Zero (14 reviews)

Virgil's Zero Root Beer

Virgil's Zero Root Beer

There is a lot riding on this review. Up until now, Virgil's has a nearly perfect record (with the exception of a 4 bottle review for their black cherry cream soda.) Virgil's has stepped into dangerous territory: diet soda. For the most part, diet soda and us do not usually go well together (except for a couple exceptions like the Thomas Kemper Diet Cola). I was really scared to buy this because I didn't want my opinion of Virgil's being one of the best soda companies to be tainted. But in the name of Thirsty Dudes everywhere, I have to.

Unlike most diet soda's that are usually sweetened with sucralose or aspartame, this is sweetened with stevia. I was hoping this would make it more tolerable. Sadly, it did not. I was really hoping the delicious and complex flavors of Virgil's root beer would overcome the gross chemical taste, but it failed to do so. The classic Virgil's taste is there for the first second of the sip, but then is washed away with a wave of dish soap water. Literally, if someone else had opened this bottle for me, I would be suspecting them of putting dish soap in it. It's pretty vile.

I'm sorry to have to give you a bad review Virgil's, but this is not good at all. I picked up a couple of the other "zero" flavors and I'm not that excited to try them anymore. Please stick to making your amazing non-diet sodas.

Website
http://www.reedsinc.com/virgils/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf Extract
Categories
Diet, Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Powerade Zero Mixed Berry

Powerade Zero Mixed Berry

Oh Powerade, you fall into a weird subsection of my desire for drinks. I have never gone out of my way to buy a bottle of Powerade. That being said, I have never been unsatisfied by any flavor. I know some people say it's a weak Gatorade rip off, but it's what Coca-Cola is to Pepsi: a similar tasting competitor.

I thought their coloring choice of this "mixed berry" drink was interesting. When I look at Windex I don't EVER think of any berry, let alone a mixture of different ones. This doesn't have much flavor to it though. There's a slight raspberry taste, but it truly just tastes like "mixed berry" as generic as that may be. The good thing about it is there is no gross diet taste at all. Now that I know that, I might actually go out of my way to find more flavors in the Powerade Zero line of drinks.

Website
http://www.powerade.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on August 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Powerade Zero Mixed Berry, 20 oz Bottle (Pack of 8)

Powerade Zero Fruit Punch

Powerade Zero Fruit Punch

I liked high school. That doesn't mean that I was great at it, but I liked it. I took a lot of great technology, shop, and music courses my senior year and it was like the school I always wanted. In hindsight, I wish I had gone with a trade school versus a traditional...or three colleges.

Back to high school: In high school we only had a Powerade machine. One. Singular. That was the one and only vending machine in the entire school. I would talk to other kids that would have all these pop machine and snack machines and stuff. I was jealous. For this reason, since I was 16 (1998) I have had a bad taste in my mouth. Yes, Powerade, it's because I'm a dumb idiot. Also, for no reason, I thought that Powerade was slightly carbonated regardless of how many times people told me that it wasn't. Without exaggeration, I have not had Powerade since I was a junior in high school; Today that all changed.

Jay and I came across it and I knew that it was time to change everything. Why should I hold a grudge against a company because they offered us something when no one else would? I should have loved Powerade these past few years. After today I have these regrets. This whole time I was missing a decent line of drinks that, yes, is like Gatorade, I'll say it, but it's good. I think that the fruit punch was good. Maybe the "zero" of it all calmed down the sweetness but I did a good job clobbering nearly thirty-two ounces of it. It was good. If you like fruit punch but don't like the strange bite that it sometimes has and like the drinkability of Gatorade and hate calories, this is the drink for you.

I'm sorry, Powerade. My alma mater thanks you and that's coming from a cynical jerk. It's been a long time coming. Sorry, guys.

Website
http://www.powerade.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 16th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Powerade Zero Fruit Punch, 20 oz Bottle (Pack of 8)

Rob's Really Good Zero Cucumber

Rob's Really Good Zero Cucumber

Cucumber, eh. I'll try it. Zero, eh. Alright. I don't hate Stevia and/or equivalents. Together at last? We'll see about that. After some scientific discovery, I have come up with the following conclusions. This starts off well. It's promising. It smells like cucumber and tastes like cucumber until...oh...there it is, the badness. It's overly sweet. Too sweet, even. It's that fake sweetener "too sweet" where it's sweet and cold at the same time.

Remember when you were in your freshman year of college and there was that adorable little girl that, for some reason, liked you? She was like five foot naught and somehow, without access to a legitimate kitchen, would make you cookies and cupcakes but out of the genuine sweetness of her heart and not because cupcakes are "cool" and a fad. She makes them because she wants to be noticed. She is truly sweet and was probably unfortunately taken by some dirtbag on the lacrosse team who just didn't treat her right. That simile is not like this drink. The simile to this drink is the girl you ended up with for six unfortunate days that loved light beer and was not shy to show a little too much skin and was a bit of a floozy. You knew that you made a mistake. She never made you sweets but she once bought you a cake that she got from a college party that somehow was still in one piece but had a ridiculous amount of the world's worst frosting ever one it. That's this drink. Frat cake. Too sweet. Promising on paper but just too much.

Website
http://www.robsreallygood.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Non-GMO Sweetener Blend
Categories
Diet, Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 15th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

All Sport Zero Orange

All Sport Zero Orange

Orange, eh? Sir, you are under oath. Do not lie to me. You call this orange? Yes, it is the color orange, but to call this orange is pushing the extent of my patience. If you want to walk out of this courtroom a free man, you have to tell me the truth. Did you doctor this drink in any way? There, now. Was it that hard? What did you put in it? Sucralose? That's one of those artificial sweeteners isn't it? Yeah, that's what I thought. You think I got into the judge's chair by being some sort of idiot?

What else have we got here? It tastes like a watered down Gatorade if I can be so blunt. Is that what you want? A diet tasting, watered down Gatorade? You're fine with that? Sir, please. Let me leave you with these words of wisdom: Don’t be average. Be great. Average never did anything noteworthy. You may leave and please pay the bursar the small fee of three hundred and seventy dollars and have a nice day. I hope I left you with something to think about.

Website
http://www.drinkallsport.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 22nd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dragon Ball Zero Cola

Dragon Ball Zero Cola

So there are balls. Dragon Balls. They've got stars in them, which gives them way more special powers than some lame cats eye. They are marbles with special powers. You collect them and get special powers so you can whoop demons…so many demons. It's not like superheroes where the villains represent some sort of socioeconomic issue. These guys are just bad. They just want to fight and hold lifelong grudges. Mean guys.

Now from what I know about Dragon Ball Z is that there isn't a lot of talking through conflict. It's mostly, "You are going to get it this time!" and then fight. No sitting down and debating. If they could sit down and discuss the issue at hand over a can of this cola, something might actually happen rather than fisticuffs. They could discuss things like who can take over this region of the country while drinking, for all intents and purposes, a better diet Pepsi. Sure, they might yell back and forth and have some empty threats but they will be quenched and might be able to order a nice sandwich platter. Classic dual over lunch.

Website
http://www.dragonball.com/
Country
Japan
Sweetener
Acesulfame Potassium
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 5th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

All Sport Zero Blue Raz

All Sport Zero Blue Raz

What sport are you playing? Oh never mind, it doesn’t matter. As long as you are playing something that can be considered a sport I have a drink for you. Whether is be football, golf or curling this drink will cure what ails you. I call it All Sport, because as I have said it covers literally every sport. If you’re playing, it’s hydrating you.

What does it taste like? Well what do you think? It is a sports drink after all and they pretty much all taste the same to some extent. This one just happens to be diet. We used sucralose and rebiana. It actually doesn’t taste that much like a diet drink either. It just tastes blue and I know you know what that it. At first this is pretty great, but by the time you have about a third left, you’re done with it. I suppose I shouldn’t be telling you that as I’m trying to sell you think drink, but…wait this isn’t my product at all. I found it at Big Lots. Oh, in that case people stick to Gatorade, they are tried and true and have their own decent diet drinks.

Website
http://www.drinkallsport.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Powerade Zero Grape

Powerade Zero Grape

You like sports, bro? I love sports. I love them. I love winning. Hashtag winning, right, bro? Remember that? Charlie Sheen? That dude rules. Yeah, present tense. He still rules. You know who else rules? Our local sports team. They're awesome. Hey, I'm thirsty. You know what a thirsty dude drinks when he's thirsty? No. Not water you munch? Water is for chess players. I mean a real sportsman like you and I. Powerade, that's right. Specifically grape Powerade. This stuff goes down smooth, doesn't taste like poison and tastes like regular grape drinks should. It's good and really helps me when it comes down to baseball time. I'm permanently in the mental state of a homerun derby, bro. All day every day.

What did you say, Miss Catherine? We're done role playing for the day? Oh, man. Thank you. I don't know how much more of that I could have done. Maybe I don't want to play the role of "the jock" in the school play. Can I keep this grape Powerade, though? It's pretty good and actually does taste good. For a diet drink, it's not gross at all.

Website
http://www.powerade.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sucralose
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 17th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Powerade Zero Grape 20 Oz Case of 24

Rob's Really Good Zero Coconut Pineapple

Rob's Really Good Zero Coconut Pineapple

For those of you who grew up Southern Ontario, or Western New York any time from 1888 until 1989 probably remembers Crystal Beach (I can’t believe it was around for a hundred years). It was a great amusement park, which was basically Coney Island on Lake Erie. Growing up in the 80’s, the 1980’s, we hand a handful of amusement parks within an hour drive of us. My favorite was always Crystal Beach. It had great rides, but on top of that it also had a beach, which gave the park a completely different feel than Darien Lake, Fantasy Island and the other smaller parks. It always felt like I was traveling back in time, or stepping into a completely different world when I was there. We would always go early, hit up some rides, and then head to the beach for a few hours before finishing up the night with some more rides. The world famous roller coaster The Comet was always ridden as much as possible. Every trip to the park would be concluded by getting one of the fancy suckers they sold there and going on the “umbrella ride” that carried us in a cart over the park and over part of the beach. Once I was on that ride I knew my day of fun was over, but it was always a fitting end to a great day.

Now I’ve hated coconut since I was a kid. I just recently started to like coconut water, but I did and still do despise the candied and toasted coconut flavors. For some reason I really liked the pina colada suckers they had at the park. I don’t know if I just got them because I thought I was being a rebellious kid getting a sucker named after an alcoholic drink or what. All I know is for some unknown reason these suckers got a pass from my hatred. When I took a sip of this beverage my first thought was “oh gross candied coconut.” Then a second later I realized it tasted exactly like those suckers, and I was okay with it. It has a watered down pineapple flavor that gets overpowered by coconut at the end. It tastes nothing like coconut water though. In reality it has the coconut flavor that I can’t stand in most cases, but it brought me back to some great family outings from my childhood, and I can’t hold a flavor I don’t like against it.

Website
http://www.robsreallygood.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Coconut, Diet, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 11th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Rob's Really Good Zero Tart Cherry

Rob's Really Good Zero Tart Cherry

I've had this drink spilled on me and I've spilled this drink. I handed it off to my girlfriend to try and she thought that handing it to me at mach 3 with the lid off was a good idea. That was how it was spilled on me. I spilled it on myself because I over chugged. I didn't know what my mouth limit was and just kept chugging until I overflowed. That's a good thing for good ol' Rob. I simply couldn't get enough and threw limits out the window like an unwanted apple core. That is the only littering I do is apple cores. You will never see me throw as much as a crumpled gum wrapper out of the winder of my car. Yeah, this is the only planet we have, for now at least, but more importantly is that I'm not a scumbag.

Anyhow, this drink is good: a little tart, as advertised, and a solid juice throughout. It's quite laden with that Stevia taste that I like and if you do, too, you'll be down with this drink. If I hadn't just brushed my teeth, I would have slammed the rest of that leaving my face, torso, and floor beneath me all sticky.

Website
http://www.robsreallygood.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 14th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 |