Guava (16 reviews)

Allen's Tropical Grove Guava

Allen's Tropical Grove Guava

The ingredients: water, sugar, juice. Couldn't they have reversed the sugar to juice ratio? I bet this would have been way, way better if they had. It has 15% juice. So that means that more than 15% of this drink is sugar. I probably shouldn't think about that. It does actually have a guava taste, but I can't help but thinking about the insane amount of sugar that's in it, and I can't really get over that. I paid $1 for this, so I didn't really expect it to be much better, but a man can dream.

Country
Canada
Sweetener
Liquid Invert Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 20th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Allen's 25% Real Guava Juice Case Pack 12

Jumex Nectar Guava

Jumex Nectar Guava

Am I alone in thinking that when things are described as being nectar that it means the drink will have a thicker consistency? Juice is thinner and watery, as if the juice has been squeezed from the fruit. Nectar is thicker, as if the fruit was pureed. That is the way my mind works. Jumex apparently does not agree with my train of thought. To me this is a juice, plain and simple. There is nothing wrong with that. I enjoy it quite a bit. It's a nice sugary guava treat. Can you really ever go wrong with guava? I certainly don't think so.

Website
http://www.jumex.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Sugar And/Or High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Jumex Guava Nectar, 12.5 oz.

Aloevine Guava

Aloevine Guava

I am not too familiar with guava. I think as a standard American, I'm used to fruits like apples, grapes, oranges, and watermelon. Oh, and mush melon. Honeydew is great, too. Oh, man do I love pineapple, too. Mangoes and Guava were unheard of until I was, without exaggeration, 15 or something. By then, I had a handful of great fruits to rely on and that I liked. Why would I need anything else? Well, why do I need to drink beverages with chunks in it? Why do I need to eat things with ham on it? I eat them because they're friggin' delicious and someone made them and why not. That's why.

I don't blame my parents for not giving me "exotic" fruits. It's not their fault. They bought like ten other fruits regularly. I can't hold my parents responsible for not introducing me to everything. That's a ridiculous demand and I understand that.

This drink, guava in flavor, is good. It's right on the cusp of sweetness. Teetering on the fence of good and a bit too sweet, this drink was very bold. It has so much fruit flavor. After drinking those Alo aloe vera drinks, these aloe chunks seem baby sized. I'm not using that against them or even asking them to step up their chunk game. Just stating something I noticed.

Enough review, go drink.

Website
http://www.saluttiflorida.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloevine Aloe Vera Drink Guava Flavor (.5 Ltr) 20 Pack

Maaza Guava

Maaza Guava

Long meetings. You spend all day at an office and sometimes it's alright. You've got your little desk and it's done up the way that you like and sometimes you can listen to music there. At my desk, I don't listen to metal because there are others around and the others wouldn’t appreciate it. No, not like the movie "The Others," which was one of the most awful movies I've ever seen, next to "Bats" of course. I mean, come on. Nothing happened in the whole movie and even the payout was just discovery of nothing. Ugh, Nicole Kidman, you're the pits.

Long meetings. I'll start again. Nothing can save you short of a car hitting your building or someone smoking in the stairwell, which sets off the smoke alarms which means that the fire department come and evacuate the entire building. Since neither of these happen, I needed something. A guava juice is the perfect escape from reality and I was lucky enough to have one in cache.

I enjoyed this drink in all its gritty goodness. As I've said previously, I don't know what Maaza does to their drinks but they're right on the fence between nectar and juice and I don't want them to move. It has a great guava taste. Pretty sweet, but the flavor was on.

Since I'm writing this and I'm (usually) not a disrespectful jerk all the time, I am out of the meeting writing it, so I finally got out, but unless a meal is provided, there should be no such thing as a three and a half hour meeting. FACT!

Website
http://www.maaza.com/
Country
Holland
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 19th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Maaza Guava Juice Drink - 33.8fl oz

Tropical Fantasy Guava

Tropical Fantasy Guava

By the quality of this juice this company’s idea of a tropical location is a third world country. A country that certainly does not have the funds available to properly grow and harvest guavas. Instead they go the inexpensive route and make a fake guava juice. There is pear and apple juice in this, but not a drop of the nectar of the guava. It still remotely tastes like the fruit, but a kid version of it. This is the kind of juice that would be in the lowest common denominator juice box. You can certainly tell that it is sweetened with HFCS, but for some reason there is sucralose in it as well. It’s not bad for the price, but it’s not what I would want when I have the craving for juice from one of the best fruits in the world.

Website
http://www.tropicalfantasy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 29th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Boing! Guava

Boing! Guava

Grit. People nowadays aren't conditioned for any sort of "stuff" in their drink. They should be because "stuff" usually mean better. Try it. I'm serious. Go to the store and buy something that's just gnarly looking. If I can make a recommendation, something along the lines of this drink or any of the many Goya nectar drinks. Drink it. It's good, right? It tastes like fruit. Real fruit. Real, gritty, natural, seed filled fruit. If Mother Nature was an actual person and made a drink, it would have grit in it. You know that's true.

Take thing drink for instance, it is just guava and a little bit of sugar. Alright, alright, there are some other things that probably don't need to be there like sorbitol but the preservatives are probably needed to keep this "100% Natural" drink alive. This is a good drink, though. It tastes like tropical fruit just like it should. It's also served in a cool, skinny, tall bottle that's embossed with the company name and has some awesome artwork that's pretty out of this world.

Website
http://www.bvdimports.com
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Natural Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 26th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bundaberg Sparkling Drink Guava

Bundaberg Sparkling Drink Guava

This was really supposed to be one of the greatest things to ever grace my taste buds. The Bundaberg flavors I’ve had in the past have been nothing short of greatness. On top of that it has been scientifically proven that guavas are one of the greatest fruits to even ripen on this planet of ours. Even better this was the third part of a gift that my great friend Terry brought back from a work trip to Australia. As you can tell from my wording everything was aligned for greatness. If there was a god then this had to be the greatest soda to ever be produced. Apparently Homer Simpson’s flat tax plan was correct, there is no god.

While this is a soda made with actual guava juice, and it is carbonated just like their other flavors, the other flavors masked the fermented taste that the yeast used caused. Unfortunate for me fruit juice doesn’t do as good of a job masking that flavor. It turns out that Bundaberg Guava Soda tastes like a wine cooler. My friends who drank loved this. They were all raving about it. To me it was a disappointment that I still enjoyed. It still tasted like guava juice, just a little fermented, the way that Fentimans fruit flavors do. I will give the company credit for making the soda the old fashioned way though.

Website
http://www.bundaberg.com/info/home/
Country
Australia
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Kern's Nectar Guava

Kern's Nectar Guava

You know how when bees make honey it can taste a little like the flowers they got the pollen from? Well I’d like to get some honey from bees that were feasting on guava blooms. I got the idea from the hummingbird on this can. Yeah that’s right, I went from hummingbird to bees in less than a second. My brain works in mysterious ways. But yeah, guava honey would probably rate right up there with rainbows, puppies and your kiss as the best things in life (the producer made them cut it down to just your kiss).

Unfortunately this Kern’s guava nectar is not on that list. It’s good, but the HFCS makes it a bit too sweet and a bit too thick, in an unnatural way. It just masks the glorious taste of the guava a bit too much. Oh well I’ll take what I can get when it comes to this fruit. Now someone send me that honey.

Website
http://www.kerns.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 17th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Kern's Guava Nectar - 12/11.5 oz

Aloha Maid Natural Guava

Aloha Maid Natural Guava

I don't think I've ever eaten a guava, like a real guava off a tree. Why would I see one of those as they are not indigenous to Buffalo? Sure I could have taken a trip somewhere but I've only been "out West" once and they most certainly don't have Guava in Las Vegas. Do they have them in Florida? I'm going there next month. Maybe I'll make it my task to find one. I don't have anything else to do. When I get it, I'll try and compare it to a drink that I would have drank a month ago at that point. What does it taste like now? Well friend, I'll tell you.

As far as nectars go, this is not the way I like it. I like my nectars with some grip in there. That's right. I like a nice, sandy juice. It just lets me know that things are happening. Grit aside, this is a good juice. It doesn't taste too sweet and is basically just water, sugar and guava so why would it. No fake sweeteners or additives. Just good, old fashioned fruit juice. Give this to your kids. Don't accept any substitutes; only the finest for your little brat.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 10th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Aloha Maid Maid Drink Guava, 11.5-ounces (Pack of 24)

Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Guava

Brooklyn Organics Craft Ginger Ale Guava

I was really excited about this. Guava flavored ginger ale sounds like a dream come true. I also knew going into it that it was sweetened with stevia, but I was hoping/expecting the guava to overpower it. My hoping was in vain.

For a split second, when it first hits your tongue this is absolutely incredible. It's everything that I wanted it to be unfortunately that only lasts a fraction of a moment before the stevia hits you. At that point it tastes like neither guava nor ginger. It just becomes a diet fruity flavor.

It's obvious that a lot of care goes into making this, and I understand the health conscious aspect of the zero calorie sweetener, but as soon as that stevia hits me it could be bottom of the barrel soda and I wouldn't be able to tell the difference. If I were someone who couldn't drink real sugar and had to rely on zero calorie alternatives, I'm sure this would be absolutely wonderful. As a consumer of actual sugar it doesn't do anything for me. If only a sugared version of this existed I would be in heaven.

Website
http://www.drinkbrooklynorganics.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Stevia
Categories
Diet, Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 21st, 2017
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
<< previous | 1 | 2 |