rose to stardom after a series of romantic comedies and after that, his stardom just kept rising. He quickly saw the danger in being so famous and influential. People were doing things like carving their names in their arms, getting tattoos of his perfect face on their bodies, and dressing like him at comic book conventions. His friends started to notice it and made him do things to see just how far people would go "in his honor." They would do things like have him go up to people in the streets and say that he'll give them a hug if they grab strangers butts and they would do it without hesitation. He made people get "MARK SMIT" tattood on their knuckles with the leftover "S" on their thumb and a peace sign on the other thumb and people did it and smiled the whole way. To step it up a notch, his friends dared him to start a company with the premise of people buying anything he endorses. The challenge was on.

Mark bought a thousand bottles, went down to the point in city where the trucks dumped all the snow and just filled up the bottles with salty, dirty, melted snow water. People cringed a bit when they drank it but since Mark said that it was cool, so did everyone else. He decided he did not like what he had become and quit acting all together. He decided to take his million of dollars and invest it wisely and spend the rest on doing good in cities around the country. It would all come full circle when he was working across the country at a soup kitchen and a case of his salty snow water came in and the homeless people recognized him from the campaign and made him sign bottles of it. Mark would never be able to escape his unfortunately uber-successful past.

Website
http://biliner.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 3rd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Briar's Premium Lemon Cream

Briar's Premium Lemon Cream

When I purchased this I thought that the ice cream company of the same name made it. It wasn’t until I was looking up the website that I realized that the ice cream company spells their name Breyers. Oops. It has the same name (different spelling) and it’s a cream based soda. I don’t think I was too far off base. Oh well.

Where Breyers makes quality ice cream, Briar’s makes a mediocre lemon cream soda. I wanted this to be a really creamy cream soda, but instead I got a bottle of lemon soda with trace amounts of cream. Actually, the lemon wasn’t even that strong. This would have been awesome if it was strong lemonade mixed with cream soda, but alas it’s lackluster lemon soda.

Briar’s red birch beer looks pretty great. I can’t wait to try that. Breyer’s Blasts Snickers looks more than great. It looks otherworldly. I should probably mix the two together and lose my mind for a while.


***************************************************************
UPDATE
***************************************************************
We received an email from the company asking us where we purchased this because this flavor has been out of production for several years. They also said, "It would be more like an antique bottle with liquid in it than a soda pop!" Ick.

Website
http://www.briars.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Point Premium Root Beer

Point Premium Root Beer

A vast majority of the people in the United States, let alone the world know of the wonder that is the state of Wisconsin. It’s famous for cheese and beer, two things that I couldn’t care less about, yet it may be my favorite state. I know it’s probably all in my mind, but it feels like a simpler place where everyone is friendly (Well, except Milwaukee. I’ve almost gotten into a fight with Nazis there, have witnessed a drug deal gone wrong, and played a house that had a drive by a few weeks prior). I have had conversations with people about how a band could do a two week tour of just the state playing all of the wonderfully named towns. I also played my best game of Galaga ever in a laundromat in Appleton. If all of this isn’t enough for you, they also have the grocery store chain Woodmans, which comes in second after Wegmans in my world.

Another thing that Wisconsin has is a decent amount of breweries that make sodas. I came across Point in a cheese shop that my traveling companions wanted to stop at, and was excited to pick up a few flavors. Later that night I decided to enjoy this root beer while I ate one of the most disappointing calzones of my life (not in Wisconsin). On paper this should be a wonderful soda. It’s small batch brewed, it’s sweetened with Wisconsin honey and it has real vanilla in it. Unfortunately all of these great things somehow couldn’t save this root beer. Things started pleasantly enough it’s nice and creamy but then there was something lingering underneath. It wasn’t anything that made me dump out the bottle, but it tasted off, almost burnt. I checked some other review sites and everyone else seems to love this root beer, so I’m left wondering if I got a bad batch, or if the bottle was old. If I ever come across it again I will pick up another bottle and give it a second chance, because it’s from Wisconsin, and it has premium ingredients. I just don’t want to accept that this isn’t good.

Website
http://www.pointbeer.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 12th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Swiss Premium Tea Cooler - Iced Tea & Lemonade

Swiss Premium Tea Cooler - Iced Tea & Lemonade

I have always thought of Swiss as being the bargain iced tea that you would find at convenience stores for $1 a gallon. I had no idea they had launched a "Premium" line until a few days ago. This line is pretty much the same recipe as the regular tea, except they have replaced the high fructose corn syrup with regular sugar. It's still extremely sweet. It reminds me of the "ghetto tea" we used to drink during breaks while skateboarding when I was a kid. I think it's that nostalgia that lets me still enjoy this so much. Also, this is supposed to be an "Arnold Palmer," but it really just tasted like lemon iced tea. The lemon flavor is not as prevalent as I have come to expect in iced tea - lemonade combos.

Website
http://www.swiss-tea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Swiss Premium Lemonade

Swiss Premium Lemonade

Imagine, if you will, you are walking down the street. It's hot. You wipe your brow. It's so hot. Why didn't you take your car? Oh, yeah, the alternator is broken. Man...so warm. Why are you wearing those sweatpants? Oh, because you just left your girlfriend's apartment and no one who goes to college wears actual pants. Wait...what? Did someone just say...YES! They did. You put your hand to your face so the glaring sun doesn't get in your eyes and you see two girls. These girls, ages 5 and 7 respectively, are asking if anyone wants lemonade. You clearly do, as you've soaked right through your older brother's old Phish tie dye crew neck sweater. You throw down a moist $1 bill and get a large glass of lemonade and chug it just like you did the night before when you slayed those freshman at flip cup.

Swiss Premium Naturally Flavored Lemonade tastes like kids street lemonade. A lot of sugar, a little bit of lemon, and perfect on a hot summers day.

Website
http://www.swiss-tea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 23rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Old Orchard Premium Green Tea Lemon & Honey

Old Orchard Premium Green Tea Lemon & Honey

Being sick is horrible. You're all stuffed up and you have that annoying itching in your throat. You make yourself cough to try and scratch it, which leads to you coughing uncontrollably for real. Ugh. You go for some cough drops that don't really do much, but you convince yourself they do. Hey anything to keep your mind off that annoying self inflicted cough.

This bottle makes me think of those previously mentioned cough drops. Everything about the label screams cheap cough drops to me. It turns out that it kind of does taste like the cough drops, minus the medicinal taste. That sounds completely horrible in theory, but in practice it's not bad. It's comforting without grossness. It's all natural/organic so you can really taste the lemon and honey. Thank goodness I'm not actually sick, but I can still enjoy this tea.

Website
http://www.oldorchardjuice.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Fitz's Premium Root Beer

Fitz's Premium Root Beer

It's always great to be able to sample local drinks when you're visiting other cities. I have to say that when you're in St Louis you should drink Fitz's root beer. It's has a fairly standard flavor. There's nothing fancy about it, but it does have a solid taste. It's in the same vein as your "major label" pops, but of a way higher quality. The use of cane sugar alone makes it superior. It did make my tongue feel slightly numb, but that just makes the drinking experience more exciting.

Website
http://www.fitzsrootbeer.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Fitz's ROOT BEER OF St. LOUIS - "From the hometown bottling company", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Marburger Farm Dairy Premium Lemon

Marburger Farm Dairy Premium Lemon

As Jay mentioned, Marburger was previously known as "Fike's" and drinking this brings me back to simpler times. When I had my first helping of this, it was probably around two in the morning and I was waiting in line to get pizza after my break from "metal night" only to finish said pizza and then go back to "metal night" until four in the morning and then have to drive forty minutes home.

This was always impressive to me. I know, I know, it's got corn syrup in it, but when you drink it then and there, right out of the cooler, it's not that bad and it doesn't have that cheap, corn syrup sting. There isn't a bad, gas station iced tea. It's actually not too bad at all, and for the price, you can't really beat it. Taste is not anything like an instant tea and I don't know why they even advertise it as such. Yeah, I know it's technically an ingredient, but it seems like something they would at least want to skim over. I could go to the store, buy iced tea mix, and make it myself. It just seems strange that there are still these other ingredients aside from "iced tea mix" but I guess even the mix is made of something.

Marburger, you're alright with me.

Website
http://www.marburgerdairy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 31st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Frostop Premium Root Beer

Frostop Premium Root Beer

Over six years ago Mike and I moved into an apartment together. The house number was 23, so we dubbed it "Michael Jordan". Now all these years, and an absent landlord later, I am moving out. Yesterday we moved pretty much everything. One thing I have to remark on is “where did I get all this garbage from?” I thought I didn't own much of anything, but I have so much crap. Ugh.

After a couple of hours of moving, I was completely beat. I went to the fridge and cracked open this cool frosty root beer. It was extremely refreshing. To be fair I was covered in sweat and completely beat, so anything that didn't taste like liquid garbage would have been welcomed.

Frostop has a classic root beer taste with some extra ingredients added. It tastes vaguely medicinal in a Moxie sort of way. It may just be that there is a lot of anise in it. I still enjoyed it, and guzzled down the bottle way faster than I should have.

I should go finish my move now, but instead I'm going to go wander around the woods with some friends.

Website
http://www.frostop.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 31st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Old Orchard Premium Red Tea with Current

Old Orchard Premium Red Tea with Current

When I saw this, I thought to myself, "This is going to suck." Why? It was dark and I thought it was a juice, regardless if it said "tea" or not. Anything in such a large container has to suck. Mass produced, so-called "premium" drinks are typically nothing but sugar water. Was I wrong? Yep-ahhh. I'm man enough to admit it, too. Ladies, did you hear that? A man, man enough to admit he was wrong? Trust me, ladies that are currently totally into me, Jay can attest to the fact that you want nothing to do with me.

This is good. Not too strong at all. A nice, well sweetened tea with the added, strange flavor of current. I don't know how I feel about current, yet. Jay tells me that it's huge in Europe, but here in The States, we're just getting into it. It has a berry taste, but a bitter berry taste. I purchased some current jam for PB&Js that's not too bad, so I'm getting used to the taste, and wanting to get used to the taste.

I don't know where my mom got this, but it's good and if you and like eight of your friends are ever together and want to try something new and you're all thirsty and this is there, get it. Most of you will like it. What a swimming endorsement. "Most out of eight like it!"

Website
http://www.oldorchardjuice.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |