Stevia (41 reviews)

Krazy Kritters Otter Orange

Krazy Kritters Otter Orange

This can came courtesy of my friend Bree from Pittsburgh. On a mission to find weird drinks for me, she came across this at a dollar store. While I love the name of the drink and the art (who doesn't love otters who can play hockey?), most dollar store drinks are that cheap for a reason.

I was surprised that I actually enjoyed it. It's a sparkling juice marketed to kids, and not as sweet as i expected it to be. It's a decent orange taste, with a bitter (almost energy drink like) aftertaste. While it's good for a dollar store drink, it's not something I'd regularly buy.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Juice
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 2nd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Bai 5 Calories Antioxidant Infusions Sumatra Dragonfruit

Every day when I go to work I have to walk past a coffee shop. I do not like coffee, but I do enjoy the smell. It's not one of those "Oh, it brings back so many memories." things, it just smells good to me. I don't want to turn into one of those kids that are way too young to be hooked on the stuff, though. I despise people who say "Oh, I need my coffee," or "I had like 6 cups of coffee today," or the classic "Don't get me wrong, it's not like I haven't had coffee in years and am, for some reason, holding a grudge. I try a sip here and there and it just never gets me.

Here's where I feel I can blend in with society. This Bai stuff has been nothing but incredible. The fruit of the coffee bean can be used to add antioxidants to juice, tons of them according to a (probably biased) scale on the side of the bottle. This dragonfruit flavor is no exception. The Stevia does a good job of not masking the flavor and the flavor itself is a nice, fruity flavor.

I don't see myself drinking coffee in the near or far future, but I do see myself drinking Bai for many years to come. Does that mean that I am going to go into coffee shops with a couple bottles of it, pull out my laptop and work for 8 hours while people are standing next to me awaiting seats in the worst laid out establishment ever? Absolutely not! You can have your seat, addicts.

Website
http://www.drinkbai.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Coffee, Diet, Juice
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 10th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Krazy Kritters Blue Raz Raccoon

Krazy Kritters Blue Raz Raccoon

This drink has "dollar store" written all over it. It's no surprise that this isn't that good. It has a sharp blue raspberry taste to it. But then a familiar aftertaste kicks in: energy drink battery acid. This is weird because it's not an energy drink. If this is marketed to kids (which I'm assuming it is), this is not a drink kids would enjoy.

We were going to give this a 1 bottle rating, but the drawing of a raccoon on a skateboard was too awesome to give it such a low rating.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on April 27th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero XXX

Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero XXX

I couldn't have said it better than Zack. "It tastes a bit mediciny." It's lightly sweetened, decent flavor, but something is off. The longer you keep it in your mouth, the stranger it gets. I don't know why I keep things longer in my mouth. Maybe it’s because I'm a scientist. Because I am trying to get a place where this doesn't taste strange? I'm really not impressed. You know who else isn't impressed? Ice Cube and Ian Mackaye. Using "xxx" on this label serves less than no purpose. Is it a "codename" for the flavors? I guess that's what it is, but you know what? Those dudes don't like it. I don't even know them and they don't like it.

Website
http://www.glaceau.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Glaceau Vitamin Water Zero, XXX, 20-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Activate Immunity Orange

Activate Immunity Orange

More drinks should be interactive. Ramune is the perfect example of a fun, interactive drink. It's so fun to knock that marble down into the drink. This is equally fun. Twisting the top orange part and letting the powder fall into the drink, helplessly, like someone pulled the ground from under it. It's actually pretty incredible how dark this drink gets with how little powder actually goes into it. Also, I did say powder, but they did an awesome job of formulating it so that it doesn't have that gritty, "too much powder" taste like you are drinking half juice and half sandy juice. It tastes like if you mixed orange Flintstone vitamins and Tang, two things that remind me of childhood. If I had this as a child, I could cross two things off my list. A multitasker. This drink is good and good for you. It's cliché, I know, but it's true.

It reminds me of some James Bond poisoning technique, a bit. Obviously not orange because Mr. Bond would be hip to whatever Goldfinger is trying to do to him. If he, or probably Oddjob, would use something similar to those clear fiber powders, but mixed it with a truth serum/powder, all would be lost. You and I would be living in a gold-free environment. Fort Knox would be Goldfinger's because James Bond was thirsty.

Buy it for yourself, buy it for your kids, buy it for your lover. If anyone doesn't like it, tell them that you'll never buy them anything ever again, but do it in that voice, you know the one, the one that makes it sound so personal that the other person feels like garbage and buys you a Whopper because they feel bad.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on May 13th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Immunity Orange, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Activate Workout Lime

Activate Workout Lime

All week I've been gardening. I filled two giant city garbage totes with scraps of ugly rose bush shrapnel, weeds, old perennials that never really came to fruition, and rocks that someone who lived in my house before me thought was a compliment and not just annoying. Have you ever tried to take one thousand small rocks out of dirt? It blows. Today I finished weeding my whole backyard; weed treated and then laid down a layer of weed blocker. My soil is shot and it needed to be tilled like you wouldn't believe. Not to mention that it hasn't rained in a week, which I'm not complaining because I'm living the wettest summer that this city has ever seen. I don't mean that dramatically, I mean that almanatically. I planted peppers, strawberries, brussel sprouts, and as you can see in the picture, a little jelly bean plant. I saw this guy and had to buy it. I don't have the greenest thumb, but with a succulent, you have a bit of give.

So with all of this going on, and me not having a servant that would bring me a cool glass of water, I decided to go through my stock and grab something that would be both quenching and have a purpose. I picked this Activate drink up not too long ago and it was the perfect drink for the day.

Yes, its intended purpose is for workout, but seriously go to a Curves and look around. Would you say that me hand tilling, digging, planting, lifting buckets of dirt, and just general yard work is more or less than putting the treadmill on "turtle" and watching "The View"? More, right? So I don't need to necessarily "workout" to drink this now, do it?

I liked it a lot. It was a good, genuine lime flavor. The Stevia did a great job of letting that shine through. It really was nothing more than a sweetened lime flavored water. It was a bit "from powder" or "from concentrate" but I'm not holding that against them because it was. I saw it. I made it. I liked it.

Website
http://www.activatedrinks.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Mix/Concentrate, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 12th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Activate Drinks Energy Workout Lime, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Kahe Sparkling Nectar Kiwifruit

Kahe Sparkling Nectar Kiwifruit

The potential for these Kahe drinks was through the roof. An all-natural kiwi soda sounded like a dream come true. I've always wanted a bottle of straight kiwi juice, almost as much as I want a bottle of cantaloupe juice. I don't think either is destined to happen though.

They started this off right. They took some carbonated water and added a bunch of kiwi juice concentrate to it. I'm pretty sure they could have stopped right there and I would have loved this drink. Sure it wouldn't have been overly sweet, but it would have been enough for me and it would have tasted like fruit. Instead of quitting while they were ahead Kahe decided to add a low calorie sweetener, or two to be exact. I'm all for low cal drinks. I completely understand that this country has a severe sugar problem. I suffer from it myself. I also salute stevia for being one of the only "diet" sweeteners that I can really stand. The problem with it is that it can be overpowering if there's not much else to cover it up. Since this was just water and juice the stevia and xylitol completely took over the flavor of the drink. It tastes like it's 2 parts sweetener to every one-part juice. As a result the wonderful kiwi flavor becomes hidden and you have to search it out underneath the added sweetness and the drink drops in ratings.

Website
http://www.california-naturalls.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 9th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Krazy Kritters Foxy Fruit Punch

Krazy Kritters Foxy Fruit Punch

Do you honestly think that you can make money off that, Sherman; a fox that knows karate? It's a novelty, sure, but does he really know karate or does he just look adorable in a gi? You don't know what a gi is and you want to...a gi is a karate uniform. Yes, with the belt. What color belt are you going to give him and don't say black because you and I both know that a fox could not achieve the highest standard in karate. He's nowhere near as disciplined and I have never even met him. You say that you've got a sponsor already? That's quick, who is it? Krazy Kritters? What do they do? They make juice? Oh, sparkling juice! Cool. I'd like to try that someday when you make it big.

You've got some on you now? Oh, there's that little fox on there now. Cool. Good job. I guess he didn't even need to actually take a class. Can I have this to drink? Thanks. Oh, this is...odd. Did you drink this before you signed the contract? It's strange. It tastes like...remember when they made that gum with pop in it? That's what it tastes like. If you put fruit punch pop in gum and then liquefied it this is what you would have. Plus, the Stevia kind of gives it this unwanted, bitter aftertaste that I do not find desirable.

Look we all know that pictures of starving children sells records, but do foxes in karate attire sell drinks? I don't think so if it tastes like this.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Juice, Sparkling
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 29th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bolthouse Farms Bom Dia Coconut Splash Tropical Mango

Bolthouse Farms Bom Dia Coconut Splash Tropical Mango

I could write a big long story about living in the tropics and coming across this heavenly drink that quenched my thirst, but instead I'm going for the no b.s. review today.

This drink is amazing! Plain and simple. This is easily the best coconut water drink I have ever had. It's light and creamy and is full of so much flavor. Of the 4 juices in this (lemon, apple, mango, and passion fruit), the apple and mango stand out the most with hints of lemon and passion fruit in the after taste. I had a feeling this drink was going to be good since Bolthouse rarely disappoints, but I didn't know it was going to be THIS good.

Website
http://bolthouse.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Coconut, Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 7th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Oggu Low Cal Sparkling Cola

Oggu Low Cal Sparkling Cola

We were privileged to be given an advance taste of this drink. Apparently Europe has not allowed companies to have drinks on the market with stevia in them yet so they sent us a bottle of it without the label. This is the same Oggu 100% Organic Cola we have already reviewed, but sweetened with stevia. I loved the original so I was excited to try this low calorie version.

My thoughts are as follows: it's good, but not as good as the original version. It has the same complexity as the one sweetened with cane sugar, which is great. The stevia is throwing me off though. It's not as bad as most diet drinks, but I've definitely had ones that mask the stevia taste better. If Oggu is trying to be a competitor to drinks like diet coke and diet Pepsi, they will win hands down! But, this isn't as good as the cane sugar version of their delicious cola.

Website
http://www.oggu.com/
Country
Netherlands
Sweetener
Stevia
Categories
Diet, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on October 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |