Stevia (41 reviews)

Arteasan Green Tea Passion Fruit Elderberry Peppermint

Arteasan Green Tea Passion Fruit Elderberry Peppermint

Dear Readers,
I have to be honest with you, I am sick to death of stevia. Yes, I know it’s the healthier zero-calorie sweetener, but a majority of the time it is in a beverage it becomes 60% of the flavor. I’m all for less sugar and calories, but I would rather forgo a sweetener altogether than have to taste this nonsense all the time. It’s been a big part of the slowdown of Thirst Dudes (at least on my end). Almost every time I come across a new beverage that looks like it would be great, the S sweetener is listed in the ingredients. It becomes a heavy task to try to ignore the flavor and write a proper review for beverages.

This drink really jumped out at me though. Passion fruit is a definitely weakness for me, and elderberry is nothing to slouch at either. I just had to take the chance. Did it pay off? Well, not totally, but more than I expected. The stevia makes up maybe 35% of the flavor instead of the expected 60%. The fruit flavors are on the lighter side, as I believe they should be when they are just flavoring a tea. Sometimes I wonder why companies make teas instead of “juice drinks” when they go overboard with the flavoring and you can’t even make out the tea. This is a green tea at its heart with some flavoring added to enhance it. I really don’t taste peppermint at all, but I’m fine with that. Really, if it weren’t for the stevia and they had just left this unsweetened I would have given it 5 bottles and raved about it. Unfortunately, all of the wonderful natural flavor gets muddled into a diet aftertaste. Who wants that?

Website
http://arteasan.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on January 4th, 2019
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Every day when I go to work I have to walk past a coffee shop. I do not like coffee, but I do enjoy the smell. It's not one of those "Oh, it brings back so many memories." things, it just smells good to me. I don't want to turn into one of those kids that are way too young to be hooked on the stuff, though. I despise people who say "Oh, I need my coffee," or "I had like 6 cups of coffee today," or the classic "Don't get me wrong, it's not like I haven't had coffee in years and am, for some reason, holding a grudge. I try a sip here and there and it just never gets me.

Here's where I feel I can blend in with society. This Bai stuff has been nothing but incredible. The fruit of the coffee bean can be used to add antioxidants to juice, tons of them according to a (probably biased) scale on the side of the bottle. This dragonfruit flavor is no exception. The Stevia does a good job of not masking the flavor and the flavor itself is a nice, fruity flavor.

I don't see myself drinking coffee in the near or far future, but I do see myself drinking Bai for many years to come. Does that mean that I am going to go into coffee shops with a couple bottles of it, pull out my laptop and work for 8 hours while people are standing next to me awaiting seats in the worst laid out establishment ever? Absolutely not! You can have your seat, addicts.

Website
http://www.drinkbai.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Coffee, Diet, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Activate Immunity Orange

Activate Immunity Orange

More drinks should be interactive. Ramune is the perfect example of a fun, interactive drink. It's so fun to knock that marble down into the drink. This is equally fun. Twisting the top orange part and letting the powder fall into the drink, helplessly, like someone pulled the ground from under it. It's actually pretty incredible how dark this drink gets with how little powder actually goes into it. Also, I did say powder, but they did an awesome job of formulating it so that it doesn't have that gritty, "too much powder" taste like you are drinking half juice and half sandy juice. It tastes like if you mixed orange Flintstone vitamins and Tang, two things that remind me of childhood. If I had this as a child, I could cross two things off my list. A multitasker. This drink is good and good for you. It's cliché, I know, but it's true.

It reminds me of some James Bond poisoning technique, a bit. Obviously not orange because Mr. Bond would be hip to whatever Goldfinger is trying to do to him. If he, or probably Oddjob, would use something similar to those clear fiber powders, but mixed it with a truth serum/powder, all would be lost. You and I would be living in a gold-free environment. Fort Knox would be Goldfinger's because James Bond was thirsty.

Buy it for yourself, buy it for your kids, buy it for your lover. If anyone doesn't like it, tell them that you'll never buy them anything ever again, but do it in that voice, you know the one, the one that makes it sound so personal that the other person feels like garbage and buys you a Whopper because they feel bad.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Immunity Orange, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Workout Lime

Activate Workout Lime

All week I've been gardening. I filled two giant city garbage totes with scraps of ugly rose bush shrapnel, weeds, old perennials that never really came to fruition, and rocks that someone who lived in my house before me thought was a compliment and not just annoying. Have you ever tried to take one thousand small rocks out of dirt? It blows. Today I finished weeding my whole backyard; weed treated and then laid down a layer of weed blocker. My soil is shot and it needed to be tilled like you wouldn't believe. Not to mention that it hasn't rained in a week, which I'm not complaining because I'm living the wettest summer that this city has ever seen. I don't mean that dramatically, I mean that almanatically. I planted peppers, strawberries, brussel sprouts, and as you can see in the picture, a little jelly bean plant. I saw this guy and had to buy it. I don't have the greenest thumb, but with a succulent, you have a bit of give.

So with all of this going on, and me not having a servant that would bring me a cool glass of water, I decided to go through my stock and grab something that would be both quenching and have a purpose. I picked this Activate drink up not too long ago and it was the perfect drink for the day.

Yes, its intended purpose is for workout, but seriously go to a Curves and look around. Would you say that me hand tilling, digging, planting, lifting buckets of dirt, and just general yard work is more or less than putting the treadmill on "turtle" and watching "The View"? More, right? So I don't need to necessarily "workout" to drink this now, do it?

I liked it a lot. It was a good, genuine lime flavor. The Stevia did a great job of letting that shine through. It really was nothing more than a sweetened lime flavored water. It was a bit "from powder" or "from concentrate" but I'm not holding that against them because it was. I saw it. I made it. I liked it.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Workout Lime, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Kyk Pure Energy

Kyk Pure Energy

When I got this pouch, I figured it was an all in one drink mix so I filled up my water bottle, poured this in, and mixed it around a little. Then I took a sip and couldn't believe how bad it tasted. It didn't taste like much, but it tasted like bad water. Then it hit me: you're supposed to add this to an already flavored drink. I'm an idiot.

So basically, this is to give your drink a kick of energy (hence the name of the company). Speaking of the name of this company, they might want to consider changing it since people might mispronounce it as a racial slur.

This is a weird sub-section of drinks, because it's impossible to fairly judge it on it's taste because it's not meant to be consumed on it's own. As far as function goes, it's great! I was feeling sleepy and now I’m totally awake after drinking half of it.

Website
http://kykenergy.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Energy Drink, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 28th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Pure Kyk Energy - 50 Count Box

Welch's Fruit Fizz White Grape Pulse

Welch's Fruit Fizz White Grape Pulse

I would like to congratulate Johnson on his promotion. To thank him for his twenty-five years of great service, I am hereby awarding him with this four pack of Welch's Fruit Fizz. I'm sorry, Sally. What did you say? What do you mean "A jip?" Have you ever had this, Sally? Look, most guys celebrate with a bottle of champagne, but here at Cornucopia Inc., we don't drink on the job. This is like four little cans of non-alcoholic champagne that he can enjoy for almost a full workweek. That means that for almost every lunch he eats at the Cornucopia Lounge, our cafeteria, he can taste a rather delicious non-alcoholic champagne and celebrate his quarter century dedication to putting things in a wicker basket, thing. Do you know how many oranges he had to put in that wicker horn to get to where he is today? Do you know how much non-racist Indian corn he had to put in that thing to make it as far as he did? No, Sally. You don't. Now, he can go on his merry way and drink a low-calorie, celebratory drink twice a day for two days.

Oh, it was that I only got him that which you are upset about? Sally, I'm no savage. I got him a $25 gift card to Applebee's, too. One dollar for every year, like I always do for all my employees. Play your cards right and you'll be getting your $3 gift card this July.

Website
http://www.welchs.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 12th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Dream Water Snoozeberry

Dream Water Snoozeberry

Do you want a night of completely mundane dreams? Well then I have the water for you. I drank this last night and I dreamt that I was at the grocery store checking all the drinks against the list on my phone to see if we had reviewed it. You know, like how I spend most of my days. Then when I cashed out there was a problem with my card and a manager got called over. He then yelled at the cashier, whom I stuck up for and a shouting match ensued. Completely boring.

The thing is that you don’t drink these to have insane crazy dreams. You drink them to sleep, and it performed that function perfectly. I tossed and turned for an hour last night. It was obviously that I wasn’t getting any closer to Slumberland on my own. I needed help from a bottle. Within 15 minutes of slamming this down my gullet I was out cold.

