Cream Soda (32 reviews)

Johnnie Ryan Cream Soda

Johnnie Ryan Cream Soda

Often when you see something all the time and it's readily available, you take it for granted. Like that time you lived in Halloweenland for that year and you could get Boo Berry and Frankenberry whenever you wanted. Then you moved back to the United States and realized it's only available for three weeks out of the year. Total bummer. That's how I feel about Johnnie Ryan. It's made about 20 minutes away from my house and everywhere around here carries it. As a result it never jumps out at me, so I rarely drink it. I will be the first to admit that I am an idiot. It's pretty great. It falls somewhere in-between the worlds of major brand sodas and what I like to call "fancy pops." This is an above average cream soda. It's heavy on the vanilla, just the way I like it. Remember kids, just because something is made local doesn't mean that it's substandard quality. It also doesn't ensure that it's amazing. It does mean you should give it a fair chance, and hopefully you'll enjoy it.

Website
http://johnnieryan.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hosmer Mountain Cream Soda

Hosmer Mountain Cream Soda

I have never had a cream soda that is sweetened with brown sugar. Now that I have, I wish more companies would try it out. This is a really smooth cream soda, as cream soda should be. The rich sweetness from the brown sugar makes this a really unique cream soda. It gives it a slight molasses taste, which is awesome in my eyes. This is my first soda by Hosmer Mountain and now I'm really excited to see what else they have to offer.

Website
http://www.hosmersoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and Brown Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 16th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hosmer Mountain Cream Soda

Hosmer Mountain Cream Soda

I love the classic look of this bottle. It has the short and stout shape of a 12 oz bottle, instead of the traditional taller shape. Some may see this label and think it's old and boring, I think it's classic and really fits the taste of this soda. As the label suggests, this has a very rich vanilla flavor and I love it. It's a traditional cream soda taste that really makes my mouth happy.

I just got excited/confused on the last sip I took. I thought I was getting a taste of a campfire and it threw me off. But then I realized it was the smell of a grill outside that wafted through my window and into my nose. Now I’m disappointed and want to find a drink that has a campfire aftertaste.

Website
http://www.hosmersoda.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 20th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Carousel Gourmet Soda Cream Soda

Carousel Gourmet Soda Cream Soda

I was racking my brain once I took a sip of this as to what it tasted like. Yeah, it tastes like cream soda but there is something else going on inside of this lil' bottle. Lil' Bottles. That's a good rap handle for a baby if it was acceptable for babies to rap and if I didn't hate kids singing so much. I think that one version of my personal hell would be to have to listen to all 20 Kidz Bop records on repeat for eternity. I think a place between hell and purgatory would be to have to listen to half of those records once. Ugh, kids singing. The worst. To pop songs, no less. Oh, I've got a great idea. Let's have the worst songs on the radio sung poorly to alright-ly sung by at least three kids at once. Great ideas.

So this drink. It's got a distinct taste and I couldn't put my finger on it. I was doing word associations in my head. Baseball. Gum. Just spitting words out. Then, I got it. The stick to a Lik-M-Aid, or Fun Dip to you new brat kids. It tastes like someone made cream soda with a Fun Dip stick in it. It's super sweet but acceptable somehow.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on August 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Carousel CREAM SODA FROM ILLINOIS - "The Cream Of Chicagoland", 12-Ounce Glass Bottle (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Vess Cream Soda

Vess Cream Soda

Awhile back I was visiting St Louis on tour, hanging out with my friend Erika. We went to a couple of record shops and then to a little deli. I had a root beer that I was drinking, so I didn't get a beverage, but she insisted on buying me this bottle of Vess, stating that it was her favorite cream soda ever. It is now more than two months later and I finally decided to have a go with it. I can't tell you how many times I planned on drinking this. I would go to the fridge dead set on cracking it open only to pick it up look at it for a few seconds and then put it back on the shelf. I have a big problem with pop that comes in plastic bottles. It's been beaten into my brain that by default they are of a lower quality. It's also sweetened with HFCS, which can give me stomach issues.

I finally made myself drink it the other day on a short road trip to Fredonia, NY. I was shocked at how much I enjoyed it. I expected pure carbonated sugar water with a vague cream soda flavoring, but this is bold and smooth. It's very creamy tasting, the way a good cream soda should be. It also is pink, so it has that ever so slight berry flavoring to it. This has the quality of a soda that should come in a glass bottle. If it had I would have drank it long ago, and given Vess the props they deserve.

Erika has never steered me wrong before in the world of movies and comics. I can now add sodas to that list as well.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dr. Brown's Cream Soda

Dr. Brown's Cream Soda

Soon we will be at the date, which Marty Mcfly traveled to in Back to the Future 2. Unless technology changes at a very rapid pace I don't see that version of the future coming true. Do you know who is to blame for this? Doctor Emmit Brown. He broke his own rule. He brought something back from the future. He discovered a cream soda in 2015 that really excited his taste buds and he just couldn't help himself from bringing some back and marketing it as his own. That's right, Dr Browns is actually a cream soda that "Doc Brown" brought back with him on one of his earliest trips. As a result he really messed with the time space continuum. Our society did not progress as quickly as it would have, but what would you rather have flying cars or tasty soda? Okay, I would take a hover board over and soda any day, but I hear they have a complex out in the desert where they actually made them. It's at that Laser Tag Institute of Technology. I need to make my way out to that desert.

Truth be told, we really have no choice in the way our future turned out. Doc Brown rolled the dice and we get what we get. So let's just sit back and enjoy the soda. It's a fairly light cream soda, with a nice sharp vanilla flavor. It's better tan most canned cream sodas, and that is saying a good deal. Cream soda is one of the few sodas that I actually completely enjoy in can form. Curse Doc Brown if you must for your lack of technology, but at least he supplied us with this tasty treat.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Dr. Brown's Cream Soda (Case of 24) - 12 Oz Cans
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Simpson Spring Cream Soda

Simpson Spring Cream Soda

Not all cream soda's are created equal. We know this. It's not debatable. Some are amazing and delicious and some just taste like they were dragged through the river. Simpson Spring has always done us good as far as soda goes, so this cream soda already had a leg up before I opened it up.

Lo and behold, I was right. This bottle is delicious! If they were to add a tagline to this flavor, it would be "very vanilla". I don't know if I’ve ever had a cream soda that has this strong of a vanilla flavor to it. Some people might prefer more subtle cream sodas, but the creamier the better in my opinion.

Website
http://www.simpsonspring.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on July 30th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

IBC Cream Soda

IBC Cream Soda

Like most teenagers in the 90’s who didn’t drink I spent many a weekend night at parties downing soda. There was no better way to do that than drinking IBC 40s. Okay they really weren’t 40oz, they were only 32, but they had the same look. Many of the drinkers out there thought that we drank them to be “cool” and try to fit in. In reality they simply tasted delicious, and more importantly they did trick the drunkards into thinking you were also drinking, which led to way less questions as to why you weren’t drinking, which led to way less taunts, which led to way less altercations. There the secret is out. I drank IBC “40s” so I didn’t have to deal with idiots who thought they should give me crap because I chose not to drink alcohol.

As I got older, I started going to fewer parties, and started buying less IBC. It’s just as well, as it seems they no longer make the large bottles. The dream died. In fact this is the first time I’ve had IBC cream soda in 10-15 years. Even though I’ve become a bit of a soda snob in that time, I can honestly say that this is still pretty great. I don’t know if it’s just because of nostalgia, but I really loved this. To me this is what cream soda should be. It sweet, and has a nice vanilla flavor without tasting like extract. It’s also on the lower end of syrupy for being sweetened with high fructose corn syrup. Now I want to go out in the fields with a couple of bottles of this and sit around a small fire watching as kids try very unsuccessfully to hook up with each other. It’s the American dream.

Website
http://www.ibcrootbeer.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 8th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
IBC Cream Soda 6 ct - 4 Pack

Begley's and Bill's All Natural Cream Soda

Begley's and Bill's All Natural Cream Soda

Ed Begley Jr’s sense of self-satisfaction is a wonderful thing. He uses it to power his go-cart in order to not hurt Mother Earth. He also uses it to sweeten his sugar free sodas. He’s a modest man though, so he told them to put on the label that it’s actually sweetened with a blend of erythritol, stevia and natural flavors, but we know the truth here at Thirsty Dudes. I mean, we are professionals and I think we would be able to taste those sweeteners, but their flavor is missing from this drink, so it simply must be self-satisfaction that is sweetening this soda. There is a taste there, but it’s something I’m unfamiliar with (apparently I’ve never experienced self-satisfaction) and it tastes much better than the sodas contemporaries.

You know what, this man deserves these special powers. Forget about all of the work he has done on behalf of the environment, just look at his acting work. He is a man who has made me laugh way more than most, with not nearly as much recognition as chumps who go for cheap jokes and become mega stars.

Now on top of making us laugh and trying to save the planet for people who are too stupid to care about it, he and his partner Bill have created a line of sugar free sodas that are only 8 calories and don’t taste anything like diet trash. I’m pretty sure you could pass this cream soda off as a normal pop and 99.9% of the people who drank it would have no idea that it was diet. That, my friends, is true magic in the beverage world. It’s nice and smooth, like a cream soda should be. The flavor isn’t striving for anything new and crazy. It simply wants to be a normal cream soda that is healthier for you than the junk most people throw into their food holes daily. Begley, Bill, you have succeeded. This is wonderful, and I think if it got into the hands of more people we would have an epidemic. Then again people have crazy loyalty to their soda of choice for some dumb reason, even when much better products are available to them.

Website
http://www.begleysandbills.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
SweetenFX
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 14th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Virgil's Cream Soda

Virgil's Cream Soda

Virgil's has been one of my favorite soda companies for quite some time. I don't know if it's because it's micro brewed, or the quality of the ingredients they use, but it's worthy of the "Outstanding Beverage Award" they have won several times from the National Association of the Specialty Food. This specifically is the smoothest cream soda I've ever tried. It actually tastes like real vanilla and not vanilla flavored candies. Why do so many companies think their sodas should taste like the candy of that flavor, and not the actual flavor? I really need to try other micro brewed sodas.

Website
http://www.reedsinc.com/virgils/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Carmelized Unrefined Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Virgil's Cream Soda - 4 per pack (Pack of 2)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |