Sparkling (44 reviews)

Martinelli's Sparkling Apple-Mango

Martinelli's Sparkling Apple-Mango

If pop culture has taught me anything it’s that nothing will change today. Okay, maybe that’s slightly obscure, but I’m referencing one of the greatest songs ever written: New Years Day by U2. Say what you will about their later output and what Bono has become, but those first couple of records from the 80s are totally solid. As you also may have guessed today is January first and I’m at home awaiting nothing.

Last night was a different story altogether though. I threw a party at a local bar where I made people listen/dance to the songs I wanted to hear. At midnight while nearly everyone else guzzled their champagne and other libations I was taking pulls of this delicious sparkling juice. I think it’s safe to say I won out in that scenario because this is just wonderful. This is just apple juice and mango juice (from concentrate) with some bubbles added. It’s fruit, so it’s sweet without added sweeteners. It’s also apples and mangos so it tastes great. The mango flavor was a lot stronger than I expected and that was a pleasant surprise. Should I have drunk this entire 25.4oz bottle by myself? Probably not, but while I was working on diabetes, I watched a lot of those people get drunk and do things/go home with people they never would have if they were sober. Maybe that’s just part of the human experience though, and I’m just missing out. Ehh, who am kidding, I’ll stick with the sweet juice.

Website
http://www.martinellis.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 1st, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Martinelli's Sparkling Apple Mango 25.4 Oz (6 Pack)

Apple Rush Sparkling Pomegranate

Apple Rush Sparkling Pomegranate

Back from a long time off on a thing called a "honeymoon" but I'm back and what do I start off with? A sparkling pomegranate joint. It's good, too. I didn't get a lot of apple but the pomegranate was nice and honest and sparkly. It wasn't too sweet and, according to the promises of the company, all that is in this lil' bottle is sweetening this is the fruit juice itself. There are some natural colors from fruit and vegetable and some preservatives but it's good. I would give this to a child. I think that's pretty telling. Sure, I gave my 9 month old half a sugar cookie which he promptly dropped half on the sidewalk and some mini marshmallows yesterday but he was being good and good kids deserve little treats. I might not be the world's best dad but my kids would like me because I gave them sweet treats.

Website
http://www.applerush.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 18th, 2016
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Alta Palla Sparkling Blood Orange

Alta Palla Sparkling Blood Orange

Can we take a moment out of our regularly scheduled beverage nonsense to discuss how Whole Foods has gone completely downhill? We don’t have them here in Buffalo, but I’ve visited their stores a decent amount while I’m traveling. While I was never completely onboard with it, mostly due to the price, they were always a mecca of vegetarian prepared foods. I could walk up to the hot bar and have a selection of various delicious meals. While out on the west coast last month I stopped by two separate stores and it was dismal. The prepared foods sections were scaled back a lot more than I remember and other than salad stuff, there really weren’t any veggie options other than lasagna. Both times I ended up getting soft pretzels and calling it a day. Of course they are finally opening one in my hometown and it will be essentially useless to me. Without the options what reason do I have to go there over the superior Wegmans, which is way cheaper? Oh yes, it is because of the beverage selection. There is always something new to me in the drink cooler at Whole Foods. This time around it was Alta Palla.

I grabbed this thinking it was a blood orange seltzer water (because it said sparkling). I cracked it open while I ate my pretzel and was nicely surprised to discover it was actually sweetened, but not ridiculously so. During my trip I was doing a lot of hiking, which led to me drinking a lot of water, and eating a whole lot of protein bars and eating trail mix a whole bunch. I didn’t realize how much my body wanted this sugar until I drank this. It has an incredible blood orange flavor and it is in the same realm as San Pellegrino, only better. All I can say is that when that Whole Foods opens its doors in Buffalo they better have this in stock, because I want it and I want a lot of it.

Website
http://www.altapalla.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Fair Trade Certified Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 5th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Pumpkin Spice

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Pumpkin Spice

For camping in this chilly autumn weather I really wanted a bottle of Reed's Spiced Apple Brew to sip while I sat at a fire. There is something wonderful about sipping some spiced sparkling apple juice while fire consumes everything it touches in a controlled setting while chatting with some good friends. At the store I discovered that they no longer seemed to stock that particular product (I am more than slightly concerned that it has been discontinued and I need to do some research). While I didn't find what I was looking for I did find this bottle which appeared to be similar, but with pumpkin added to the mix.

So I sat at my campsite and threw a rouge pumpkin I found on the fire and cracked this bottle open. As the fire distorted the face carved into the gourd I sipped on a glass of this sweet treat. It turns out it is very similar to what is one of my favorite drinks that I was bummed I couldn't find. The pumpkin isn't too overpowering and I'd have to say that it is mostly a sparkling apple drink. It is fairly sweet tasting. I could only drink a smallish glass (which is what a human should drink, we don't need to be the gluttons we tend to be). It was very enjoyable for that glass, but I can't imagine drinking more than that in a sitting (or even over an extended period of time). It's good that it's a seasonal product. I hope to enjoy it again next year.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 8th, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Thirsty Buddha Sparkling Pineapple

Thirsty Buddha Sparkling Pineapple

It’s been so very hot and so very humid in the world. Working in my shop it’s probably at least 10-15 degrees hotter than it is outside. There is only so much water a human can drink when it seems to instantly sweat out of one’s skin. Sure, I switch it up with unsweetened tea and seltzer, but neither tends to be very hydrating. This though, this was just the treat I needed. At just 11oz it refreshed and hydrated me more than a jug of water three times that size could have and it did it with style. This is more delicious than I ever could have imagined it being. This is a sparkling pina colada done in a way that I would consider right. Everything is in a perfect balance with the fruit juice making it slightly sweet. It tastes like fruit and coconuts (which some consider a fruit) and not just a syrupy overly sweet mess. I can’t express enough just how hydrating this was and being sparkling gave it a little pizazz to spice up my day. This is going to be a regular for me this summer I can tell you that already.

Website
http://drinkthirstybuddha.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 29th, 2018
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Sound Sparkling White Tea With Peach + Ginger

Sound Sparkling White Tea With Peach + Ginger

I am done with winter. I’m sick of it. It’s snowing yet again and it looks like more than a foot of the nonsense is going to pile up around my house yet again. Guess what? I am just not leaving the house today. Forget the world. It’s not important anyway. I will just cuddle up with my cat, my dog and this bottle of sparkling tea. Not a typical cold weather drink I know, but it’s here and it’s tasty so it’s what I’m clinging to underneath piles and piles of blankets.
Let me say I don’t get the combo of peach and ginger. I have come across it in teas a handful of times, and I enjoy it, but it is always a bit strange. I love both flavors, but they don’t mingle the way I want them to. Perhaps peach just shouldn’t be mixed with non-fruit flavors. Still, this is quite enjoyable, even though it throws me for a loop a little. It’s very peachy with the ginger hanging around the edges. There is no burn in here, which would have been a bit wild. I think it is ultimately better without it though.

I have grown to love these sparkling teas. They are a bit more than seltzer, but don’t make me feel the guilt I’ve been getting from soda lately. Hey, I’m about to turn 40, and I’ve worked hard to keep myself slim and non-slovenly. While I do love a nice soda, I’ve learned that they are meant to be treats and not for everyday consumption (at least for me). This way when I have them I appreciate them a lot more. In the meantime I will consume mass amounts of water, seltzer, and unsweetened tea, both sparkling and still.

Website
http://www.soundtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 29th, 2019
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now

Bottle Green Sparkling Cranberry & Orange

Bottle Green Sparkling Cranberry & Orange

My lady-friend grabbed a bottle of Bottle Green when we were on a weekend trip to Toronto. It was pretty great. I was excited when we were able to get some more. This is a nice blend of juices that have the perfect amount of carbonation. What makes it even better is that sugar is way down on the ingredients list. It's just fruity and not sugary.
It is definitely more sparkling juice than soda pop. It's very quick to hit you with the flavor, and it leaves you just as quick. I could totally see hippy executives drinking this at business meetings. It's classy, tasty, and one of the best sparkling juices I've ever had.

Website
http://www.bottlegreen.co.uk
Country
England
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 24th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bottle Green Drinks, Cranberry & Orange Sparkling Presse, 25.3 Ounce Bottle

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Crisp Apple Cider

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Crisp Apple Cider

Ronald Washington Knudsen was a soda fiend, or so the tale goes. The boy drank soda until his teeth began to rot. They literally fell right out of his head. Just turned black, full of holes and plop there they are sitting delicately on his tongue (just typing that makes me want to throw up). With all of his natural teeth rotted away the dentist/barber of the times gave him some dentures. They were made of wood though and if Ronald drank anything too sugary they would simply begin to dissolve. As a result he started carbonating some straight up fruit juice so that he could still drink bubbly beverages. He had some up and some downs with his experiments. One thing that cannot be disputed is that he struck gold with his sparkling apple cider. He took a wholesome down home Western New York style cider and simply added carbonation. It was a little strong and he feared for his wooden teeth so he added just a touch of water to even it out. The result was perfection in liquid form. Folks around his area were known to drink whole bottles at a time, even though he claimed each bottle was three servings. There were happy taste buds, happy stomachs, happy drinkers and most importantly happy teeth. It was a Christmas miracle.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Name Your Link

Rubicon Sparkling Guava

Rubicon Sparkling Guava

Dear Rubicon, I wanted to tell you that you’ve come a long way, but then I remembered that I actually loved the juices you sold in juice box form. I had expected them to be overly sweetened and watered down versions of the pure fruit, and while they did have extra sugar added to them, they were fairly spectacular. Any slight reservations I had about your juices have been thrown out the window by the addition of a few tiny bubbles. This actually tastes less sweet than the juice version, and I am fine with that. It’s guava puree spiced up with a little sugar and some carbonated water. It tastes like real guavas, which makes it automatically better than 90% of the drinks in the world. Rubicon, you have proved yourself yet again and I can’t wait to see what you have planned next.

Website
http://www.rubiconexotic.com/
Country
India
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 4th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Crystal Beach Sparkling Loganberry

Crystal Beach Sparkling Loganberry

This ain't your grandma's loganberry. This, my friends, is the first carbonated loganberry drink. It was hard to avoid loganberry as a kid growing up in Western New York. It seemed like every corner store and restaurant had one of those continuously flowing glass loganberry dispensers next to the soda fountains. I know I would drink a tall glass of the insanely sugary drink easily as a kid, but I wouldn't even dare to do so now. I recently came across some in a fountain and found the flavor nostalgic, but the drink to be too thick with sweetener.

When I heard the news of a sparkling loganberry drink hitting the shelves at Tops this past weekend, I was expecting it to be a loganberry soda. To my surprise when I picked up the 4-pack, I noticed they used pure cane sugar as a sweetener instead of high fructose corn syrup that is usually in loganberry. I wanted to drink a bottle on the way home but I resisted so we could all try it together when we recorded a podcast with Buffalo Eats later that evening.

Was it worth the wait? Most definitely! While this is a sparkling drink, it's very lightly carbonated which is really nice. The cane sugar also makes it very light and lets the loganberry flavor shine through. All my life I've been drinking loganberry that was drowning in corn syrup, so it's nice to finally be able to taste loganberry for what it is. The light and fruity taste reminds me a lot of Izze drinks, or HotLips soda.

I think this drink has a little something for everyone. If you grew up on loganberry, you need to try this. If you've never liked loganberry because it was too sweet, pick up a bottle and see if you like this because it's much different that any loganberry you've ever tasted.

Website
http://www.loganberry.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Other/Weird, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 12th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |