High Fructose Corn Syrup (495 reviews)

Squirt Citrus Soda

Squirt Citrus Soda

I'm a big fan of grapefruit flavored sodas, and this one is a classic. It has such a crisp grapefruit taste that it makes my mouth water. The only downside to this tasty drink is the HFCS that is used to sweeten it. It leaves that syrupy consistency on my tongue after a few sips. I hope someday they decide to do a "throwback" version of this and use sugar as a sweetener instead.

Website
http://www.squirtsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Squirt Soda 2/ 12pks

Big Red Big Blue

Big Red Big Blue

Let's take a poll. What do you think the flavor of this drink is going to be? Okay with the exception of Tommy, who insists on being a smart ass and guessed it was beef wellington flavored, every last one of you said berry or blue raspberry. Okay some of you said it was "blue" flavored, but as everyone know blue only counts as a flavor when you're talking about freezie pops. As a result your answers will be marked as blue raspberry, which for the record is what I was expecting. It’s a sugary as all hell blue raspberry soda that would hurt my teeth due to it's obscene sweetness. I was very shocked when it ended up being a sugary as all hell cream soda that hurt my teeth due to its obscene sweetness.

I thought it was disgusting after my first sip. I think I believe everything is gross when it tastes completely different than I expect it to, so I pressed on. I ended up liking it. It's so candy cream soda it's ridiculous, but I could handle it in small doses. I couldn't make it through the whole 20oz bottle in one sitting, but I'll come back to it later.

Website
http://www.bigred.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Crush Strawberry

Crush Strawberry

This soda was not nearly as sweet and syrupy as I had expected. Don't get me wrong it's still way sweet, but I expected it to be like drinking a bottle of concentrate. Like most fruit sodas Strawberry Crush takes like candy, and very little like fruit. Unfortunately I do not share the views of Bow Wow Wow. Candy is not what I want, especially in my soda. Really how did Malcolm McClaren go from putting together the Sex Pistols to Bow Wow Wow? I wonder if he wanted candy, and by candy I mean the underage singer of the band. I guarantee she would love this drink. She was a kid and she wanted candy. I say we give it to her in liquid form.

Website
http://www.crushsoda.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Strawberry Crush: 24 Count
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Yogu Time Orange

Yogu Time Orange

I'm going to need seven and a half boxes of creamsicles. Could you be so kind as to open them all up and put them in that pot over there. I've got the burner on low, so we shouldn't have any problems. *Cut to five minutes later* Okay let me fish those popsicle sticks out of that sludge. Now time to add some more sugar and mix it up properly. Can you hold that funnel while I pour this into those bottles. Okay now let's put those all in the fridge and let them chill. First you cook. Then you chill.

That my friends is how Yogu Time makes this drink. It's creamy. It's orangey. It's unfortunately not as thick and yogurty as I want it to be. None of these drinks ever are. It would probably have the shelf life of a week or two if it was how I want it to be, but can't a man dream?

Country
Japan
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Yogurt
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Yogu Time Orange 10 Fz

Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream

Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream

This bottle totally looks like something your grandpa would pull out of the fridge. As he opened it and started to drink it, you'd think to yourself "I wonder which war prevented him from drinking that soda, only for him to rediscover it 30-60 years later."

This cream soda has that old time look and taste to it. It has a really strong vanilla smell. So strong, I almost thought I was smelling a vanilla bean Yankee candle. It has a really strong vanilla cream taste to it too. It's so smooth, I almost don't mind the burn from the HFCS as it goes down. Though, if this was made with cane sugar it may have gotten a perfect 5.

Website
http://www.henryweinhards.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Henry Weinhard's Vanilla Cream Draught Style Head
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze Sweet Tea

Country Breeze, why do you deal in mediocrity? How do you sleep at night knowing that you produce a sub-par drink for the masses?

How many companies need to ruin one of the simplest recipes before someone says something? I would love to be that person.

Have you ever drank a high quality sweet tea? It's the simplest thing in the world. It’s water, black tea, and sugar.

This tastes exactly how you think it would, overly sweetened and a bit syrupy.

Cut the crap, most companies that make sweet tea that blows.

Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

NuGrape Grape Soda

NuGrape Grape Soda

Things that start with "Nu" followed by a noun are generally not good things. Prime example: NuMetal. It's possibly the worst form of music mankind has ever created. The late 90's were such a dark, dark time for popular music. Teen angst was at an all time high, in all the wrong ways. Ick.

NuGrape is a "Nu" product that is actually decent. It reminds me a lot of Nehi Grape Soda. It doesn't taste like a grape per say, but it doesn't taste completely chemical and harsh. Grape is a summer pop, and I would sip on this at a BBQ any day.

Website
http://www.nugrape.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
(Retro) Nugrape Made with Real Cane Sugar 12 Pack

Henry Weinhard's Root Beer

Henry Weinhard's Root Beer

Root beer like this reminds me why I love root beer. It's really smooth and rich, with hints of a lot of different flavors.

In the world of root beer, I've heard the term "head" a lot but have never experienced it much with bottles. This has "drought style head". Judging by my experience with this bottle, this must mean "lots of head". After putting this bottle down for a minute, the whole neck was filled with head. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing, just an observation.

Website
http://www.henryweinhards.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Henry Weinhard's Root Beer
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Brisk Strawberry Melon

Brisk Strawberry Melon

What year is this? 1995? Even if you're reading this in "the future", in my opinion, vending machine dollar slots should have improved over the years. Remember when you wanted a can of pop as a kid and you would put your wrinkly and potentially/probably wet dollar bill in the machine? You would get so mad when it would spit back out at you. Then when you grew up, you learned a couple tricks of the trade. Namely, that one trick where you flatten the bill by holding both sides and stretching it over the corner of the machine. Often, that would work.

Now, many years later, technology has soared to places we never could have imagined. I can take pictures with my phone and put them online in seconds. Cars drive with cruise control and auto adjust the speed based on the cars ahead of them. Someone invented a hoverboard that works. Why can't all bills work in the machines? My bill was creased, but fine. It wasn't taped or had bent corners or anything. Just creased. I actually didn't want this drink. I wanted a V8 Splash, which I paid for and the slot I paid for was empty so I paid for the ability to open a door.

I was wicked thirsty and this drink was actually refreshing. I didn't know that they made Brisk in juice format. I thought that it was only iced tea. This has a bit of that "Brisk sting" but it's tolerable. The strawberry is very prominent but you can tell that there is some undiscerning taste in there that you can just safely assume is melon.

Website
http://www.drinkbrisk.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

World Classics Trading Company White Tea with Tangerine

World Classics Trading Company White Tea with Tangerine

There is an entire world of low rent iced teas out there. Leave it to the Midwest to produce the blandest of the bland. Like the planes of America's Badlands, this tea feels like it's going nowhere. Unfortunately for World Classics, I don't thing Bruce Springsteen will write any songs about this tea. I guess there could be something he could write about rising above its mediocrity. I don't think it would get quite the same sing-a-longs in a live setting.

It's a bitter syrupy white tea. So bitter it feels like it's drying out your mouth. The tangerine flavor tastes nothing but artificial. For 30 cents what did I expect? Whoo Oh Oh Ohhh!

Website
http://www.worldclassicstrading.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
High Fructose Corn Syrup
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on February 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |