Yerba Mate (19 reviews)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Heart (Raspberry Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Heart (Raspberry Tereré)

This drinks sub-flavor claims to be "a raspberry revolution blend." I don't think there is so much of a revolt of berries, but maybe a small scuffle. The raspberry and cranberry juice that are used to flavor the mate aren't overbearing, but they are present enough to make this a truly tasty tea. If you're not familiar with mate, it may be a weird iced tea experience for you, but once you get used to it, it's a nice change from your black and green teas you're used to. It has a decent amount of natural caffeine in it, and it's also a large supplier of antioxidants.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Tea Iced, Pure Heart, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Passion (Passion Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Passion (Passion Tereré)

I really need to check out some more Guayaki flavors. This is my second one, and it's even better than the first. It's yerba mate tea with passion fruit and peach in it. Two of my favorite fruits mixed in with an "unusual" tea. Sounds like a dream to me.
I was driving home from Philadelphia when I drank this, and I was in such awe of the flavor that blasted my taste buds that I was in fear of crashing my car. Well that's an exaggeration, but it's just plain great. It has a very strong taste without being overly sweet, and that is something I look for in an iced tea.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Pure Passion, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Revel Berry

Guayaki Yerba Mate Revel Berry

Here I am on a seven-hour drive home from doing stuff with my new band in New Jersey. I have a sack of drinks in the back seat. I obviously have a problem. I needed a little pick me up, so I went with a yerba mate. I love the bitter aftertaste it has. The caffeine content is also nice. This flavor tastes like a nice natural berry heavy fruit punch was dumped into the vat of tea.
Now onwards to Buffalo. My roommate just texted me that my cat is emotionally disturbed. I can't wait to see what she's doing now.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Tea Iced - Mate Berry, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Endurance (Citrus Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Endurance (Citrus Tereré)

Yerba Mate is a tea all of it's own. It has such a specific taste that just always pops out at you. This style of tea should also always have a leopard on the bottle. Why? Leopards are awesome, that’s why. Look at that thing. Is it smiling, or does it just want to rip you in half? It's the secret of the leopard. I would totally ride that thing around like in Harold and Kumar (I don't care what the world thinks, that movie is hilarious). I'd pick up Mike and the two of us would ride around from bodega to bodega looking for drinks. Sure we might have to buy the leopard a Gatorade once and a while, but he too will be a Thirsty Dude.
Guayaki knows how to blend their mate with other flavors. The citrus in this balances out the bitterness of the tea perfectly. It's not overly sweet or bitter, just a nice happy medium with a tangerine twinge. You know who loves tangerines? That leopard and I. Shibby.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki 19387 Ready to Drink Organic Pure Endurance
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Enlighten Mint

Guayaki Yerba Mate Enlighten Mint

I'm thankful for tacos, pizza, video games, and Ferrari's. I am also thankful for yerba mate that doesn't tastes like an old shoe filled with tea. I am also thankful for drinks that compliment my breath (bref) with the niceties on mint. Yes, I brush my teeth (teef) twice a day, never floss, and tongue scrape, but sometimes a brother just likes a little extra help, and if I can get it in a delicious tea, I'll take it.

I go to the store all the time to see new drinks that we haven't reviewed and these Guayaki cans have been staring me out every single time I go to "the aisle". Finally, I found one that we haven't reviewed so I can drink it. It's not autumn themed, I know, but I don't care. I'll drink soup in the summer, drink cider in the spring, drink iced tea in the winter, and... Buffalo doesn't really have a fall. It just goes from warm to garbage pretty instantly so we have a limited "hoodie" weather unless, of course, you're me and you wear hoodies as winter coats.

This tea was good. Quite good. It was bitter like a yerba mate should be, but not as earthy as some of the other ones. "Entry level" yerba mate, if you will. It's nicely, lightly sweetened with a nice end taste/aftertaste of mint.

This I like. This you should like.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 24th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
16 Pack - Guayaki Yerba Mate - Enlighten Mint - 16oz.

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Empower Mint (Mint Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Empower Mint (Mint Tereré)

Michael loved Saint Patrick’s Day. Actually, let me clarify, he didn’t care anything about Saint Patrick’s Day; he loved the few weeks right before the holiday when McDonalds had Shamrock Shakes. Every year for two weeks he would down as many as he could. When they disappeared for another year it was always a sad occasion. This past year he had kept a quarter of a cup of it in his fridge so he could enjoy it again later. He had planned on holding off for a week or two, but truth be told Michael was a weak willed man. Less than 24 hours had passed since he purchased the frozen beverage before he found himself standing in front of an open fridge with an empty cup and a minty taste in his mouth. It had been glorious, but now the joy was over and he was still thirsty. He had opened the fridge to get some yerba mate, but was distracted by the milkshake. With a shrug Michael grabbed the pitcher of tea and filled up his now empty McDonalds cup. He thought for a second that he should probably rinse it out, but along with being weak willed he was also lazy. When he took a sip he was shocked at how minty the residual shake had made his tea. Normally Michael wasn’t a fan of mint tea. It was always overpowering. This was different though. It was smooth and the yerba mate and the mint blended together nicely. He was so pleased with what he created that he ran out into the living room and had his roommate give it a try. Ron, the roommate, was annoyed that Michael was interrupting his viewing of Desperate Housewives, but he knew the only way to get him to leave was to try it. “It’s good,” Ron said. “It tastes just like the Guayaki Pure Empower Mint that I drink at work all the time.” With that he turned up the volume and Michael went upstairs to his room, leaving the fridge door wide open.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 25th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Mind (Pomegranate Tereré)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Pure Mind (Pomegranate Tereré)

You gotta free your mind maaaaaaaannnn. Open up your third eye and see the world for what it really is. It’s beautiful maaaaaannnnn. You gotta see the trees for the forest maaaaaaan. No maaaaaaan I got it right. It’s not “see the forest for the trees,” that doesn’t make any sense maaaaaaaaaannnn. You can’t have a forest without trees and trees are beautiful maaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnn, just like life.

You know what else is beautiful maaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnn? Guayaki yerba mate, that’s what. The stuff is delicious. It’s so beautiful maaaaaaaaaannnnnn. It’s like the trees. They have this one flavor called Pure Mind, and whenever I drink it I just feel like I’m one with the planet. There are these little birds on the label and they are just so beautiful maaaaaaaaannnnn. It has that wonderful earthy, slightly bitter mate flavor to it, but the bitterness isn’t really there because it’s sweetened and it has all of this beautiful pomegranate juice in it. Antioxidants maaaaaaaaannnnn, now there’s a mind trip. This is seriously one of the best tea drinks I’ve ever tried maaaaaaannnnnn. The thing is maaaaaaaaaannnnn that it doesn’t taste overpoweringly like mate or pomegranate. The two just live in harmony like the trees and the forest maaaaaaaaannnnn. That’s where the saying comes from anyways. Some shaman drank this tea and thought of the awesome harmony that it contains and creates and just thought of trees and forests, and little birds. You really just need to drink this and free your mind maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnn.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 26th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Pure Mind, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Mint Terere

Guayaki Yerba Mate Mint Terere

I bought it, tried it and thought it tasted familiar. A quick visit to the Guayaki website told me that it's just a rebranding of their Pure Empower Mint tea. So yeah, go there and read that to see what it's like.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 11th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Tea Iced, Mate Mint, 16-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Guayaki Yerba Mate Peach Terere

Guayaki Yerba Mate Peach Terere

There are very few things in this world that bring me more pleasure than jumping off of something that is a decent height into water. The thing is that I am not a fan of swimming, and being in the water doesn’t do much for me. It’s overcoming the fear and the drop that is what I enjoy. I should probably go skydiving at some point. This weekend my ladyfriend and I took a trip to Ithaca to do some hiking and we ended up at a spot where you could cliff jump. There were different levels, and the one that the locals said was a 40ft drop was the best. There was a 60ft one, but I was sketched out because you had to jump out a bit to clear a large branch/log that was in the water. I jumped over and over and the panic that struck me about midway down never lessened.

This all really has nothing to do with this yerba mate tea, but that is where I was physically, as well as mentally when I drank it. I was parched and exhausted, so this refreshed me and the natural caffeine in it gave me the little push I needed to continue on. It was a perfect choice for when you’re hanging out at a manmade dam in nature just outside of a hippy town.

Yerba mate is so great because it tastes so earthy, without tasting like you’re drinking the water that was just filtered through a potted plant. It tastes natural and right. As we all know peach in tea is a slippery slope because most of the time it ends up being too strong, and tasting like peach candy. Guayaki held back with their peach. It’s there, but it doesn’t overshadow the taste of the mate. The fact that natural peach was used for the flavoring also helps. As a result of all of this, what I drank was one of the best peach teas I have ever encountered. Yerba mate is a different world if you’re not used to it, but it’s worth the learning curb when you grow to love it.

You know what yerba mate is from South American rainforests. I’m sure people cliff jump there, so my initial paragraph wasn’t pointless rambling.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 25th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Pure Body, Peach 16 OZ
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Guayaki Yerba Mate Unsweetened Terere

Guayaki Yerba Mate Unsweetened Terere

This is simply yerba mate and nothing else. It has that great bitter not-tea tea flavor like yerba mate should. It’s perfect for when you need a little bit of caffeine and you’ve had your fill of sugar. Everything this company releases is near perfect and this is the base of it all. It’s wonderful, and if you’re not familiar with yerba mate this company is the place to start. If you’re cool with unsweetened drinks I would definitely start with this variety.

Website
http://www.guayaki.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 30th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Guayaki Tea Iced, Mate Unsweetened, 16-Ounce (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com
<< previous | 1 | 2 |