Guava (16 reviews)

Jarritos Guava

Jarritos Guava

Jarritos, where have you gone? Why can I no longer find you around Buffalo? Your tasty sodas were everywhere down in FL. I understand you're made in Mexico, but c'mon. C'mon!
Every other guava drink I've ever had has been super thick. Most would even be classified as nectar. This has a thinner consistency, but not in a way that it seems watered down. Normal guava juice is always ridiculously sweet, but this has a very specific cane sugar sweetness to it. It's always awesome to find a nontraditional fruit flavor in soda, especially one that I don't want to pour in the toilet.

Website
http://www.jarritos.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Natural Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 23rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Jarritos Guava Soda, 12.5 oz.

Jumex Nectar Guava

Jumex Nectar Guava

Am I alone in thinking that when things are described as being nectar that it means the drink will have a thicker consistency? Juice is thinner and watery, as if the juice has been squeezed from the fruit. Nectar is thicker, as if the fruit was pureed. That is the way my mind works. Jumex apparently does not agree with my train of thought. To me this is a juice, plain and simple. There is nothing wrong with that. I enjoy it quite a bit. It's a nice sugary guava treat. Can you really ever go wrong with guava? I certainly don't think so.

Website
http://www.jumex.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Sugar And/Or High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Jumex Guava Nectar, 12.5 oz.

Allen's Tropical Grove Guava

Allen's Tropical Grove Guava

The ingredients: water, sugar, juice. Couldn't they have reversed the sugar to juice ratio? I bet this would have been way, way better if they had. It has 15% juice. So that means that more than 15% of this drink is sugar. I probably shouldn't think about that. It does actually have a guava taste, but I can't help but thinking about the insane amount of sugar that's in it, and I can't really get over that. I paid $1 for this, so I didn't really expect it to be much better, but a man can dream.

Country
Canada
Sweetener
Liquid Invert Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Allen's 25% Real Guava Juice Case Pack 12

Aloevine Guava

Aloevine Guava

I am not too familiar with guava. I think as a standard American, I'm used to fruits like apples, grapes, oranges, and watermelon. Oh, and mush melon. Honeydew is great, too. Oh, man do I love pineapple, too. Mangoes and Guava were unheard of until I was, without exaggeration, 15 or something. By then, I had a handful of great fruits to rely on and that I liked. Why would I need anything else? Well, why do I need to drink beverages with chunks in it? Why do I need to eat things with ham on it? I eat them because they're friggin' delicious and someone made them and why not. That's why.

I don't blame my parents for not giving me "exotic" fruits. It's not their fault. They bought like ten other fruits regularly. I can't hold my parents responsible for not introducing me to everything. That's a ridiculous demand and I understand that.

This drink, guava in flavor, is good. It's right on the cusp of sweetness. Teetering on the fence of good and a bit too sweet, this drink was very bold. It has so much fruit flavor. After drinking those Alo aloe vera drinks, these aloe chunks seem baby sized. I'm not using that against them or even asking them to step up their chunk game. Just stating something I noticed.

Enough review, go drink.

Website
http://www.saluttiflorida.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloevine Aloe Vera Drink Guava Flavor (.5 Ltr) 20 Pack

Maaza Guava

Maaza Guava

Long meetings. You spend all day at an office and sometimes it's alright. You've got your little desk and it's done up the way that you like and sometimes you can listen to music there. At my desk, I don't listen to metal because there are others around and the others wouldn’t appreciate it. No, not like the movie "The Others," which was one of the most awful movies I've ever seen, next to "Bats" of course. I mean, come on. Nothing happened in the whole movie and even the payout was just discovery of nothing. Ugh, Nicole Kidman, you're the pits.

Long meetings. I'll start again. Nothing can save you short of a car hitting your building or someone smoking in the stairwell, which sets off the smoke alarms which means that the fire department come and evacuate the entire building. Since neither of these happen, I needed something. A guava juice is the perfect escape from reality and I was lucky enough to have one in cache.

I enjoyed this drink in all its gritty goodness. As I've said previously, I don't know what Maaza does to their drinks but they're right on the fence between nectar and juice and I don't want them to move. It has a great guava taste. Pretty sweet, but the flavor was on.

Since I'm writing this and I'm (usually) not a disrespectful jerk all the time, I am out of the meeting writing it, so I finally got out, but unless a meal is provided, there should be no such thing as a three and a half hour meeting. FACT!

Website
http://www.maaza.com/
Country
Holland
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Maaza Guava Juice Drink - 33.8fl oz

Rubicon Guava

Rubicon Guava

In the wild world of Canada, there are live exotic fruits. It's true. You don't believe me? Take a trip up to Toronto. While you're there, go do yourself a favor and go to "Fifty Toppings Guy". It's a hot dog cartman on the corner of Queen and Spadina who has wonderful veggie and non-veggie dogs. I'm assuming that you've got a satchel or a fanny pack or something to carry your exotic fruits in, so I am not even going to address it. So once you get past the Eaton Centre, up on your left is a jungle. Ask James, the night watchman, if you can go in. You know the secret hand gesture, right? That's right. It's the same one as the Van Buren Boys hand signal that George Costanza used to save his life. Once James lets you in, get your shoving arms ready because it's a madhouse in there. The pushing and shoving, you would think you were in one of those Filene's "Running of the Brides" events.

Wait, did I tell you that all the exotic juices are in juice box format? Ooops. Sorry. Did you think that it was just fruit hanging off of trees? Are you kidding? Passionfruit, Guava, and all that other good stuff doesn't grow in Toronto. They have to package it up so that it doesn't get damaged when dropped, and since you're going to be fighting your way through said juice, you'd better have a nice, cardboard carrying case around it.

Whilt pushing fat men and skinny ladies, fight your way over to the Rubicon table to grab some of their guava, or as they like to say "goyave". It's pretty close to the bare essentials of what guava is all about. Water, guava pulp, and sugar and then some preservatives and stabilizers to keep it from surprising you with a straw full of brown juice. Oh man, the thought of that makes me want to puke. It's a little gritty like nectar and just the right amount of sweetness so you don't get cavities and probably get some sort of legitimate nutrition. Your mom would be proud, but don't show her that you got your school clothes dirty because some angry woman just pushed you in the dirt so she could get her grubby, rather large hands on the pineapple juice boxes.

Website
http://www.rubiconexotic.com/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Rubicon Guava Exotic Juice Drink (4 juice boxes)

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Guava

Brazil Gourmet Premium Nectar Guava

All three of us have reviewed a guava drink today; so let it be known that July 6th, 2011 will now be known as Guava Day. I, for one, welcome our new guava overlords. I'd like to remind them that as a trusted blog personality, I could be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

They have bestowed onto me a bottle of guava nectar to sample. I don’t think I’ve ever had a guava nectar drink and I must say it’s quite good. It’s not as thick as other nectars I have had, but that’s a good thing. I often find nectar to be way too thick and hard to drink. This is the consistency of a juice/nectar mix and it’s perfect.

**Disclaimer: this review was in no way influenced, edited, or forced by the almighty guava overlords.**

Country
Brazil
Sweetener
Evaporated Cane Juice
Categories
Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on July 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Brazil Gourmet Guava Nectar case of 6/10oz Bottles

Tropical Fantasy Guava

Tropical Fantasy Guava

By the quality of this juice this company’s idea of a tropical location is a third world country. A country that certainly does not have the funds available to properly grow and harvest guavas. Instead they go the inexpensive route and make a fake guava juice. There is pear and apple juice in this, but not a drop of the nectar of the guava. It still remotely tastes like the fruit, but a kid version of it. This is the kind of juice that would be in the lowest common denominator juice box. You can certainly tell that it is sweetened with HFCS, but for some reason there is sucralose in it as well. It’s not bad for the price, but it’s not what I would want when I have the craving for juice from one of the best fruits in the world.

Website
http://www.tropicalfantasy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 29th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vita Lina Flaxseed Drink Guava

Vita Lina Flaxseed Drink Guava

Everyone thought that Stephen Lina and his father were charlatans because they sold heath tonics out of a little cart. They were early wave traveling sales men, but unfortunately for them some men had come before them trying to make a quick buck by swindling people out of their money by offering them what were essentials vials of dyed sugar water. The Linas were not con artists like these others. They had similar selling tactics as their peers, but their product actually worked. You see Mr. Lina was a scientist and he had discovered the healing properties of flaxseed. He knew it could be used to help combat ailments that would in the future come be known as cholesterol, diabetes, cancer, constipation, menopause, heart disease and depression.

Mr. Lina could have easily made it public knowledge that flaxseeds could help cure so many ailments, but then his family would stay exactly where they were: in the poor house. He had promised a better wife for his family, so he made up a whole mess of flaxseed tonics, loaded up the family cart and went out to make his fortune with his son. It’s just unfortunate that the time that they chose to go sell their wares was the same time that people across the country were getting fed up with scam artists ripping them off and not healing their problems. The Linas were chased out of every town they went to. They never once even sold a bottle of their flaxseed tonic. Broken and beaten the two men returned home with their tales between their legs to live out the rest of their life in poverty.

It wasn’t until over a hundred years had passed that Stephen’s great grandson David’s interest was piqued when his grandmother told him tales of the traveling Linas. He found his great great grandfather’s notebooks in an old trunk and used his fancy college science degree to make up a batch of “Vita Lina” as his ancestors had called it. It tasted okay, but it needed a little something. He just happened to have some iced tea and a can of guava juice on hand, for some unknown reason, so he added it to the mixture. That was exactly what was needed. What his grandfather had once called a tonic was now a tasty beverage that was most definitely marketable. The guava and iced tea masked most of the flavor of the flaxseed, but it was still slightly there. Nothing about the flavor was offensive at all. In fact if one were unaware of the flaxseed content, they would never be the wiser. The consistency was a bit off though. It was a little thick, our young scientist’s girlfriend most than once announced that it felt like she was drinking body wash when she would take a sip. David didn’t think it was that thick, but he gave it to her that it was thicker than most drinks in a strange way. David eventually teamed up with Simply Originals, to distribute his beverages, and finally his family started to see some money from their ancestor’s ideas. It was a good day.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Juice, Other/Weird
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Boing! Guava

Boing! Guava

Grit. People nowadays aren't conditioned for any sort of "stuff" in their drink. They should be because "stuff" usually mean better. Try it. I'm serious. Go to the store and buy something that's just gnarly looking. If I can make a recommendation, something along the lines of this drink or any of the many Goya nectar drinks. Drink it. It's good, right? It tastes like fruit. Real fruit. Real, gritty, natural, seed filled fruit. If Mother Nature was an actual person and made a drink, it would have grit in it. You know that's true.

Take thing drink for instance, it is just guava and a little bit of sugar. Alright, alright, there are some other things that probably don't need to be there like sorbitol but the preservatives are probably needed to keep this "100% Natural" drink alive. This is a good drink, though. It tastes like tropical fruit just like it should. It's also served in a cool, skinny, tall bottle that's embossed with the company name and has some awesome artwork that's pretty out of this world.

Website
http://www.bvdimports.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Natural Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 26th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 |