Sugar and or Corn Sweetener (28 reviews)

College Club Orange

College Club Orange

This is the thickest of the Monroe Bottling Co. sodas that I have had. It tastes like your average orange soda. Nothing special. It's still tasty, but it's just nothing new. So fire up the grill, get out the veggie dogs and let's get this BBQ started.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Grapefruit

College Club Grapefruit

We're finally heading towards the end of our Monroe Beverage Co adventure. Only a couple left. The grapefruit left a little to be desired. It only faintly tastes like grapefruit, unlike the other grapefruit sodas I've had. It just tastes sugary with a very slight sourness to it. It's not bad, I was just expecting it to be stronger.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 12th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Birch Beer

College Club Birch Beer

Who doesn't love the fair? What's the best part of the fair? Okay llama fashion shows are, but coming in a close second is the food and drinks. This tastes exactly like fair birch beer. It would be crisp and refreshing on a hot summer day. It's got that great bite that should be accompanied by fried dough. Can't you just smell the midway now?

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Tymbark Blackcurrent

Tymbark Blackcurrent

How do I describe the smell of this drink in a way that you could understand? Red wine mixed with body odor. I'd say that does it justice.

Taste? Kind of like a grape juice. Like a red grape juice, not like a white grape. Not a lot of body or presence either which is kind of strange. There's no bite or sharpness or bitterness or tartness or anything.

Now myself, and possibly you, have no idea what a blackcurrant is. To me it kind of looks like a purple grape on the carton. I don't know what it tastes like to base the flavor of it, but I assume that the actual fruit has some sort of character. This just feels a bit lacking. It's got a lot of flavor though so you could possibly use this as a mixer.

Website
http://www.tymbark.com/
Country
Poland
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Juice
Rating
2/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 18th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Tymbark Blackcurrant Drink, 33.8 Fluid Ounces

JCS Reggae Style Ginger Beer

JCS Reggae Style Ginger Beer

It's almost 3am and I'm in Gainesville, FL. What else would I be doing that drinking this brutal ginger beer? It's got one heck of a burn, and it's nice and sweet. I kind of feel like I just chugged a gallon of liquid smoke. It’s probably not a great idea to drink this before bed.

Country
Jamaica
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Ginger Beer Soda, 12 oz (24pack)

Big Ben's Fast Draw Sarsaparilla

Big Ben's Fast Draw Sarsaparilla

Sarsaparilla: the drink of cowboys (or so I choose to believe). It makes me want to put some spurs on. Can you imagine that? Seriously imagine if every time I drank I sarsaparilla I put on cowboy boots, spurs, chaps, a 10-gallon hat, and some cap guns in some holsters. I would be all ready to work the old west show at the local amusement park.
For those of you who don't know sarsaparilla is a close relative to root beer and birch beer. It just has different herbs used in its creation. I for one am a big fan. It tastes like a more woodsy root beer.
This version of it is a sugary mixture that has a similar flavor, but it's not the same as those that are brewed. It's still great though. It's not the inoffensive candy version of the classic beverage. My only real complain is I wish it had a harsher carbonation, but that's just me being picky.

Website
http://catawissabottlingco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on November 29th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Quinine Water

College Club Quinine Water

This was one of Jay and my first companies and we've almost completed their line of drinks. When we went into the place to get a case of drinks, we came across this drink. It's labeled Quinine Water. I had never heard of it and thought it was going to be like tonic water. When I picked it up, an old man sitting on a case of drinks said, "You drink that when you've got to rehabilitate an arm or a leg.". I didn't know what he was talking about but it turns out that quinine is used to treat malaria and it may have historically done "something" for joints.

The taste wasn't something that everyone could get into, I'm sure. It was parallel to the taste of the San Pelligrino Chinotto drink I reviewed. It's got a bitter citrus taste to it, but it's sweet enough to combat any strange or "off" flavoring.

If anyone can elaborate their grandma's use for quinine, please do as I have never heard of the stuff before I touched this drink. As a drink it wasn't bad, but I would pick the San P instead of this because I don't take medicine and I guess this could technically be called a medicinal drink.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 3rd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Big Ben's American Birch Beer

Big Ben's American Birch Beer

This took me by surprise. I thought a few things before I drank it. The first of which, who has ever seen, let alone heard of, clear birch beer? Not I, and I'd like to think I'm some sort of professional. Two was that it was a company I had never heard of and the pop was in a plastic bottle.

I. Was. Wrong. This was strong. Like mouth numbingly strong. It was like every sip was a burst of birch flavoring. I liked it. Re-buy liked. It was kind of like if you ate a mouthful of black licorice to the point where you tasted licorice for a while afterward. It was stagnant, but in a good, powerful way.

If you have the opportunity, try it. It only takes two sips to get used to and then you're hooked.

*After this review we realized that all of the Big Ben birch beers were the same flavor, just different colors. So I changed the picture. Red, white and blue. It's like our country was founded on this soda.

Website
http://catawissabottlingco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Big Ben's Root Beer

Big Ben's Root Beer

Root beer comes in two different varieties; good root beer and great root beer. Even the "worst" root beer is still acceptable. Since we've been doing this site, we've come across some really surprising and different varieties like some made with vanilla, cinnamon, clove, and licorice. What does it all mean? Drinking Mugg or Barq's just isn't the same as it used to be.

Although the Big Ben's birch beer was surprisingly good, this root beer is...less than. It's not bad, as I mentioned above, it's just a bit too standard and safe.

Website
http://catawissabottlingco.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 10th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

Ale-8-One Ginger Ale

Ale-8-One Ginger Ale

Jay says to me he says, "I've got something for you." Naturally, I got excited, even thought I knew it was a drink because that's all we exchange anymore. "Anymore" like we used to give each other gifts all the time. Eh, we probably did. We're great friends. So, Jay got me something but he can't find it. We take a trip out to his car and it's not there. I was getting let down by the second. Then, with a stroke of genius, he lifted that spare tire cover and pulled out a fresh bottle of Ale-8-One. He told me he got it on tour and it had caffeine in it. It's a ginger ale but it has a bit extra to it. It doesn't contain, but feels like it should contain, capsicum in it. It has a little baby-sized bite to it. It's nice because it's not a ginger ale trying to be a ginger beer. It's just a ginger ale with some spice to it.

I have had a long weekend. Not a rough weekend, but a long one. It was hard to get out of bed and while looking through my cache of drinks I grabbed this and didn't look back. I felt I needed a little pick me up, even though I don't think that I've ever need "pick me up's."


Jay, thanks. Ale-8-One, thanks. Everyone for leaving me at work to listen to The Best Show by myself on a snowy Monday...you's guys are kind of jerks.

Website
http://www.ale8one.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on December 27th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 |