Stevia (41 reviews)

Ahhmigo Brain Boost Super Greens Cleansing Energy

Ahhmigo Brain Boost Super Greens Cleansing Energy

In the deserts of the southwestern United States there roams a nameless man. He is a man with many friends who have never heard him utter a single word. To those who know of the lore he is simply known as Ahhmigo. He wanders the desert with his trusty llama and helps those who are lost. The thing is he is kind of a jerk. He drives around in a jeep all day with a llama riding shotgun, until he finds someone wandering in the sand. He then pulls up, flips open a cooler from the back and tosses the wayward soul a bottle of water and a packet of vitamins and the like. He then just points in the direction of the nearest town, and just drives off. I know he’s giving some help, but the dude has a jeep. He could easily drive the people to safety instead of just hydrating them. He becomes their friend (I guess) and offers them refreshment, but like I said, he’s kind of a jerk.

This is the closest you will come to experiencing an encounter with this leathery skinned man. It is a bottle of spring water that has a cap full of freeze dried vegetables, roots, fruits, herbs and vitamins, just like the astronauts use. It helps to keep the ingredients fresh so that you can get the most out of them. Much like a Japanese soda, you smash the top down, into the fluid below, but instead of releasing a marble, a dusting of health enters your water.

The majority of these ingredients in cap drinks use zero calorie sweeteners to help make it more palatable for your average drinker. Ahhmigo is no different in that they use stevia, but with so much other healthy stuff in here, you can’t really taste it at all.

For drinks like this I normally list all of the weird ingredients that I’ve never heard of before, but I’m sure are ridiculously good for you, but this seriously has so many that it would be the entire review. They are broken up into different categories on the ingredients list, which include algae, phytonutrients & enzymes, tonic herbal extracts & mushrooms, green juices, western herbs and natural antioxidants. I would like to mention that it has bladderwrack though. Now that’s something completely new to me.

Overall this tastes like an old style health food store smells. It’s mostly wheat grass that I taste, but there are a bunch of other flavors in there that just make it taste healthy. It’s like someone took every little think that was healthy that they could find, juiced it all together, and then watered it down a bit. There are some flakes of the powder that I couldn’t get to dissolve, no matter how long I shook it.

This is certainly a strange drink that is fitting for the strange fellow in the desert who travels with a llama. If you ever come across him, make sure you thank him, as he probably saved your life, but also give him a little guff, for not helping more.

Website
http://www.facebook.com/ahhmigo/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 18th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

True Lemon Raspberry Lemonade

True Lemon Raspberry Lemonade

We're getting there. I feel like with this, a larger company in the world of diet and concentrates, using Stevia actively as their sweetener, we are getting off the sucralose, corn syrup, and aspartame train and onto the future Hyperloop. Yeah, I skipped bullet train and went right to Elon Musk's vision of a better, faster, cleaner tomorrow. Is this that much of a jump? No, not really. Other companies have been using Stevia for years but it's just nice to see that it's trickling up into the bigger dudes.

Not only does it have a natural sweetener, but also the taste in itself is pretty good. It's got great lemonade taste and a good, fruity raspberry taste. All together it's not too sweet and not really too much of anything which mixes can tend to be. This is right on mark.

With the proceeds from the sales of this, maybe they'll help build that dream train. I'll ride that thing and take a transcontinental trip at over five hundred miles per hour all day long.

Website
http://www.truelemon.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Lemonade, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 18th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
True Lemon Raspberry Lemonade Drink Mix, 10-count (Pack of 6)

True Lime Black Cherry Limeade

True Lime Black Cherry Limeade

I feel like limeade is lemonade's underachieving sibling. Lemonade gets all the good grades, does extra curricular activities like pep squad, fundraisers, and bake sales. Limeade just wants to be an artist and sits in their room with headphones on listening to Jesus and Mary Chain writing blog posts about society and how it's let them down. Thing is, the posts are well written and Jesus and Mary Chain are great. Limeade is just misunderstood.

This limeade should be taken seriously in the future because they're trying to do something different. Yeah, we need more pep rallies. Please. Come on. The only reason we liked pep rallies in high school is because we got out early. We need more meaningful art and people talking about the problems at a young age and less fake friends and more meaningful acquaintances. This drink is pretty great and is different than the cookie cutter lemonade. Look, I love lemonade, but sometimes I need something different. Something dangerous. This has a bit of a Stevia taste for reasons that are as simple and blatant as it is made with Stevia. As for the black cherry, it's right on target. I like this more than probably every black cherry pop I've ever had and the lime makes it just bitter enough that it calms the super sweetness down.

