Stevia (41 reviews)

Oggu Low Cal Sparkling Cola

Oggu Low Cal Sparkling Cola

We were privileged to be given an advance taste of this drink. Apparently Europe has not allowed companies to have drinks on the market with stevia in them yet so they sent us a bottle of it without the label. This is the same Oggu 100% Organic Cola we have already reviewed, but sweetened with stevia. I loved the original so I was excited to try this low calorie version.

My thoughts are as follows: it's good, but not as good as the original version. It has the same complexity as the one sweetened with cane sugar, which is great. The stevia is throwing me off though. It's not as bad as most diet drinks, but I've definitely had ones that mask the stevia taste better. If Oggu is trying to be a competitor to drinks like diet coke and diet Pepsi, they will win hands down! But, this isn't as good as the cane sugar version of their delicious cola.

Website
http://www.oggu.com/
Country
Netherlands
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on October 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Green Fit Tropical Citrus

Green Fit Tropical Citrus

There are tens of thousands of drinks available throughout the world to drink for pleasure. We drink them everyday and most of the time and think nothing of it. Then there is the class of drinks that you drink for function. They are the drinks that you more than likely would never drink unless it was for a specific purpose. Energy drinks fall under this category, as do health shakes and protein drinks. They are formatted to serve a specific purpose, and because of that the taste generally suffers. Green Fit has created a drink that combines six different functional beverages into one; protein, energy, fiber, antioxidants, electrolytes and green superfoods. One would think that by combining six different types of drinks (who generally aren’t all that tasty on their own) that the result would be total swill. While it’s not my favorite thing in the world, and I wouldn’t grab one for enjoyment, they were able to make a very palatable, very functional drink.

The drink has a citrus taste that masks most of the grossness that the ingredients would normally bring on. We’re talking about whey protein, guarana extract, flax oil, spirulina extract, chlorella extract, fenugreek extract, and konjac. That’s some pretty gross tasting stuff on it’s own. The drink also isn’t as thick as you would expect it to be. It has the consistency that falls somewhere between Vitamin Water and 100% juice. They also use stevia to sweeten it, and mask the flavor so it has that coolness to it. If they had added a little more orange juice, and ditched the stevia, this could be down right nice, but even though they didn’t it is still passable and one of the better tasting functional beverages that I have tried.

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 17th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
GREENFIT GREEN FIT Tropical Citrus- Case of 12 bottles, 12 ounces each (Total of 144 ounces)

Green Fit Pomegranate

Green Fit Pomegranate

If pomegranates were my kryptonite this drink would surely be my doom. While I hate that I just made a Superman reference (a cheater if I ever saw one) I could think of no metaphor that would be more fitting. There are tons of “weird” ingredients in here, but the pomegranate sneaks up and just punches you square in the nose. Oh good now I have blood all over my shirt. Oh wait, that’s just pomegranate juice, because I dribble when I drink like a baby. Either way that’s never coming out…great.

This is strong, tart and functional. It has a lot of what you need to get through the day in a healthy manner. Sure I could do without the stevia, but the pomegranate is so strong that it buries it a bit. You know I could actually see myself drinking this for pleasure, which is not a common thing with these types of drinks. It really just tastes like a strong juice with a little something extra that doesn’t bother me all that much. Huh. Who’d have thought?

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 31st, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
GREENFIT Pomegranate- Case of 12 bottles, 12 ounces (Total of 144 ounces)

Vuka Zo-Cal Zero Calorie Think Pomegranate Lychee

Vuka Zo-Cal Zero Calorie Think Pomegranate Lychee

A great thing about Vuka is that they specifically formulate their different energy drinks for different activities. They know that if you’re staying up for an all night study marathon, you don’t need a bunch of taurine or other chemical garbage junking up your drink giving you the jitters. You want to stay awake and to be able to concentrate at the same time. For this Think variety they use natural caffeine, gingko biloba, panax ginseng, same bitartrate as well as niacin and B-vitamins. Their other flavors use different ingredients and it certainly shows. The Renew Mango Peach gave me crazy energy and a bit of the old jitters, but with this one I don’t feel insane at all. I just feel alert, and it’s helped me get through a bunch of things I was not looking forward to on my to-do list.

The functional side of this energy drink is absolutely perfect. Unfortunately the flavor side of it doesn’t come through as much. I’m all for stevia being used as a natural zero calorie sweetener, but from the taste of this it seems like they went overboard with it. It’s like whoever was adding it to the batch got distracted by a dirty joke and accidentally dumped too much in whilst laughing. It’s supposed to be pomegranate lychee flavored, but the pom flavor is very mild and I don’t really get any of the old lady flavors of lychee in here at all. Mostly it’s just the cold taste of stevia. I will say that the more I drank the less I thought it was gross, but it’s certainly not my favorite tasting thing by any means. I would drink it again and power through the flavor to get the functionality out of it though.

Website
http://www.vuka.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Sparkling, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 17th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Lemon Peach Lemonade

True Lemon Peach Lemonade

I assume Georgia gets sick of being synonymous with peaches. Like Salem and witches, these places have more to offer than being a one trick pony? Now that we're on this horse segue, when have you seen a horse do more than one trick that it's derogatory to be known as a "one trick pony?" Horses run; not a trick, and they jump over fences; trick. A horse that is a one trick pony can now be just labeled as a horse. Backtrack...

Salem had witch trials in the late 1600's. We're four centuries past that and although they milk it, there are other people that live and work there that have other things to do that constantly carve pumpkins, affix faux moles, and practice their shrill laughs.

Salem; check. Horse talk; check. Alright, back to peaches. Peaches are fine. I don't like them but I don't hate them. There are just some foods that I don't eat for no reason other than I don't want to. Furry fruit is one of them. Look, they taste fine. I don't eat them. The thought of a peach lemonade entices me, though. I made myself a glass of this and slammed the whole thing. No problems there. What did I think? Well that's why we're all here, right? At the edges of our seats awaiting my very important review of a powdered peach lemonade. I shall serve you your main course of review right now. Please be seated.

This was the first time since I've been on a True Citrus kick that the Stevia was overpowering. It wasn't too much that it was undrinkable but it was distracting. The peach flavor was good albeit a bit "candied" for my taste. The lemonadidity (not a real word...yet) was about a five out of ten. Between the candy peach and the non-traditional sweetener of the lemonade, this took a turn for the unfortunate "average" column. A couple strikes will do that to you. Baseball strikes. A couple bowling strikes would put you on top of the world. That phrase simply wouldn't work if I was referencing bowling. I don't know much about sports but that I know. Strikes in baseball is bad. Strikes in bowling is good.

Website
http://www.truelemon.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Lemonade, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 29th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
True Lemon Lemonade Stick Pack, Peach, 10 Count

True Orange Mango Orange

True Orange Mango Orange

If I had endless amounts of money, or even a handful of expendable income, I would try to recreate this drink using some classic science. Here is what I would do:

Step 1: Get a dozen oranges and a dozen mangoes.
Step 2: Court a lovely chemist.
Step 3: Gain the chemist's trust.
Step 4: Convince the gorgeous chemist to let me have a bucket of liquid nitrogen, "You know. For science."
Step 5: Put all the oranges and mangoes in a bowl.
Step 6: Pour the liquid nitrogen into the bowl to instantly freeze the fruit.
Step 7: Smash up the fruit using something like a hammer or a clean shoe.
Step 8: Put the fruit dust into a bottle with water.
Step 9: Put a pack or two of Stevia into the bottle.
Step 10: Stir and drink.
Step 11: Get broken up with because that was not "for science" and I am a "liar."
Step 12: Shrug it off.

Until then, I will have to just buy this like some sort of civilian. I have no problem with that since this isn't half bad. It's a Stevia sweetened mango and orange juice. It cannot be reviewed any differently than that. It is pretty truthful to it's fruit roots. Fruit root. That's fun. This, science aside, is a good drink. I've had two or three of them myself and might be slightly disappointed when they are all gone. That might be the most significant part of the review. It's that good. Fruity and not overwhelmingly Stevia'd. Fruity rooted.

Website
http://www.truelemon.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 2nd, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
True Orange Stick Pack, Mango, 10 Count

Madrat Elixr Tropical Berry

Madrat Elixr Tropical Berry

I don’t know what they were working on at the National Institute of Mental Health, but things seem to have gone awry. The scientists there were using rats as test subjects, but something happened and the rodents gained incredible intelligence. Before long they were performing their own experiments while the humans were away. Led by their leader, the newly proclaimed “professor” Jonathan Frisby, the rats developed a powder that would make them stronger and even more intelligent. It works by improving mental clarity while being full of anti-oxidants. There was no sugar in it, and most importantly for the little fuzzballs, it supported joint health.

The rats had nearly perfected their formula then disaster struck. The humans came in to make up hours on the weekend. The rats scurried back into their cages, but they did not have time to collect their formula and the scientists discovered it. They assumed it was something another team was working on and for some reason ingested some, because you know that is what you do in a laboratory where you test things on rats. They discovered that when mixed in water the powder had a berry flavor that kind of also tasted like grape. One of the scientists boldly stated that he could taste the stevia in it, and it was goon to see that nothing artificial was used in its creation. They agreed that it was pretty strong, even when watered down a lot. Also, one of them pointed out that it didn’t really dissolve well in the water. No matter how much they stirred it some of the powder congealed into a sludge like substance at the bottom of the glass. When they tasted it, it was like an intense diet Pixie Stix. Since there was no label on it to denote what team created it they decided to steal it for their own and sell it as a energy drink mix that had additional health benefits.

Man, were those rats pissed. Some would say they were mad…ehhh? While they wallowed in their defeat two of the smaller rats conferred in a corner. When one asked what they were going to do now, the other responded with “The same thing we do every night, Pinky – try to take over the world.” Several animated classics were based on these real life events. Sadly all of the rats diet due to other experiments and their famines received no royalties.

Website
http://www.madrat.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 15th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Spree Sparkling Water Lemon Strawberry

Spree Sparkling Water Lemon Strawberry

Marco was a child who could stand to lose a few pounds. His life was spent watching television and playing video games. In fact the only times he left the house were when his mom forced him to go to school and on Fridays aka allowance day, when he would take his weekly pay for nothing and head to the corner store to stock up on candy. It was the happiest day of the week for Marco. Not only was he free from school for two days but also his sugar intake would soar.

There was no doubt about it; Marco was a Wonka man. Nearly all of his money went to buy that company’s confectionaries. This past allowance day, Marco waddled down to the corner store and was decided what candies to buy this week when a display caught his eye. Spree sparkling water? Could it be that Mr Wonka had expanded his line and made a liquid version of one of Marco’s favorite treats? He quickly grabbed a pile of Nerds, Laffy Taffy and Runts before he grabbed a bottle of Lemon Strawberry Spree. He was so excited that he dropped his change all over the counter. After the monetary exchange was complete he ran out side, sat on the curb and twisted open the cap. This…was…not…what…he…expected…at…all. The contents of the bottle did not taste like liquefied candy at all. It was nice and bubbly, but it had a weird taste, that was almost diet but not like the diet pop his mom chugged all the time.

He was a bit disappointed, but since he had limited income he didn’t want to waste his purchase, so he kept sipping on it during his walk home. Somewhere around the 3rd or 4th sip he realized that he didn’t mind the diet taste, which he learned was called stevia. Actually he was kind of getting into the drink. Sure it wasn’t candy-like, but it was sweet in it’s own way, and not as thick as the sodas he was used to drinking. The dietness of it ran most of the flavor, but underneath that was a bit of a strawberry lemonade flavoring.

By the time he got home the bottle was empty, and Marco didn’t feel cheated by his purchase. This was something he enjoyed that he could get his mom to buy because he could convince her it was healthy. Now if he could just convince her that his MMO games were good for him as well, and that school was evil, all would be right in the world.

Website
http://spreesparklingwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 28th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Brew Pink Lemonade

True Brew Pink Lemonade

Pink lemonade on a day like today would make a normal man jump with glee. Me? No. This lemonade is not at all fantastic. It tastes fake and although it did taste like pink lemonade, pink lemonade it was not.

So what do we like. Let's make a compliment sandwich out of it. We like that it smells like pink lemonade. We do not like the way that the Stevia cuts through the one time fantastic flavor with a super sweet knife made of super sweet sugar. We do like that, for a limited time, you can treat your taste buds to a decent pink lemonade any time you want before the lies rush over your tongue like a tidal wave of garbage. It's not that bad, but it's not great.

Website
http://www.truebrew.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 2nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Iconic Healthy Lifestyle Beverage Chocolate Truffle

Iconic Healthy Lifestyle Beverage Chocolate Truffle

Rarely on the side of never do I drink "meal replacement" drinks as such but today I did not eat breakfast, the most important meal of the day, so I did not have a choice. First thing I noticed, and this could just be me, is that this was a leaky drink. So leaky. The package was constantly leaking from the cap. Don't let that sway you from getting it. Let my review sway you from buying it.

This was completely laced with Stevia. It was so sharp. Calming down on that and letting some of the chocolate shine through would probably do wonders to this drink. It was thin, so do not expect a shake. It was closer to a thin chocolate milk. Or if you made chocolate milk with skim milk or some other poor life choice.

What would I do to fix this? Number one? Real sugar. I know it would increase the calorie count but it wouldn't leave me with a taste on the tip of my tongue. Look, I drank the whole thing. It wasn't terrible but it was kind of thin and overly fake.

Website
http://drinkiconic.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 9th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
ICONIC Healthy Lifestyle Beverage, Ready-to-Drink, Chocolate Truffle, 11oz (Pack of 12)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |