Birch Beer (17 reviews)

Stewart's Fountain Classics Birch Beer

Stewart's Fountain Classics Birch Beer

So a bunch of my friends are always going on and on about "shower beers." Which is exactly what it sounds like, drinking beers whist taking a shower. They all talked about how great it is, so I decided to have my own version, "shower birch beers." I have to admit, it was pretty awesome. A cool frosty birch beer really complimented a steamy shower.
This is the most mild birch beer I have ever had. It doesn't have the bite that I've come to expect from this beverage. It tastes more like a root beer with one extra ingredient. It's not bad by any means, but I've just had better.

Website
http://www.drinkstewarts.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Boylan's Birch Beer

Boylan's Birch Beer

It's got a bite, a really hard bite. And it feels good. Man, so good. Go to a root beer brewery and get birch beer and that is the only time you will get birch beer this good. This gets an undeniable 5 apples, cherries, starts, thumbs up, bottles, or whatever else your rating system goes up to. Boylan's, you do it right.

Website
http://www.boylanbottling.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 5th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Boylan's 12 oz. Original Birch Beer 12pack
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

College Club Birch Beer

College Club Birch Beer

Who doesn't love the fair? What's the best part of the fair? Okay llama fashion shows are, but coming in a close second is the food and drinks. This tastes exactly like fair birch beer. It would be crisp and refreshing on a hot summer day. It's got that great bite that should be accompanied by fried dough. Can't you just smell the midway now?

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sioux City Birch Beer

Sioux City Birch Beer

This is by far my favorite brand of birch beer of all time. It makes me feel like a cowboy, or a member of the cavalry that's on the bottle. I never really know how to accurately describe birch beer. It's similar to root beer, but with different spices. It's just incredible. Sioux City also has such a distinct taste compared to other birch beers. Smack the dust off your hat, climb on your horse and ride across the prairie to the general store and grab yourself an icy bottle.

Website
http://www.whiterockbeverages.com/sioux-city/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 24th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sioux City BIRCH BEER - "You're in a lurch if you run out of birch; someone might Sioux you", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Big Ben's American Birch Beer

Big Ben's American Birch Beer

This took me by surprise. I thought a few things before I drank it. The first of which, who has ever seen, let alone heard of, clear birch beer? Not I, and I'd like to think I'm some sort of professional. Two was that it was a company I had never heard of and the pop was in a plastic bottle.

I. Was. Wrong. This was strong. Like mouth numbingly strong. It was like every sip was a burst of birch flavoring. I liked it. Re-buy liked. It was kind of like if you ate a mouthful of black licorice to the point where you tasted licorice for a while afterward. It was stagnant, but in a good, powerful way.

If you have the opportunity, try it. It only takes two sips to get used to and then you're hooked.

*After this review we realized that all of the Big Ben birch beers were the same flavor, just different colors. So I changed the picture. Red, white and blue. It's like our country was founded on this soda.

Website
http://catawissabottlingco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hank's Birch Beer

Hank's Birch Beer

Hank's just knows how to make solid quality sodas. There's really nothing out of the ordinary with the birch beer. It just tastes like Hank's spent the extra money and bought really high quality ingredients, instead of picking them up at Aldi or the Dollar Tree.
There is "fair birch beer" for kids and there is birch beer like this for adults. This is one time I'm going to accept that I'm an adult.

Website
http://www.hanksbeverages.net
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 17th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Kutztown Birch Beer

Kutztown Birch Beer

The first two flavors of Kutztown that we tried weren't that stellar. In fact they were on the badder side of the spectrum. At least they got birch beer right.
I always split up birch beer into two categories, and this falls under the "county fair" umbrella. It's super sugary and tastes like it should be a fountain soda. I feel like I should be drinking it in accompaniment with some fried dough on a hot summer night. Kids who are waiting in line to ride the camel or the elephant are just dying to get their hands on some of this sugary goodness. The carny that is goading you into trying to win an enormous stuffed animal for your girlfriend has an extra large cup of this hidden underneath the counter. He takes sips in-between spitting out the extra saliva from his Skoal Bandits. Sure it may rot out what little teeth he has left, but what does he care? He's living the dream, the carny dream. I like it, but I've never met a birch beer I didn't like.

Website
http://www.kutztownbottlingworks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 4th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Kutztown Birch Beer Soda 3pk

Avery's Birch Beer

Avery's Birch Beer

This has a real sharp smell and it beckons your call, like a siren to the black abyss. I steer my mouth/ship towards the bottle/sharp rocks. Here's where I can no longer make similes between enchanted sea women and pop because this took a turn. If I may make one last Greek mythology reference, if I was a boat, I would have avoided the sirens call, not waiting for it like Bernard Sumner and friends wanted me to do, because this was one of the smoothest drinks I've ever had. It's a birch beer that goes down smooth like a cream soda. It's really strange.

It is not bad. Let it be known, but I wanted a gnarly bite, like I normally get with my birch beers. It's like those fireworks that you like but don't last long enough for you to be fully satisfied with. There is a quick giant explosion and then a quick disintegration. Sure, I could make a Cure reference, but that's too many English new wave bands in one review for even me.

That last statement isn't true. There are never enough obscure references in our reviews. If anything, there isn’t enough "review" in our reviews. Guess what, it's not going to change.

Website
http://www.averysoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

AJ Stephan's Birch Beer

AJ Stephan's Birch Beer

This little guy almost killed me. I opened the bottle, took a swig and I somehow swallowed it wrong and started to choke. It felt like bubbly sugary soda felt like it was dripping down into my lung sacks. For a split second I thought I was going to die. Every breath was filled with gurgling liquid. Luckily I persevered, and I am able to write you a review.

Is there such a thing as bad birch beer? If so I've never come across it. There are three categories of it, micro-brewed, county fair and candy-esque. All of them have their merits, with very little drawbacks. This falls under the candy category. It's doesn't have a gross candy flavor, but it's just way sweeter than other birch beers. It really feels like it should just be a root beer, but then the unmistakable aftertaste sets in and it's birch beer city. It's not spectacular, but it's better than most sodas. I can't complain about that.

Website
http://www.ajstephans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 27th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
AJ Stephans BIRCH BEER FROM BOSTON - "White Birch is the Right Birch", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)

Grandma Rose's Birch Beer

Grandma Rose's Birch Beer

This, to me, could be the start of my drink obsession. My parents used to bring me to the fair every year when I was a kid. Young like four probably. Could be less. Every year, I remember going to get birch beer. It was the same booth in the same place every single year and after awhile, I would look forward to it. My parents would get me a small cup of birch beer and that would be that. The rides were second to me getting this drink. I "grew up" and we stopped going to the fair. Probably because for the six of us it was going to cost my dad over a hundred dollars after parking, food, admission, and probably some rides and games. Midway, if you will.

I probably took a good ten to fifteen years off from going to the fair. It just wasn't important and none of my friends drove and there were fairs that were closer that we would go to. You don't have to go to every fair. Little did I know that my little mind still held on to my true love; that birch beer.

I went a few years back and it slipped my mind and all I bought was pulled taffy which I then forgot I bought, tried to eat two or three days later, realized that there is about a one day span where you can eat it, and discouragingly had to throw it away. Not this year, man. Same place. It was like it never left. I asked the ladies behind the counter if it could be bought anywhere in bottles or cans and they said you can only get it at "the fair". I don't know if it's a traveling thing or what, but if it was ever sold in stores or even there in some intimate and overpriced six pack, you know I'd lose my mind and buy like seventeen cases and be the happiest kid ever.

Why would I not forget it? It's just a drink and yeah, the last time I had it, I was probably like ten years old, but let me tell you; you don't forget. Today brought it all back. It's super dark and very rich. It's got all the right spices and is perfectly sweetened. There might have been anise or licorice and I'm sure if I asked them they wouldn't have told me. It was very dark in color, too. Not too carbonated but far from flat. Just an explosion of flavor every sip. I've had some that compare, none that I can do so now, but it's good.

I can't find much on the company. Only that it's owned by a local couple, who celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary in 2009. I would like to let them know that they turned me into the monster that I am today and legitimately thank them.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Not Listed
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 20th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 |