Sweet Tea (19 reviews)

Mapco Tallboys Sweet Tea

Mapco Tallboys Sweet Tea

Jay picked up this "gem" while he was in whatever town/city/borough he was in and carefully brought it home. I might give him a friendly punch in the arm because it wasn't too great. There's sweet tea and there's "sweet tea". This is the latter. It's sweet and it's tea but it's mostly creamy, high fructose garbage.

There is no bite or real tea flavor at all. Arizona lemon iced tea with more sugar is closer to tea than this.

Lesson?
Some gas station teas are diamonds in the rough. This isn't. This is the epitome of "the rough".

Website
http://www.mapcoexpress.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze, why do you deal in mediocrity? How do you sleep at night knowing that you produce a sub-par drink for the masses?

How many companies need to ruin one of the simplest recipes before someone says something? I would love to be that person.

Have you ever drank a high quality sweet tea? It's the simplest thing in the world. It’s water, black tea, and sugar.

This tastes exactly how you think it would, overly sweetened and a bit syrupy.

Cut the crap, most companies that make sweet tea that blows.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Brisk Sweet Tea

Brisk Sweet Tea

If there is one thing I’ve learned in my 33 years on this planet it is that Brisk is the bastardization of tea. It doesn’t even particularly taste like tea. It’s more of flavored sugar water. One might think that with that being the way the world is perhaps Brisk would be able to make a decent sweet tea, since it also entails a butt load of sugar. One would be wrong, so very wrong. Not only does this not taste like any tea that you would brew (which sometimes is an okay thing, it’s just a different flavor), but they also used high fructose corn syrup instead of real sugar. In my world, and the world’s of a majority of the people in this country it’s not sweet tea unless there is real sugar involved. It’s the taste of the sugar that makes it a sweet tea. So they got the tea aspect wrong, and the sweetener. The only real thing this has going for it is that kids aren’t very familiar with the taste of proper tea and they love super sweet drinks, so they will probably drink this by the gallon. Luckily for them this comes in a one liter bottle, which is supposed to contain 4 servings, but you know most of the slobs that would buy this would drink it all in a sitting.

Note to our readers: I drank less than a quarter of this. As a grown ass man I don’t need this garbage in my life.

Website
http://www.drinkbrisk.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 8th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Lipton Brisk Sweet Iced Tea 12oz Cans (Pack of 24)

Pure Leaf Real Brewed Tea Sweet Tea

Pure Leaf Real Brewed Tea Sweet Tea

This only has two ingredients, three if you're going to be a jerk and count "citric acid" as an ingredient. That's all that is in here. In many previous reviews I mention that is all that is needed to make the perfect sweet tea. So why is this so boring? I don't like the taste of it. It's black tea and you can taste it. Credit where credit is due. The sugar and/or the citric acid make this drink taste like mass produced junk. It's real sugar. I don't get it. So close. Something in this drink sucks. The drink doesn't suck but there is a weak link in here bringing it down. It's the inverse of the kid that gets high grades in a weighted test and screws the rest of the kids by being good. That kid is at an Ivy League college during the making of this drink and you're stuck with solid "C" students. Read a book, you idiots.

Website
http://theloveofleaves.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 26th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Pure Leaf Sweet Tea, 18.5 Oz (Pack of 12)

Luzianna Sweet Tea

Luzianna Sweet Tea

Just look at the face of any father when his son or daughter says he is getting married to someone who truly sucks and you will see the face of someone who just took a sip of this iced tea. "Dad, I'm marrying Tabitha." you say to your daddy who takes a moment to remember the totally and unfortunately forgettable Tabitha. This is the same Tabitha who has shirts with wildlife on it and loves to read fantasy novels. This is the same Tabitha who works "really hard" at her father's hot dog restaurant but, regardless of being a blood relative, just doesn't have what it takes to be "management material."

A sweet tea from New Orleans shouldn't have the same bite as a Lipton Brisk from God knows where. These people from Louisiana must picket day and night trying to get Luzianne to shut down production on this disgusting line of "sweet tea" that can only be described as "sweet tea" when in quotes both in print and in person by way of air quotes. Saying "It's like Brisk but a little better." is like saying you have "the good cancer."

Website
http://www.luzianne.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Luzianne Sweet Tea Ready To Drink, 16 Ounce -- 12 per case.

Chadwick Bay Enhanced Sweet Tea

Chadwick Bay Enhanced Sweet Tea

Sweet Tea, for anyone who doesn't know, is a Southern delicacy. When you go down there and get it, it's wonderful. It's also pretty consistent, which counts more than you will ever know. The problem in today's drink world is that every company has their own sweet tea and none of them taste the same. I get excited every time when I see a new "Sweet Tea" because I hope that it will be true to the Southern treat.

This is not. I often get confused when companies make "staple" drinks. Do they do research? Living in Buffalo, I am filled to the brim with good "Buffalo wings". Go anywhere else and the "Buffalo Wings" are absolutely disgusting. How is this possible? There are like three ingredients. If you have those three ingredients, you can't make a bad batch, same with sweet tea, black tea and sugar. Done.

I do appreciate the folks at Chadwick Bay "enhancing" my beverages with vitamins and minerals but it could be taking away from the genuine flavor of the sweet tea. Listen up, though, this is not a bad tea by any means, it's just not a traditional, classic sweet tea.

Maybe I'm looking into the word "Sweet Tea" too deeply. Maybe I'm thinking that it has to be LIKE Southern Sweet Tea all the time and not just sweetened tea. Chadwick Bay, I would give you more lenience towards this drink if you erased the subtitle "Southern Style" from your label and just called it "Sweet Tea".

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 2nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Sweet Tea

Cintron Sweet Tea

I didn't realize until today that there is no direct route from my new apartment to downtown via bike. I should have figured that out before I had 20 minutes to reach my destination. I rode fast and I rode hard, and I was only one minute late. Not too shabby, but exhausting. I'm glad I brought a drink with me, specifically a drink this large.

It has a decent tea taste with a lot of sugar (hey it's sweet tea it's supposed to have copious amounts of sugar, if you have a problem with us then drink something unsweetened). I was actually shocked when I saw it was sweetened with HFCS. It doesn't taste like it, nor does it have the consistency. It's not the best sweet tea I've ever had, but for a drink that comes in a tall boy it's pretty darn good.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cintron Sweet Tea

Cintron Sweet Tea

Do you think that Southerners get angry when they see people selling sweet tea in the North? Do people from Philly hate hearing about companies coming out with "cheese steak" stuff like pizzas and Hot Pockets? I know that when I'm not in Buffalo, I won't touch "Buffalo Wings" because I know they're going to suck big time. I lived about five hour north of Buffalo and the "Buffalo" wings were some of the worst wings I've ever had; well that and all of Buffalo Wild Wing's consistently.

Back to my original point. Do Southern people get upset when they see "sweet tea" drinks that their mama didn't make and think to themselves, "These idiots don't know the half of what sweet tea is." I always find it a bit audacious when companies do that because I've had authentic Southern sweet tea and I know that 90% of the "sweet tea" that's out there is just improperly sweetened junk tea.

Although this Cintron sweet tea isn't really "sweet tea" per se, it's not a bad beverage. There's no sting and it's sweet, but not sweet tea sweet, so if you just want a sweetened tea, you've almost got it. If they would have used cane sugar and not corn syrup, they would have been closer, but aside from Xing, companies who make tallboys don't really do it for quality. I know Cintron does make a quality line of tea in glass bottles so I'm letting them slide with this entry-level stuff. It's for the layman. I get it. You cover all gamuts.

Might want to just change the title to something like "sweetened tea" and release that or else you're going to get treated like Chevy Chase did in Fletch Lives where he was in the South. Poorly.

Website
http://www.cintron21.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Honest Tea Sweet Tea

Honest Tea Sweet Tea

I'm standing in the aisle and a woman walks past me and says, "Too many choices." I promptly respond with, "Not enough choices." I swear, as soon as I pass the New York line, my fame and fortune is forgotten because if we were in New York and not New Jersey, I would have swarms of people surrounding me pondering what drink I will pick. That would obviously be followed by a loud cheer and sometimes but not always, confetti. I think there is a confetti brigade that follows me around but they are very stealth and I can never see them in the open.

I picked this tea because it was "not too sweet" which is what I needed because I have been eating like absolute garbage this whole trip. Not poorly, just in excess.

This tea was alright, though. Not too sweet but a little off. I couldn't place it but it's not like the sweet tea I am used to. It was black and sweet but didn't add up to "sweet tea." That lady should have picked my drink for me because I could have done better.

Website
http://www.honesttea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 26th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Honest Tea, (Not Too) Sweet Tea, Organic, 16.9 oz?(Pack of 12)

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Xing Tea Sweet Tea

Mike reviewed this drink three and a half years ago, and just wasn’t into it. As you can see below, it just didn’t deliver what he wanted from a sweet tea. Cut to now, the company contacted us and said that from what he wrote, they thought something was wrong with his can, as in a bad batch or something. They ended up sending us a couple cans to try again, and I have to say they were absolutely right.

I will now address Mike’s issues:
1) There is a difference between sweet tea and sweetened tea.

I can most definitely taste the sweet tea aspect of this. You can absolutely taste the cane sugar, and it’s one of the driving tastes in this beverage. That is what makes a sweet tea to me.

2) He couldn’t taste any actual tea, and it tasted fake.

There is both black and green tea in this, which I admit is odd in a sweet tea, and purists would scoff at it and claim it wasn’t real sweet tea. Those people are snobs. I can definitely taste both type of tea very distinctively. It gives a new twist to an old standard. I am personally a fan, and during a sweltering summer I would drink this all of the live long day.

Sorry you got a bunk can Mike, because this is great and more than lives up to my Xing expectations.

**********************************************************************************
Mike's Old Review:
The more I am drinking Xing Tea the more I am getting disappointed. This sweet tea is, technically, sweetened tea, but there is a significant difference between "sweet tea" and sweetened tea. Also I taste no actual tea in this drink and something about it seems fake. I don't think I need to say anymore.

Website
http://www.drinkxingtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 15th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 |