I think that's what limeade would have wanted; just to be recognized as a hard working individual who is doing something different, doing something different well, and doing it with a purpose. They just can't hear you because "Just Like Honey" is playing too loud in their headphones.

Website
http://www.truelemon.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Lemonade, Mix/Concentrate
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 25th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
True Black Cherry Limeade Drink Mix, 10-count (Pack of 4)

Shakeology Chocolate

Shakeology Chocolate

I don't understand it, honey. Sammy just refuses to eat vegetables. I don't know what to do. I've taken away videos games, dessert, television, and his bike and he just won't eat them. What did you buy? A milkshake? Honey that sounds like a reward more than it does a punishment. It's got what in it? I don't know what any of that is. Ashwagandha? Cordyceps, Tulsi, Sacha Inchi, Spirulina? Are you just reading a Dr. Seuss book to me? You're making these words up, right? You're not. What do they do? They're healthy? Well I guess that's good to know. Now it's a milkshake. Isn't there a ton of sugar in it that's going to get him to bounce off the walls? Oh, it's made with Stevia? That's cool. Well I guess it all comes down to taste. How does it taste, honey. Oh, you made some? Thanks.

Honey. This...this isn't bad at all. I mean I can taste that something is up but our kid, let's be honest here, he's kind of an idiot. Right? You agree with me. I mean, who doesn't just eat vegetables and takes punishment after punishment. Peas never hurt anyone and corn is fantastic. Kids. Am I right? Can I have more of this? Yeah, I was worried that this would just taste like a gritty mess like protein drinks do but it actually tastes good. You made this with eight ounces of milk? Oh wow. That turned into like double that. Cool. He'll feel like he's getting a real treat but in reality, we're poisoning him with healthy stuff.

When he gets home we'll make him something like a hamburger with a side of green beans just so he thinks nothing is up and we'll serve it with this milkshake. He'll think he's pulling one over on us by not eating the green beans and just eat the hamburger and drink the milkshake. Never thought it would come to this but if I have to trick my dumb son into eating healthy, so be it. He'll learn when he's 300 pounds and constantly sweating like your uncle Larry. Yeah, I said it, honey. He's constantly sweating. Like you didn't know.

Website
http://www.shakeology.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Milkshake, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on February 11th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Spree All Natural Sparkling Water Pina Pina Colada

Spree All Natural Sparkling Water Pina Pina Colada

Hats off to Jimmy Buffett. Seriously. I cannot drink or read the word "Pina Colada" without singing the chorus of that song in my head. I have been to a Margaritaville in Las Vegas and had a pretty decent meal of jerk chicken so once again, Jimmy, I doff my hat to you.

Review. Right. This is not a pina colada. I have never drunk one but this is sparkling and clear and not alcoholic and milky. Taste wise though; I don't hate it at all. I quite like it actually. Initially it tastes kind of diet but then you read that it's Stevia and not something gross and you kind of readjust your taste buds to it and the next sip is far better. One sampler in my focus group said that it smelled like suntan lotion but I don't think that I've ever met a pina colada that didn't.

For this being zero calories, this is very good. It is up there on my list of great pina colada drinks. It's accurate and even though they made it calorieless, it doesn't really suffer any consequences. So from me to both Spree and Jimmy Buffett, good work guys. You've got it.

Website
http://spreesparklingwater.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on March 3rd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Good Earth Black Tea Cocoa Tango

Daryl, this chocolate is great. Most chocolate is great but we need to step it up. No one wants regular "mom and pop" chocolate forever. We've made our name at this farmer's market by making quality chocolate but we need to step it up. The people have spoken and they are bored. Let's get something that figuratively punches them right in the face. Something different. Something to set us apart. Something like...pickles! No. That's gross plus the vinegar from the pickles will mix with the milk from the chocolate and provide nothing but an instantly spoiled mess. What else? Candy inside chocolate is hackneyed. Cereal? Bleh. No thanks. What else. Oh, I've got an idea, hold on a sec.

Look at these. Chilis from Sharon over there. I gave her a chocolate bar and she gave us a handful of chilis. If we mince these up, boil them down and extract the flavor and heat, we could cook it with the chocolate and have spicy chocolate. Yeah, I know it's been done before but I think that people here at this market would appreciate a little pain with their pleasure. Look at that old lady over there. You know she needs a little kick in the pants. Let's do it. I just want to try it first here in its raw format. Oh, Daryl, this is something else. Try this, dude. Wait...where are you going?

Where did you go? Is this a cup of tea? Thanks man, I appreciate...wait...what is this? This is a liquid version of what we just made. This is a packaged tea? Good Earth made this? It's...it's just like what we made. It's spicy and has a pretty strong chocolate taste with a hint of Stevia which we don't use but is actually pretty good in this tea.

So what do we do? We still pursue it, right? It's still a good idea. We need to change it up. Using this tea as a model, we will make fantastic new chocolate bars. Thanks, Daryl. You're a good partner. Let's try to think of other things we can concoct. Broccoli? Gross. Farm fresh eggs? No. Daryl, do you want this or not?

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 6th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Cocoa Tango Black Tea, 18 Tea Bags

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

Good Earth Black Tea Sweetly Twisted

"Twisted" might be an understatement. The contortionist that your tongue becomes while drinking this drink is enough to make a circus performer get queasy. It's one of the strangest hot teas I have ever drank and reminds me of when I drank chai for the first time. Is it spicy? Is it sweet? Who knows? Who cares, really since it's so good, sometimes. I like the no-milk chai way more than the milky chai. This is on a different plane all together.

I think the base of this is an herbal tea since it's a black, hibiscus tea. Then all hell breaks loose with ingredients like licorice, lemon, blackberry leaf, vanilla, and rosehip. There are more ingredients than that but it's just a constant jumping from one to another like the guy in Pitfall jumping from rope to rope trying his hardest to not make it into those pesky crocodile's mouths. So pesky. This tea is sweet which some people won't like but I didn't mind because I like Stevia and it's faint enough that it's not overpowering. It's far from a sweet tea and if anything is just being added as a flavor rather than a sweetener. Man, those crocodiles. Much pesky. So wow. Very rope swing.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Hot Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 15th, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Sweetly Twisted Black Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags

Function Please Sleep Bedtime Berry

Function Please Sleep Bedtime Berry

If I know anything it’s that this is a leftover promotional relic from the HBO show Dream On. To be fair, I don’t know anything about said show. Up until now I thought that Larry Sanders was on it, which is apparently not true. There it is though, right at the top of the bottle, “Dream On.” Actually, maybe someone in Aerosmith owns this company. They did have that one song that sounded like nothing else in their catalog that had the same nomenclature.

Whoever is responsible, rock star or film star, they have come up with a decent shot beverage that doesn’t taste too terribly disgusting. I mean with all shots there is a level of concentrate that causes the flavor to be a little off, but this has a nice berry flavor to it that tastes a bit like candy, even though it’s sweetened with stevia. Since you would generally just slug this thing back I doubt anyone would even realize the stevia was there. It’s more berry than poison-shot in the taste department, and there’s not much else one could ask for. Oh it also definitely knocked me right out 10-15 minutes after downing it. I guess that functionality is something I could have asked for, and received.

Website
http://www.functionplease.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Relaxation, Shot
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 22nd, 2014
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Good Earth Green Tea Pomegranate Burst

Good Earth Green Tea Pomegranate Burst

They are on to something here. I wish I was a scientist. Well, I wish I was a scientist a lot actually but now I can actually think of a situation where I would use my skills. I wish I was a scientist so that I could pull out my cool pocket microscope and look at what's going on in this bag of tea. There's got to be some sort of concentrate of juice in there and I want to see the flavor crystals because let's face it, all flavor comes in crystals. Since 1996 when Ice Breakers gum came out and their flavor was in crystals, all flavor has been contained within the confides of crystals.

This is titled "Pomegranate Burst" but that might have gotten lost in translation because this tastes like cherries. Also, since we, nay, I, are talking about how this tasted, this is like a 70% juice and 30% tea. I don't know what you want in something that comes in a tea bag. It's listed as a green tea but that is simply the carrier for the juice.

Whether it's cherry or pomegranate, it's good. Whether it's tea or juice, it's good. Whether you ate the wrapper or not with your Ice Breakers gum, it was good. Ice Breakers gum came out almost two decades ago and I'm recalling it like it was yesterday. That's very strange. I don't know if I like it or not. I like this tea, a lot. I don't know if I like how I aged myself back there.

Website
http:///www.goodearth.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 3rd, 2015
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Good Earth Pomegranate Burst Green Tea, 18 Count Tea Bags (Pack of 6)

Bolthouse Farms Bom Dia Coconut Splash Tropical Mango

Bolthouse Farms Bom Dia Coconut Splash Tropical Mango

I could write a big long story about living in the tropics and coming across this heavenly drink that quenched my thirst, but instead I'm going for the no b.s. review today.

This drink is amazing! Plain and simple. This is easily the best coconut water drink I have ever had. It's light and creamy and is full of so much flavor. Of the 4 juices in this (lemon, apple, mango, and passion fruit), the apple and mango stand out the most with hints of lemon and passion fruit in the after taste. I had a feeling this drink was going to be good since Bolthouse rarely disappoints, but I didn't know it was going to be THIS good.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Coconut, Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |