Sugar and or Corn Sweetener (28 reviews)

Frostop Premium Root Beer

Frostop Premium Root Beer

Over six years ago Mike and I moved into an apartment together. The house number was 23, so we dubbed it "Michael Jordan". Now all these years, and an absent landlord later, I am moving out. Yesterday we moved pretty much everything. One thing I have to remark on is “where did I get all this garbage from?” I thought I didn't own much of anything, but I have so much crap. Ugh.

After a couple of hours of moving, I was completely beat. I went to the fridge and cracked open this cool frosty root beer. It was extremely refreshing. To be fair I was covered in sweat and completely beat, so anything that didn't taste like liquid garbage would have been welcomed.

Frostop has a classic root beer taste with some extra ingredients added. It tastes vaguely medicinal in a Moxie sort of way. It may just be that there is a lot of anise in it. I still enjoyed it, and guzzled down the bottle way faster than I should have.

I should go finish my move now, but instead I'm going to go wander around the woods with some friends.

Website
http://www.frostop.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on July 31st, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

India Original Kola Champagne

India Original Kola Champagne

I wish I had found kola champagne sooner in my life. I've always enjoyed bubble gum flavored sodas, but the only one I was ever able to find was the one Jones makes. I know a lot of people hate bubble gum flavored pop, but I love it. This is the first dark kola champagne I've had. Until now, the one's I've had have been orange in color. This threw me off a bit because it has a cola color, but tastes just like other kola champagne. It's still good, but definitely tastes a little 'heavier' than others.

Country
Puerto Rico
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on October 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Carousel Gourmet Soda Watermelon

Carousel Gourmet Soda Watermelon

Some pop is strange. You have certain expectations for the way that it tastes. Then, when you actually take a sip, it doesn't abide by your crazy made-up rules. Suddenly, rudely, when you burp, those expectations are met. To drink a bottle of pop that you need to burp to get what you want out of it seems fun, but the ratio of drinking to burping is very far off. Unless you're completely disgusting or completely alone, you aren't going to get your money's worth of burps out of pop.

This drink is right there. To drink, it's sweet and lightly watermelon'd. Then you burp and BAM! Candied watermelon or watermelon candy. Whichever you choose. I have not been very impressed by any watermelon pop or any of Carousel's drinks. I won't stop drinking them but there hasn't been one that I would go back to or even recommend. If you like them, speak up, but there are plenty of other companies that just moderately blow my socks off that I don't feel bad leaving this by the wayside.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on November 11th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Buy at SpecialtySodas.com

College Club Lime

College Club Lime

We were tipped off that the Black Rock Beverage Center in Buffalo had bottles of strange pop for $.30 each. We went to check it out and it was a goldmine. They had about 15 different flavors of "The Pop Shoppe." We bought an assorted case and headed home to try them out. We soon found out that The Pop Shoppe was an old company from Canada that went out of business, and that many bottlers reused their old bottles. A couple of the bottles say Monroe Beverage Co on the sides of the caps, so we're assuming that is the name of the company, even though we can't find much info about them, other than they are from Rochester, NY.

Okay enough back-story.

This is a tasty little bottle of pop. They made a lime flavored beverage that actually does not taste like cleaning fluid. Not only that but it tastes like melted green freezie pops. It says it's made with corn sweetener. It doesn't seem very thick, so I'm not sure if that's the same as HFCS. It's pretty great, and a steal for $.30.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 18th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Cola

College Club Cola

This is a delicious, inexpensive, historic treat. Firstly, remember when we were kids and we used to drink out of reused bottles? No, not recycled, reused.

This pop is in those bottles and, in my opinion, flavored with real sugar.

It's a quick, sweet cola taste that is short lasting and is a bit reminiscent of Coke.

Love it, buy it, and bring the bottle back.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 19th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Gassosa

College Club Gassosa

What a crisp drink. I've been finding that there are some great drinks at holes in the wall. This one, like the others, was found at Black Rock Beverages. It's such a throwback. I love it. The small, reused bottles with pry-off caps are so retro, but for them, it's the way it's always been.

This was a nice, fast, sweet drink. It's close to 7-up and Sprite, but different. My friend Matt I let try it says that he likes it and doesn't like 7-up and Sprite is impressive. Like I said, it's got a sweetness and a definite citrus flavor, but nothing you can put your finger on. According to the bottle cap, it's got citrate and lemon lime extract so there you go.

If you want something different but somewhat familiar, get this. Seriously, it's $0.30. Get two. Your girlfriend is in the car waiting for you.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 22nd, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Peach

College Club Peach

This is how this drink went down. I'm at work. I'm thirsty. I open the fridge. I decide that today is the day I try the peach College Club. I crack it open. The first sip hits my lips. "Holy crap this tastes exactly like an actual peach." A few seconds pass. "Wait no it doesn't at all. It tastes like peach gummy candy. Awesome!"

It may be overly sweet, and not really taste like a peach, but it's still pretty darn tasty.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 30th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Pale Dry Ginger Ale

College Club Pale Dry Ginger Ale

My friend Mike said that this is the best ginger ale he's ever had. I'll lead off with this. There certainly is a lot of ginger in this lil' bottle. There are some ginger ales that are pretty sweet and some ginger ales that aren't. This is right in the middle. It actually takes you for a loop. You think that it's super sweet, but then you realize that it's all ginger, doing her job. It's sweet, but there might be more ginger than any other ginger ale I've ever had. If you believe that ginger ale will cure your aches and pains, this would be the one to be papa doctor.

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on October 4th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Pineapple

College Club Pineapple

This is great, a pop that actually tastes like the fruit it's supposed to. It tastes like someone dumped a whole mess of sugar on a pineapple, and threw it in a blender. It actually reminds me of a Slurpee flavor. I was told that it tastes exactly like the old Sunkist pineapple pop that used to exist. I was also told it made my friend parachute little men. Strange times indeed!

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 5th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

College Club Birch Beer

College Club Birch Beer

Who doesn't love the fair? What's the best part of the fair? Okay llama fashion shows are, but coming in a close second is the food and drinks. This tastes exactly like fair birch beer. It would be crisp and refreshing on a hot summer day. It's got that great bite that should be accompanied by fried dough. Can't you just smell the midway now?

Website
http://www.collegeclubbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar and or Corn Sweetener
Categories
Root Beer, Soda Pop
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on October 14th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
| 1 | 2 | 3 |