The drink was also surprisingly not gross. As we’ve stated dozens of times drinks that come in shot forms are gross by nature. This on the other hand tastes like a flavor of Vitamin Water Zero. It’s pomegranate and blueberry flavored, and it doesn’t taste chemical at all. It tastes like flavored water, and it doesn’t even taste concentrated. I like it as a drink, and I love it as a sleep aid. This is a win-win for everyone except my dreams.

Website
http://www.drinkdreamwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on June 23rd, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Snoozeberry Sleep Shot 2.5 Ounce 6 Pack

Dream Water Pineapple PM

Dream Water Pineapple PM

So I'm in Vegas for my sister's wedding. We spent three flights that were all delayed and took way, way too long. We thought we had missed our last connecting flight, because the one before it was late landing. We had to book it through the airport and made it to the terminal just in time. Once we finally made it to Vegas it took forever to get off our flight. When we made it to the car rental they said they were out of the cars we wanted, so they upgraded us to a Mustang convertible. For most people that would be awesome, but we are driving 5 hours to the Grand Canyon, and there is very little room in the car. Annoyances abound.

Finally we made it to our hotel, and they told us the only nonsmoking room they have left is right over where the bands play. I said whatever I just needed sleep. We dragged our bags to the room to find out that not only did they forget to turn on the air conditioning, so the room was a million degrees, but the band they spoke of was actually a DJ party that goes on until 4am with constant terrible beats. It was so damn loud.

I was so unbelievably tired, but due to the heat and the noise, I just couldn't fall asleep. I will be eternally grateful that I had packed this sleep shot, and not drank it for the plane (and read comics instead). I downed it, and I don't remember much after that until I awoke at 9am to a freezing room. The air conditioning decided to work properly. That is what I talk about a functional product. It has a diet pineapple sports drink flavor to it. It doesn't taste like poison, so I was thankful for that. It was light, with a decent flavor and after downing a shot I was out. Thank you Dream Water.

ps. We switched rooms in the morning after someone else checked out. Things may turn out okay after all.

Website
http://www.drinkdreamwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 13th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

iChill Relaxation Shot

iChill Relaxation Shot

Things got real weird in my brain last night. I’m not one to subscribe to the preaching of the apocalypse, but for some reason as I lay in bed, trying to fall asleep I started to wonder if all this jazz about the Mayan calendar was correct, and that the world was going to end in a couple of weeks. It started off with me thinking that everything was going to end in one big shebang, like the sun was going to collide with the Earth and everyone and everything would die instantaneously. At this point I just tried to get everything in order in my mind of where I wanted to be, and with who (aka the woods with my close family and friends). I thought I was okay with that, but then my pre-sleep mind started to think about what would happen if there was disaster everyone, but I still lived. I instantly wrote off zombies, and thought more of a The Road type scenario. I was trying to figure out everything I would have to get together and where I’d go when I decided that I was an idiot and I really needed to get to sleep, so I reached into my nightstand and pulled out this bad boy. It certainly helped calm my brain down, and made it do normal brain things like sleep when it’s 3am and you have to be up in six hours. Thank goodness for melatonin, valerian root and rose hips.

Oh you want to know what it tastes like? Well it starts with a berry flavor, that is heavy on the blueberry side of things, and then it takes a quick turn that reminds me of iced teas that I have gotten at Asian markets that have licorice root in them. It doesn’t taste like black jellybeans, but it tastes like a natural tea, or chewing on a switch from a licorice tree. So we have a decent flavor and no worries about the end of the world…I feel fine.

Website
http://www.ichill.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on December 5th, 2012
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
iChill Relaxation Shot 12 x 2 Oz Shots

Green Fit Lime Coconut

Green Fit Lime Coconut

The rest of the Green Fit beverages have had a fairly mediocre taste. Since they are functional beverages that places them on the better end of the spectrum. This is the flavor I was least looking forward to. Look, I’ve come around on coconut water. I don’t think it’s the devil’s spit anymore, but it’s not my favorite, and coconut flavored things tend to be on the toasted side of things and I still cannot get down with that. Luckily they went heavy on the lime in this and the coconut is along the lines of coconut water.

The combination of the lime and the whey protein makes this taste more than a bit like key lime pie, well a light liquid version of it. The stevia is the only thing that detracts from that, but in a drink like this, you’re not going to use regular sugar, so stevia was definitely the best possible choice. I think lime may be the secret to protein drinks. It makes the strange quasi-dairy taste seem appropriate and not just something you have to power through. It’s always odd when the thing you fear becomes your favorite out of the bunch, but that is what we have here.

Website
http://www.functionalfoods.us.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on March 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |