Stevia (41 reviews)

Kyk Pure Energy

Kyk Pure Energy

When I got this pouch, I figured it was an all in one drink mix so I filled up my water bottle, poured this in, and mixed it around a little. Then I took a sip and couldn't believe how bad it tasted. It didn't taste like much, but it tasted like bad water. Then it hit me: you're supposed to add this to an already flavored drink. I'm an idiot.

So basically, this is to give your drink a kick of energy (hence the name of the company). Speaking of the name of this company, they might want to consider changing it since people might mispronounce it as a racial slur.

This is a weird sub-section of drinks, because it's impossible to fairly judge it on it's taste because it's not meant to be consumed on it's own. As far as function goes, it's great! I was feeling sleepy and now I’m totally awake after drinking half of it.

Website
http://kykenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 28th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Pure Kyk Energy - 50 Count Box

Welch's Fruit Fizz White Grape Pulse

Welch's Fruit Fizz White Grape Pulse

I would like to congratulate Johnson on his promotion. To thank him for his twenty-five years of great service, I am hereby awarding him with this four pack of Welch's Fruit Fizz. I'm sorry, Sally. What did you say? What do you mean "A jip?" Have you ever had this, Sally? Look, most guys celebrate with a bottle of champagne, but here at Cornucopia Inc., we don't drink on the job. This is like four little cans of non-alcoholic champagne that he can enjoy for almost a full workweek. That means that for almost every lunch he eats at the Cornucopia Lounge, our cafeteria, he can taste a rather delicious non-alcoholic champagne and celebrate his quarter century dedication to putting things in a wicker basket, thing. Do you know how many oranges he had to put in that wicker horn to get to where he is today? Do you know how much non-racist Indian corn he had to put in that thing to make it as far as he did? No, Sally. You don't. Now, he can go on his merry way and drink a low-calorie, celebratory drink twice a day for two days.

Oh, it was that I only got him that which you are upset about? Sally, I'm no savage. I got him a $25 gift card to Applebee's, too. One dollar for every year, like I always do for all my employees. Play your cards right and you'll be getting your $3 gift card this July.

Website
http://www.welchs.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 12th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dream Water Snoozeberry

Dream Water Snoozeberry

Do you want a night of completely mundane dreams? Well then I have the water for you. I drank this last night and I dreamt that I was at the grocery store checking all the drinks against the list on my phone to see if we had reviewed it. You know, like how I spend most of my days. Then when I cashed out there was a problem with my card and a manager got called over. He then yelled at the cashier, whom I stuck up for and a shouting match ensued. Completely boring.

The thing is that you don’t drink these to have insane crazy dreams. You drink them to sleep, and it performed that function perfectly. I tossed and turned for an hour last night. It was obviously that I wasn’t getting any closer to Slumberland on my own. I needed help from a bottle. Within 15 minutes of slamming this down my gullet I was out cold.

The drink was also surprisingly not gross. As we’ve stated dozens of times drinks that come in shot forms are gross by nature. This on the other hand tastes like a flavor of Vitamin Water Zero. It’s pomegranate and blueberry flavored, and it doesn’t taste chemical at all. It tastes like flavored water, and it doesn’t even taste concentrated. I like it as a drink, and I love it as a sleep aid. This is a win-win for everyone except my dreams.

Website
http://www.drinkdreamwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Snoozeberry Sleep Shot 2.5 Ounce 6 Pack

Dream Water Pineapple PM

Dream Water Pineapple PM

So I'm in Vegas for my sister's wedding. We spent three flights that were all delayed and took way, way too long. We thought we had missed our last connecting flight, because the one before it was late landing. We had to book it through the airport and made it to the terminal just in time. Once we finally made it to Vegas it took forever to get off our flight. When we made it to the car rental they said they were out of the cars we wanted, so they upgraded us to a Mustang convertible. For most people that would be awesome, but we are driving 5 hours to the Grand Canyon, and there is very little room in the car. Annoyances abound.

Finally we made it to our hotel, and they told us the only nonsmoking room they have left is right over where the bands play. I said whatever I just needed sleep. We dragged our bags to the room to find out that not only did they forget to turn on the air conditioning, so the room was a million degrees, but the band they spoke of was actually a DJ party that goes on until 4am with constant terrible beats. It was so damn loud.

I was so unbelievably tired, but due to the heat and the noise, I just couldn't fall asleep. I will be eternally grateful that I had packed this sleep shot, and not drank it for the plane (and read comics instead). I downed it, and I don't remember much after that until I awoke at 9am to a freezing room. The air conditioning decided to work properly. That is what I talk about a functional product. It has a diet pineapple sports drink flavor to it. It doesn't taste like poison, so I was thankful for that. It was light, with a decent flavor and after downing a shot I was out. Thank you Dream Water.

ps. We switched rooms in the morning after someone else checked out. Things may turn out okay after all.

Website
http://www.drinkdreamwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 13th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Green Fit Tropical Citrus

Green Fit Tropical Citrus

There are tens of thousands of drinks available throughout the world to drink for pleasure. We drink them everyday and most of the time and think nothing of it. Then there is the class of drinks that you drink for function. They are the drinks that you more than likely would never drink unless it was for a specific purpose. Energy drinks fall under this category, as do health shakes and protein drinks. They are formatted to serve a specific purpose, and because of that the taste generally suffers. Green Fit has created a drink that combines six different functional beverages into one; protein, energy, fiber, antioxidants, electrolytes and green superfoods. One would think that by combining six different types of drinks (who generally aren’t all that tasty on their own) that the result would be total swill. While it’s not my favorite thing in the world, and I wouldn’t grab one for enjoyment, they were able to make a very palatable, very functional drink.

The drink has a citrus taste that masks most of the grossness that the ingredients would normally bring on. We’re talking about whey protein, guarana extract, flax oil, spirulina extract, chlorella extract, fenugreek extract, and konjac. That’s some pretty gross tasting stuff on it’s own. The drink also isn’t as thick as you would expect it to be. It has the consistency that falls somewhere between Vitamin Water and 100% juice. They also use stevia to sweeten it, and mask the flavor so it has that coolness to it. If they had added a little more orange juice, and ditched the stevia, this could be down right nice, but even though they didn’t it is still passable and one of the better tasting functional beverages that I have tried.

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 17th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
GREENFIT GREEN FIT Tropical Citrus- Case of 12 bottles, 12 ounces each (Total of 144 ounces)

iChill Relaxation Shot

iChill Relaxation Shot

Things got real weird in my brain last night. I’m not one to subscribe to the preaching of the apocalypse, but for some reason as I lay in bed, trying to fall asleep I started to wonder if all this jazz about the Mayan calendar was correct, and that the world was going to end in a couple of weeks. It started off with me thinking that everything was going to end in one big shebang, like the sun was going to collide with the Earth and everyone and everything would die instantaneously. At this point I just tried to get everything in order in my mind of where I wanted to be, and with who (aka the woods with my close family and friends). I thought I was okay with that, but then my pre-sleep mind started to think about what would happen if there was disaster everyone, but I still lived. I instantly wrote off zombies, and thought more of a The Road type scenario. I was trying to figure out everything I would have to get together and where I’d go when I decided that I was an idiot and I really needed to get to sleep, so I reached into my nightstand and pulled out this bad boy. It certainly helped calm my brain down, and made it do normal brain things like sleep when it’s 3am and you have to be up in six hours. Thank goodness for melatonin, valerian root and rose hips.

Oh you want to know what it tastes like? Well it starts with a berry flavor, that is heavy on the blueberry side of things, and then it takes a quick turn that reminds me of iced teas that I have gotten at Asian markets that have licorice root in them. It doesn’t taste like black jellybeans, but it tastes like a natural tea, or chewing on a switch from a licorice tree. So we have a decent flavor and no worries about the end of the world…I feel fine.

Website
http://www.ichill.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 5th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
iChill Relaxation Shot 12 x 2 Oz Shots

Green Fit Pomegranate

Green Fit Pomegranate

If pomegranates were my kryptonite this drink would surely be my doom. While I hate that I just made a Superman reference (a cheater if I ever saw one) I could think of no metaphor that would be more fitting. There are tons of “weird” ingredients in here, but the pomegranate sneaks up and just punches you square in the nose. Oh good now I have blood all over my shirt. Oh wait, that’s just pomegranate juice, because I dribble when I drink like a baby. Either way that’s never coming out…great.

This is strong, tart and functional. It has a lot of what you need to get through the day in a healthy manner. Sure I could do without the stevia, but the pomegranate is so strong that it buries it a bit. You know I could actually see myself drinking this for pleasure, which is not a common thing with these types of drinks. It really just tastes like a strong juice with a little something extra that doesn’t bother me all that much. Huh. Who’d have thought?

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 31st, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
GREENFIT Pomegranate- Case of 12 bottles, 12 ounces (Total of 144 ounces)

Green Fit Dragonfruit

Green Fit Dragonfruit

If you looked at me, you would say, "There is a kid who doesn't work out." I'm not fat, or even flabby, but I'm not terribly in shape. It's not for lack of trying. I ride my bike and have had multiple gym memberships. I just can never find the time. You know what I'm talking about. It's just such a hassle to go to work, come home, eat, change, go to the gym, get sweaty, come home, shower. Whatever. That's nonsense. I'll just eat less so I don't have to deal with that garbage.

I don't understand the whole carb up before or after and sugar now and not then and this is when you add protein and whatever. That whole rigamaroll. For this reason, you don't see me drinking a lot of protein drinks. That's half the reason why. The other half reason is because they can be chalky, tangy, and all sorts of terrible stuff. This drink is trying to not be but still can't shake the crud factory that is it's inevitable adulthood as a protein drink.

Initially you have the promise of something good. You get a good fruit flavor but before you have time to discover what it is your taste buds are quickly rinsed by an over abundance of Stevia. After your mouth recovers from that, it's that familiar taste of protein drinks; the slightly thick, gritty, odd taste. There is also yerba mate as an ingredient, which provides you with a bit of bitterness that might actually salvage some of the good, drinkable flavor that this drink has.

If you are familiar with protein drinks, this may be good. I think that less Stevia might save this drink at least a little bit. You can't win them all. If the guy who works at Subway has taught me anything it's that "no one's battin' 1000."

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 8th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Green Fit Lime Coconut

Green Fit Lime Coconut

The rest of the Green Fit beverages have had a fairly mediocre taste. Since they are functional beverages that places them on the better end of the spectrum. This is the flavor I was least looking forward to. Look, I’ve come around on coconut water. I don’t think it’s the devil’s spit anymore, but it’s not my favorite, and coconut flavored things tend to be on the toasted side of things and I still cannot get down with that. Luckily they went heavy on the lime in this and the coconut is along the lines of coconut water.

The combination of the lime and the whey protein makes this taste more than a bit like key lime pie, well a light liquid version of it. The stevia is the only thing that detracts from that, but in a drink like this, you’re not going to use regular sugar, so stevia was definitely the best possible choice. I think lime may be the secret to protein drinks. It makes the strange quasi-dairy taste seem appropriate and not just something you have to power through. It’s always odd when the thing you fear becomes your favorite out of the bunch, but that is what we have here.

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Vuka Zo-Cal Zero Calorie Think Pomegranate Lychee

Vuka Zo-Cal Zero Calorie Think Pomegranate Lychee

A great thing about Vuka is that they specifically formulate their different energy drinks for different activities. They know that if you’re staying up for an all night study marathon, you don’t need a bunch of taurine or other chemical garbage junking up your drink giving you the jitters. You want to stay awake and to be able to concentrate at the same time. For this Think variety they use natural caffeine, gingko biloba, panax ginseng, same bitartrate as well as niacin and B-vitamins. Their other flavors use different ingredients and it certainly shows. The Renew Mango Peach gave me crazy energy and a bit of the old jitters, but with this one I don’t feel insane at all. I just feel alert, and it’s helped me get through a bunch of things I was not looking forward to on my to-do list.

The functional side of this energy drink is absolutely perfect. Unfortunately the flavor side of it doesn’t come through as much. I’m all for stevia being used as a natural zero calorie sweetener, but from the taste of this it seems like they went overboard with it. It’s like whoever was adding it to the batch got distracted by a dirty joke and accidentally dumped too much in whilst laughing. It’s supposed to be pomegranate lychee flavored, but the pom flavor is very mild and I don’t really get any of the old lady flavors of lychee in here at all. Mostly it’s just the cold taste of stevia. I will say that the more I drank the less I thought it was gross, but it’s certainly not my favorite tasting thing by any means. I would drink it again and power through the flavor to get the functionality out of it though.

Website
http://www.vuka.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Sparkling, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 17th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |