No Sugar Added (720 reviews)

Metromint Cherry Mint

Metromint Cherry Mint

Who doesn't love a refreshing water to cap a long afternoon of shoveling snow? I'm pretty sure that I can speak for the entirety of the North East United States when I say, "Us!" To put a feather in the fake cap of water, we will put a touch of cherry to sweeten and flavor it up and a touch of mint to cool it down. Together, we have the hard to find Cherry mint Metromint water. This was the hardest to find and for that reason, the flavor that I looked forward to the most. Sadly, yes sadly, I shouldn't have. First sip is strange. You know what it's going to taste like because you've been down Metromint Boulevard before. It still doesn't prepare you for what's to come. Water, cool refreshing water, followed by cherry "essence" (which is fine with me) and mint. Do you know what mint and cherry tastes like? Luden's. Yep. You know when you're sick and you've got that scratch in your throat and you want to take care of it in a flash? Luden's to the rescue! Cherry to mask the clearly medicinal taste of the Mentholatum which in itself tastes like cool mint.

So, because of the relevance of this drink to medicine, and the fact that it's just not quite what I wanted since I'm not sick. I am forced to say that this is my least favorite Metromint water. I do not regret the quest for the holy grail that I put myself through, but I wish that I had liked it more than I did. Sorry Metromint, you can't win all the time. We'll always have chocolate mint.

Website
http://www.metromint.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 29th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Metromint Water, Cherrymint, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Cascal Handcrafted Cherry, Apples, and Anise

Cascal Handcrafted Cherry, Apples, and Anise

This bottle looks like it was taken from a fancy dinner party on the 23rd floor in Manhattan. Instead of a flavor, this has "notes of apple, cherry, and anise". All of this intrigued and also scared me.

Upon opening this, it smelled like alcohol. This is probably because it has fermented barley malt in it. While I have never tasted alcohol, it tasted exactly how it smelled, which really grossed me out. Then upon further tasting, it tasted like apple juice that has been in the fridge past it's expiration date. You know when the bottle starts to bulge a little and it lets off that strong fermented smell when you open it, and then you take a sip of it to see if it's still good? They managed to bottle that, for whatever reason. Maybe some people like that but it's not for me. This isn't necessarily bad, but it's nothing I want to drink.

Website
http://cheerscascal.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on March 16th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cascal Fermented Black Currant and Mirabelle

Cascal Fermented Black Currant and Mirabelle

I hate fermented drinks. I have not been looking forward to trying this. But as a Thirsty Dude, I had to give this a try. Mary Liz says this tastes like a red wine spritzer. While I have never had one, I can only say that this is gross. This reminds me a lot of other fermented/barley sodas I've had in the past. I can't get into this at all. It taste dry and does not agree with my mouth.

The bottle says: "Cascal is made with fermented juices and fermented malt for a "grown-up" taste. In the words of Mary Liz, "Grown-up tastes means mildly disgusting". I agree 100%.

Website
http://cheerscascal.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 27th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hi Ball Sparkling Energy Water Lemon Lime

Hi Ball Sparkling Energy Water Lemon Lime

Up until a few minutes ago I though a "high ball" was the name of a specific alcoholic drink. It turns out it's a general term for and mixed drink. They are typically sold by middle aged women in their bras during mud wrestling matches held in living rooms.

Hi Ball is more specific. It is a very dry, borderline seltzer, sparkling energy drink. There is no sugar added at all. It's just water, bubbles, a small amount of lemon lime flavor, and some herbs for energy. It's the high-class energy drink. I understand how this could be attractive to some people, but it's not for me. I like my energy drinks to taste like juice, not.....nothing.

Website
http://www.hiballer.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Energy Drink, Sparkling, Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 28th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hiball Energy Sparkling Water Lemon Lime, 10-Ounce Glass Bottles (Pack of 12)
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Snapple 100% Juiced Melon Berry

Snapple 100% Juiced Melon Berry

Everything about this can looks like it was left over from the late 90's. Even though this just various juices with no sugar added it tastes more like a "drink" than a juice. Watermelon juice never works folks. You shouldn't even bother trying. It always ends up tasting like some sort of candy. It just tastes generic and I can't get into it.

Website
http://www.snapple.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on August 3rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Cascal Fermented Soda Apple & Anise

Cascal Fermented Soda Apple & Anise

Anything fermented, for me, gets me a little standoffish. I have to read labels a lot to see if there alcohol in things because I won't touch it if it does. Non-alcoholic mouthwash, white wine vinegar, and vodka sauces are all off limits. We don't review types of kombucha because it's fermented to the point of containing alcohol.

I am not "afraid" of alcohol, I just don't need it in my life and if I have to do a little reading to ensure that I'm not getting any, I'll do it. You read for things like calories and fat, why can't I read for ingredients? You're right, I can. Thank you for your permission.

This stated that it contained no alcohol and I know that Jay wouldn't buy me something with alcohol in it, much like I wouldn't buy him something with beef tallow or gelatin, regardless of how much I try and convince him that I don't think that it's made from hooves anymore. We're more civilized than that...cutting of hooves and using them for jellybeans. It's just barbaric. There's synthetic everything else, why not this. Whatever. Different discussion.

CasCal makes this drink and it is dry and it is for adults. It tastes fermented and although I don't know who is into this thing, but it's there and it's nicely bottled which means that it's in demand. I was really excited when Jay gave this to me because I thought it was going to be some sort of carbonated, licorice infused apple juice. Instead, it tastes like old apple cider. I don't get any anise. Is it my untrained tongue? Possibly, but I know what anise tastes like and I didn't get any out of this. As the temperature increased to room temperature, I liked it more. It wasn't so...cold beer.

I wouldn't write CasCal off entirely as I'm sure they have other flavors that sound good and probably taste totally different. This one was simply not for me.

Website
http://cheerscascal.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 15th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Soda, Fine Dry, 4/11.2oz ( Value Bulk Multi-pack)

Pure Cool Pear Ginger-Ice

Pure Cool Pear Ginger-Ice

This should be something I love. Over the past year or so I've fallen in love with low sugar "dry" sodas. They provide the bubbles and the flavors that I need without being anything more than liquefied sweetener. The thing is I think that a very small amount of sugar may be needed when drinks are carbonated. I still don't understand it after 32 years on this planet; if you drink a glass of water it's cool refreshing and tasty (in a tasteless kind of way), but if you take that same water and carbonate it the flavor changes. It acquires this taste that is borderline bitter. Is it the CO2 that I taste? I can only assume it is, and it can ruin drinks for me. If that added taste wasn't there this drink would be perfect. It has a light pear taste and there is a nice mellow ginger aftertaste. This is the kind of drink that you could enjoy after a nice meal. It's just too bad that I can't get over the "seltzer water" taste it has. Seriously, if this were uncarbonated I would probably be raving about it. Dear taste buds, please start liking the taste of unsweetened carbonated water. There is a world of drinks out there that are way better for us that we are just not enjoying because of it.

Website
http://www.drinkpurecool.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Ginger, Sparkling, Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sandora Sadochok Tomato

Sandora Sadochok Tomato

Please, please, give me something to drink.

Excuse me?

I've been stuck in a desert for four days and need something. I'm dying over here. Give me something, anything.

Dude, I would love to but I just finished my water and all I have left is this half eaten can of Chef Boyardee spaghetti.

I'll take it, please. As I previously mentioned, I'm dying over here.

Alright, alright. Jeez. Here. I was going to eat it but you clearly are hungrier than me. You're also way more inconsiderate than me to approach me on my front porch asking for my unfinished lunch on this, the day of my daughters wedding.

Was that a line from the Godfather? Are you quoting Hollywood as I'm sitting here?

"Dying," I know, I know. Here, take it. I've got another can in the house. You can sit down if you'd like.

Thanks. I'll just drink this. Hey, this isn't that refreshing. I mean, I drank the whole thing, but it's not terribly quenching. Do you have anything else while you're in there?

Yeah. I've got a juice box from Sandora. Do you want that?

Sure, thanks. Oh, it even comes with a little straw. This is like elementary school. Oh, dude. What are you doing to me?! This tastes exactly like five minutes ago when I drank your spaghetti. Do you only keep things in the house that taste like spaghetti or tomatoes?

No, you just caught me when I was eating spaghetti and wanted to get rid of this foreign drink. You came to my house and then you took half my lunch. I don't owe you anything, dude.

I guess you're right friend. Well, in retrospect, I wish I had asked you for a glass of water. Drinking both of those things was stupid. I don't feel like I'm going to die and for that I thank you, but I wish that I had just asked for water. I feel like I couldn't have made a worse choice. Thanks, brother. I'll never forget you for saving my life.

You're welcome. If you'd like to come in and split this can of spaghetti with me, you can.

Stop eating spaghetti out of a can.

Website
http://sandora.ua
Country
Ukraine
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 16th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Polar Seltzer Cranberry Lime

Polar Seltzer Cranberry Lime

I'm here, at work, post Christmas, all alone. I'm surrounded by the soothing sounds of The Best Show Christmas Extravaganza. I am eating chocolate Teddy Grahams, because I am apparently eight. To inverse the ageism of that, I am drinking cough medicine disguised as cranberry lime seltzer water. It does not taste like cranberry or lime and somehow even has a Vicks tang to it. I don't know how it was done as they added water and natural flavors.

I do not have a cough nor do I want one. I do want to know how products like this make it past testing. I know what a cranberry tastes like and this isn't it. I even will go as far as saying that I know what cranberry lime tastes like together and this isn't it. I will say there is lime in there. I have concentrated and discovered lime much like Christopher Columbus laid claim to the pre-discovered land that is America.

I wish I hadn't eaten all of those Teddy Grahams. The eight year old in me wins again.

Website
http://www.polarbev.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 26th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Polar Seltzer Cranberry Lime Water 12 Ounce Cans ( Case 24)

Cascal Fermented Soda Ripe Rouge: Cherry, Rose & Chocolate

Cascal Fermented Soda Ripe Rouge: Cherry, Rose & Chocolate

Chocolate and cherries? A match made in heaven. Chocolate and most products is fantastic. Meat, fruit, probably some vegetables, more chocolate, bread...seriously. Chocolate rules. Cherries are great. They're no chocolate, but they're great. Who doesn't love that time of year where cherries aren't seventeen dollars a pound and you can enjoy their presence in your house until a week later where you have to create your own pyramid scheme to afford the little, red fruit?

I had high hopes for this drink because of the chocolate and cherry but when I noticed that rose was in there, I thought it was going to be like eating a cherry cordial out of a really old woman's blouse. Was I wrong? Unfortunately, I was not. You get cherry and an insufficient amount of chocolate but then a titch of fermented rose and that is a flavor that ruins the aforementioned delicious duo.

I can see this being enjoyed, but not by me, so much. It's like chocolate, cherry, rose, beer. If that sounds good for you, you, my friend, have a new favorite drink. In the meantime, I'm going to try and stop thinking of eating and drinking out of old lady's clothing. The things that go on underneath an eighty-seven year old woman's shirt is not for me.

Website
http://cheerscascal.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on January 11th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Cascal Ripe Rouge Soda ( 6/4/11.2 OZ)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |