No Sugar Added (720 reviews)

Odwalla Superfood Original Superfood

Odwalla Superfood Original Superfood

After drinking those Genesis drinks, I was a bit frightened at the potential of this drink. I am not familiar with Odwalla and this was my first go with them. It was very thick and took me a good minute to get it thoroughly mixed up. After my arm was tired and I worked up a good, solid thirst, I took a good drink and it was surprisingly good. It was a good real apple taste, almost like a puree. There are a lot of other flavors there but apple it's the star player.

This would make me want to try other Odwalla drinks.

Website
http://www.odwalla.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Smoothie
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Metromint Lemon Mint

Metromint Lemon Mint

It's good. It's not the best, but it's good. I think that lemon in water is so commonplace that I'm almost not surprised that this exists. You drink it and you know that it's mint, but it's almost the equivalent of having constantly frigid water. Here's how to recreate this in a couple easy steps:

1. Get a glass.
2. Fill it to the brim with ice.
3. Fill the gaps in the ice with water.
4. Squeeze a fair amount of lemon up in there.
5. Wait a minute for the ice to do its thing.
6. Drink.

Sure, it's easier to buy this than to make it, but not much. Regardless, this wasn't a bad drink by any means and I think it's a good stepping-stone into the rest of their line. You could go this, to peppermint, to spearmint or orange, to cherry (still to be had by me) to chocolate because it might be the strangest but my favorite.

Someone follow my steps and let me know if you could re-work them any better. In the mean time, I'll be enjoying the tail end of this minty, lemony drink in solitude.

Website
http://www.metromint.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 1st, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Metromint Water, Lemonmint, 16.9-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Raspberry Lime

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Raspberry Lime

What ever happened to raspberries? I feel like some fruits are fads. Things like grapes and apples are a standard and will always be "there." Think about it, remember last year when everything had pomegranate in it? Good for pomegranate but it's not like something happened and all of a sudden they got good. People discovered antioxidants and all of a sudden this hidden gem is uncovered and everyone puts it in everything: chocolate, coffee, tea, candy, and so on and so forth. Blueberries, same thing. I feel like mango might be "it" right now.

"Problem" with these essence waters is that they have flavor, but sometimes it's hard to pinpoint what there are, especially if there is a mix. In the case of this drink you do get both raspberry and lime but you really have to study the drink. You have to swish it around, let it ruminate, swallow slowly, swallow quickly, and anything else you can think of. It's a good flavor and I think it's one of those "colder the better" drinks.

Everyone who tried it seemed to like it, which is good for Hint. Now if we, Thirsty Dudes, can only get the word out and make this company what they (probably) want to be; Commonplace, more popular, and in everyone's fridge. We're doing what we can, dudes. We're doing what we can.

Website
http://www.drinkhint.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 3rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hint Premium Essence Water, Raspberry-Lime, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

China Mist Organic Green Tea Lotus Pear

China Mist Organic Green Tea Lotus Pear

I don't like pears. Pears to me are just crappy apples. They're too hard, the taste is weak, and they look like apples and sometimes surprise me in things like fruit salad and regular salad.

That being said, I like this drink. I don't know what the taste of a lotus is, but I can tell you that this does taste vaguely of pears, but it's not bad. It gives you a nice, ultra-low, sweet/fruit taste, not unlike a real garbage pear. I personally like the taste it leaves you with. It's like a sweetish/tartish/bitterness taste. I would take a sip, swallow, and leave that strange lingering taste for a good thirty seconds to a minute before I would take another sip. It might be from the green tea, but it's a different bitterness that I'm not really used to and is hard to place.

All in all, it was a good drink. I didn't buy it so if it was up to me, I wouldn't have bought it because of my undying hatred for pears, but since it was in my possession, I'm happy that I took this nice voyage.

Website
http://www.chinamist.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 11th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Fizzy Lizzy Cranberry

Fizzy Lizzy Cranberry

I've had good luck with Fizzy Lizzy and bad luck with Fizzy Lizzy. This one, lucky for me, was good luck. I like the concept of Fizzy Lizzy drinks because they are all naturally sweetened, usually with apple juice, and it's just fruit and carbonated, filtered waters. For that reason, you get a very true taste to all drinks. I am not a huge fan of grapefruit, and that's why I didn't like the grapefruit drink they did. This cranberry drink, though, was pretty spot-on to a real cranberry. Cranberries, naturally bitter, are typically drenched in so much sugar that you can't taste the natural tinge of the fruit itself. Fizzy Lizzy wanted you to remember what a real cranberry tastes like and that's what they give you. This drink is bitter. Bittersweet? I never understood that taste. I guess it's just a concatenated way of saying "Oh, it's bitter and sweet."

I liked it and would get another one. I didn't feel like my teeth were rotting out and everyone at the table I shared it with liked it. It starts off bitter but leaves a nice sweet, fruit aftertaste.

Website
http://www.fizzylizzy.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 24th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Taste Nirvana Real Coco Aloe

Taste Nirvana Real Coco Aloe

In the past, I have not been the biggest fan of coconut water. It just tasted too plain to me, and wasn't as refreshing as others thought it was. I was just introduced to the world of aloe drinks, so I've been trying to explore them more. When I came across this drink today, I thought it would be a great way to give coconut water a second chance.

Well, I still don't like coconut water. Which really sucks because it's good for you and tastes really refreshing. But there's something about the taste that I can't enjoy. The good news is that I enjoy coconut water much more with chunks of aloe vera in it. I'd probably like this drink more if it was flavored.

I am a big fan of drinks that have very little ingredients, and this definitely meets that criteria: coconut water, aloe vera, and fiber.

Website
http://www.tastenirvana.com/
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Aloe Vera, Chunky
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on January 20th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Taste Nirvana, Juice Coco Aloe Real, 9.5 FO (Pack of 12)

Smart Juice Organic Fig

Smart Juice Organic Fig

Friends. Ladies. Do you know what is absolutely awful for you? Fig Newtons. I don't know why because I don't think I've ever read the label and I certainly don't work in the factory at night, moonlighting as a janitor only to steal industry secrets.

As rad as that would be, except that every secret spy knows that if they take the job of a janitor, even for one day, they will at some point in their mission have to clean the ladies bathroom which, as we all know, is much worse than the men's bathroom.

This has a peculiar taste. Not bad, just different. I'm not familiar with figs outside of their delicious casing. It's almost like a black current or perhaps a red grape. It's not bitter but it is a sipping juice.

Next time you are doing espionage work at the Fig Newton factory, stop in to the juicer room where I assume they juice real figs to use down the line, and steal a sip.

Website
http://www.smartjuice.us
Country
Turkey
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Smart Juice Organic Fig Juice, Pure, Fresh Pressed, 33.8 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 6)

Goya Coctail

Goya Coctail

Summer is a great time. Every year I wait for the three weeks a year where it's nice out. It seems that every day someone is having a barbecue or a backyard party or something. People who live in a tropical climate don't know what it's like. They live with it all of the time and don't have anything to look forward to. Summer vacation was the greatest time, every time, because it's so cold for so long. How long do I have to wear gloves and two jackets? Seriously. It's getting ridiculous. Summer is the time for fresh vegetables, fruits, and fish.

I would love to use the word "embodiment", but I feel that might be a bit excessive. It also might just be plain wrong, but this is my review and I can do what I want.

V8...I love it. Now that they have low sodium V8, everyone doesn't have a reason to crack open a can and get some vegetables. It's like a salad without all of the work. This drink is like a spicier, seafoodier V8. Yeah, dude, there's clam "extract" in there. I trust that doesn't mean poop, but what do I know? I feel like the FDA wouldn't approve of American's drinking poop. It's just the smallest bit clammy. Enough that it's recognizable, but also just enough where you don't want to throw up because someone tricked you into drinking clam juice instead of a Mountain Dew.

Website
http://goya.com
Country
Guatemala
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Other/Weird
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 14th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Orange

True Brew Orange

Orange juice is hard to review. Apple juice is also hard, perhaps harder than OJ. True Brew has been a pretty stellar company from the drinks that we've reviewed. When they were nice enough to let us sample some product, they also sent over these baby-sized bottles. I enjoy putting things into perspective by putting pennies next to things. Regardless of size, even buildings are put to scale properly next to a penny. So this little guy was good. Accompanied with two, count 'em, two McDonald's breakfast burritos. This orange juice was a good sidekick. It had a good, natural orange taste and wasn't artificial tasting. Also, with no additives, this OJ is about as pure as it can get.

Those boys in Texas can do juice, too? Everyone else should watch out.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Watermelon

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Watermelon

I gave my mom first sip, she said that it was just water. I made her try it again, and she said that it's like they forgot to put the flavor in. I gave it to my dad and he said that it was weak. I tried it and they were both right. Yes, it does taste like watermelon, yes it is weak, but it's different than the rest of the Hint stuff I've had. This drink is like Fibonacci sequence of drinks. The more you drink it, the more it tastes like watermelon. Once you stop, it gets back to square one. If you drank the whole thing, gluttonously and irresponsibly, in one chug fest of a drink session, it would probably be like eating a really wet watermelon.

This is good. It's refreshing, but if you're looking for a juice, this isn't it. If you want water with a little tiny bit of taste this is for you. If you like lemon water but are sick of always drinking the same thing, try this on for size, why don't you.

Website
http://www.drinkhint.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hint Premium Essence Water, Watermelon, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)
| 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 |