No Sugar Added (720 reviews)

Love Grace Green Protein

Love Grace Green Protein

I’m now a day and a half into this juice cleanse and I shockingly feel fine energy-wise. By this point I really expected to just be curled up on the couch, miserable and not wanting to do anything. Instead I went for a couple hour walk to enjoy the brief stint of nice weather we’re having. I have been experiencing some on and off again headaches, but apparently that is normal. It is getting to the time of day when I eat dinner, and I can feel that in my stomach. Luckily it’s time for my protein smoothie of the day. Unlucky for me that smoothie contains banana, flax seed, kale, dates, spirulina, hempseed, chia seed, coconut oil, lemon, Himalayan sea salt and wheatgrass powder.

Now I eat a lot of kale in my day-to-day life and I love wheatgrass, but everything else in here are ingredients that I don’t really have a taste for. I expected this to be all banana, but it’s pretty bland and the majority of the flavor seems to come from the various seeds involved and the lemon. The banana is there more in scent than taste. It’s also super, super thick, almost to the level that I feel like I should eat it with a spoon. It’s thicker than applesauce, which I tend to drink for the record.

I got no pleasure from the taste of this smoothie, but I finished the whole bottle for the sake of my health and this cleanse. I would never in a million years drink this outside of a cleanse, but it’s not really something that you would come across in day-to-day life. Besides that healthy doesn’t always means it tastes good and sometimes you just have to bite the bullet. Also note that our rating on Thirsty Dudes is based on flavor and not functionality. It’s gets two for flavor, but it would get a five for health.

To this drinks benefit it definitely curbed my hunger a bit and for that I am grateful.

Website
http://lovegracefoods.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Smoothie
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bigelow Cinnamon Stick

Bigelow Cinnamon Stick

False advertising. I call shenanigans on this bag of tea. I might go as far as say that this tea is a liar and I don't use that phrase lightly. This smells like it would make a good tea but don't be fooled. This tea is the push-up bra of tea. You go in for a sip and it's almost bitter. I've had Bigelow stuff before and it's not bad. It's not high quality tea but I don't care. It's fine. I actually have an Earl Gray at home that I really like. This is just lipstick on a pig. It doesn't really taste anything like cinnamon and if I had to stretch it, which I will, it's as if you had a cup of black tea and put a cinnamon stick in it for a couple seconds. I'm sure that's where they get the name "cinnamon stick" from but they should have let that little buddy marinate for a little bit longer because if it did anything, it ruined everything.

Website
http://www.bigelowtea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 2nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bigelow Cinnamon Stick Tea, 20-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)

Coco Libre Pure Organic Coconut Water With Pineapple

Coco Libre Pure Organic Coconut Water With Pineapple

I just don’t know what happened here. There are only two ingredients that make up this beverage and one of them is Coco Libre’s original coconut water, which is delicious. The other is simply organic pineapple juice from concentrate. Now I just can’t see how pineapple juice could be bad. I’ve drunk it in all its forms and consistencies and I have been a fan of each and every one of them. For some reason though, when they were combined something went awry.

Now the pina colada is a well known drink that people all over the place love. I myself have been known to be a fan. If it weren’t for this knowledge that I possess I would assume that the problem with this drink was that pineapples and coconuts were simply not meant to mix. Science has proved that an inaccurate statement, so what went wrong?

The pineapple doesn’t really taste like pineapple in here. It has a sweet, fruity flavor, but it’s not quite pineapple. Also, the coconut has a weird oats and grains type aftertaste that I would assume has something to do with the shell. Overall it wasn’t enjoyable, nor refreshing. It just tasted like something was starting to spoil in the drink, even though it was well in the expiration time frame. Something is afoot in the world of paradise drinks.

Website
http://www.cocolibreorganic.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 18th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Coco Libre Pure Organic Coconut Water with Pineapple, 11 Ounce (Pack of 12)

Trader Joe's Cold Pressed Juice Green

Trader Joe's Cold Pressed Juice Green

Darren, what are you doing? I don't think that's how it works, man. You can't just not eat vegetables for a month and drink a green juice to try and facilitate your body's lack of proper vitamins and minerals. Can I have a sip? Bleh! I would rather eat vegetables every day like a normal person than drink a bottle of this. It just tastes like someone juiced up vegetables and is making you drink that. Do you remember when Sally had her jaw wired shut because of some jaw alignment issues and she didn't have anything to eat or drink for like two weeks? This would be perfect for her but you are an able bodied man and have the ability to actually eat food. Yeah, I know they claim there is an apple and lemon in there but they also claim to have seventeen kale leaves, one whole pound of spinach, and a handful of other stuff in there so one apple isn't quite cutting it.

Is something wrong with eating peas? You're in your late twenties and although you don't like to be reminded, you have to eat your vegetables, dude. There really isn't any way around that. This is not a solution to anyone's problem. Anyone who would drink this would already be eating vegetables and doesn't need to be binging on them anymore. Strange demographic Trader Joe's. Terrible choice Darren. Terrible choice.

Website
http://www.traderjoes.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 12th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Organic Gemini Horchata Bee Pollen

Organic Gemini Horchata Bee Pollen

I feel like "bee pollen" is something you could be wildly allergic to. I'm no doctor but just the thought of people being deadly allergic to bees and annoyingly allergic pollen doesn't sound like something that is going to push a lot of product.

Since I am not allergic to either of the aforementioned allergens I dove headfirst into the world of bee pollen. Now I love honey. I love it. Horchata, namely this brand of horchata has been a bit iffy because of its watery nature. All the same, I took a small, beginners sip and it wasn't half bad. You can taste the honey first followed by the strange, bland taste of the horchata. Now before you hit "Send" on the angry email you are writing to me, listen. This is what it is. If you're going to have a dairy-free, gluten free drink primarily based on something that, I'm pretty sure, is supposed to be gluten-full, you're going to have to make some changes. The change they made was adding a pretty fantastic, albeit short lived, honey flavor. Fine. I get it. It's healthy and there are no additional sugars or anything fake in. Credit where credit is due, this is a honey flavored, strangely viscous drink. I know Jay and I sound like broken records when we're reviewing these products but when you base product leaves a bit to be desired, you're going to have similar results in the end. You can also chalk this up to any of the following:


  • Different Strokes for different folks
  • It's not for everyone
  • Every rose has it's thorn
  • A rabbi and a nun walk into a bar
  • I want to say "Mason"

Website
http://www.organicgemini.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 4th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Coconut Cartel It's Just a Coconut

Coconut Cartel It's Just a Coconut

These days a handful of coconut water companies are moving away from the classic “heavy” can and tetra pak cartons towards more innovative packaging. I understand; anything that can make your product jump out more to consumers is a plus. Coconut Cartel has taken things too far though. This is not coconut water. This is simply a coconut with the companies name stamped/burnt into the shell.

I feel like someone has played a prank on me. When we were in talks with the company I say the pictures of the coconuts with the company logo on them, but I thought they were just being clever. When a box with three coconuts in it, and nothing else, showed up at my door I just laughed. Sure the liquid in the coconut was great, but this has officially taken the title of the most inconvenient beverage of all time. There’s no going to the fridge for a quick hydration. There’s a process that goes into opening a coconut, and it’s not pretty. I ended up using a drill to put holes in the shell, so I could pour it out. That was after many failed attempts with coconuts in my youth.

I really hope that this whole thing is some long term prank being played on me. I hope one of my friends created this website and then shipped me some coconuts, because the whole thing is laughable and I can’t imagine this company being sustainable by any means.

Website
http://www.thecoconutcartel.com/
Country
El Salvador
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 26th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Positive Energy Apple Juice

Positive Energy Apple Juice

There have been many reviews on this site where Mike or I have proclaimed that apple juice is one of the hardest drinks to write about. Unless it solely from a specialty apple, most apple juices taste pretty much the same, with various degrees of being watered down.

I can unfortunately say that this is not the case with Positive Energy. Sure it has a general apple base, but the addition of caffeine from green coffee beans leaves it tasting like the juice is going bad. We’ve been sent a jug of straight caffeine in the past, so I know what it tastes like all on its own, and I’m sad to say that the caffeine taste is stronger than the apple taste in this beverage. That is too bad because it only has the same amount of caffeine as one cup of coffee. The loss of flavor hardly seems worth it.

Website
http://www.drinkpositiveenergy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Energy Drink, Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 22nd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Positive Energy: Pure Juice + Natural Caffeine (Apple Juice + Natural Caffeine)

Zingiwell Java Turmeric Mixed Fruits

Zingiwell Java Turmeric Mixed Fruits

"They can't all be winners" is a perfect phrase for this drink. Based off the other ones that I reviewed, this is at the bottom of the totem pole. Also, I mean no offence to anyone who may find fault in my zero knowledge of totem poles. Are the best guys on top? I mean, I guess he's the most protected but he's also the guy who has to fall the furthest and would receive the most damage from falling. I guess no one wants to be the guy on the bottom because he's kind of an open target. Everyone else is on his shoulders and can't go very fast to defend the weapons that are slicing his innards up. But I digress.

Mixed fruits? Eh, it kind of tastes like a spicy candle. It's slightly plasticy tasting. Sure, it might be good for me but I don't get a lot of cheerful fruitiness out of it. According to the all-knowing label, it's got pineapple, grape and apple juice in it. That is a mixed variety of fruit but the turmeric is strong in this one. It does not taste like a spicy fruit punch but now that I think about it, I don't know if I would have wanted it.

I would be fine skipping this one for the other ones and I do not want to be anywhere near this guy's position wherever it may be on the proverbial totem pole. I feel like there are better roles than that in war.

Website
http://zingiwell.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Other/Weird
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 23rd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Positive Energy Cranberry Juice Cocktail

Positive Energy Cranberry Juice Cocktail

Cocktail is a loose term for juices. It has the main ingredient in it, but any other juice is also fair game. This cocktail includes white grape, apple, and dark cherry juices as well as the named cranberry. That’s a lot of different juices to combat for flavor, and yet the strongest flavor is the caffeine from green coffee beans. Next in line for top flavor would be the cherry and then the cranberry comes in third. There needs to be a way to disguise the taste of the caffeine better.

Website
http://www.drinkpositiveenergy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Energy Drink, Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 30th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Positive Energy: Pure Juice + Natural Caffeine (Cranberry Juice + Natural Caffeine)

Stewart's Shops Vichy

Stewart's Shops Vichy

Vichy is seltzer water with salt and bicarbonate of soda (baking soda) in it. It is weird and seemingly unnecessary. I assume you’re meant to drink it when you have an upset stomach. It just tastes wrong to me. It’s like something a child would concoct with various things in a kitchen, and it would be a failure. The end.

Website
http://www.stewartsshops.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Sparkling, Water
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 12th, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |