Sugar (850 reviews)

Sangria Senorial Sangria

Sangria Senorial Sangria

I have never tasted a drop of alcohol in my life, so I'm not sure if this actually tastes like sangria. I must say, Sangria Senorial smells just like alcoholic sangria. Since it smells so familiar and I have a negative outlook on alcoholic drinks, I think that might be part of the reason why I don't like the taste of this. It has a bitter grape taste with light carbonation. The only positive thing I can say is that it has real sugar in it.

Website
http://www.novamex.com/sangria_senorial.sstg
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Señorial Sangria Soft Drink, 1.5 liter

Sidral Mundet Green Apple

Sidral Mundet Green Apple

I really need to invest in a bottle opener because I keep finding that imported soda companies aren't fond of twist off caps. Oh well, I managed to get this cap off with my handy staple remover again. It's not everyday you see green apple flavored soda, so i had to try this bottle of Sidral Mundet I found at the international grocery store. It's made in Mexico and is made with real sugar, which is nice. It tastes EXACTLY like a green apple Jolly Rancher. It's really strange how exact the taste is. But it's super delicious, and actually has some apple juice concentrate in it!

Website
http://www.novamex.com/sidral_mundet
Country
Mexico
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Sidral Mundet Soft Drink, 10.5 oz.

Sobe Elixer Yumberry Pomegranate

Sobe Elixer Yumberry Pomegranate

When Sobe first hit the market I worked at a grocery store, and I would drink them on my break. I thought they were great, and had such strange flavors (keep in mind I was 17 and hadn't ventured much outside of standard beverages). My infatuation quickly faded, and I don't think I've had one in at least ten years. I bought this bottle because it was yumberry flavored. I've been seeing this in a lot of drinks lately and I wanted to check it out. For those of you from Western New York, I will say that my thoughts after the first sip was that it reminded me a lot of loganberry. Although the lack of high-fructose corn syrup, definitely gave it a thinner consistency then that local favorite. It was very sweet, and it didn't have the tartness that I've come to expect from pomegranate (and from yumberry as I learned online). I guess it is just way over sweetened. I still enjoyed it. I'll have to try some more of these new Sobe flavors. Look for some new reviews soon.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

At first I wasn't sure if we should review store brand beverages. The conclusion that I came to was that it shouldn't be a regular thing, but every once and a while it would be fine. This decision was easier to make because of the deliciousness of this beverage. It's your typical Italian Soda, but it's extremely flavorful, with a nice harsh carbonation. I just wish that everything that was orange flavored in the world were actually blood orange flavored. It's such the superior to a normal orange flavor.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Wgmns Frizzante European Soda, Blood Orange, 33.8 Fl. Oz. Gluten Free. Lactose Free. Vegan, (Pack of 4)

Mira Mango Nectar

Mira Mango Nectar

If you like mangoes, this is the drink for you. It's straight up mango puree with some water added. I feel like I'm biting into a perfectly ripe mango with every sip I take. I'm surprised to find that I don't have the juice of the fruit dripping down my chin. It's that convincing. All of that and it's made in Egypt. Weird.

Website
http://www.miramango.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Goya Peach Nectar

Goya Peach Nectar

Let me start by saying that I am a huge fan of peaches, and with this drink every sip tastes like a thousand peaches exploding in your mouth. Not only is it all that I could ever want from a juice, it's one of the best beverages I've ever drunk. Make sure you get it in the glass bottles though. The canned version has high fructose corn syrup in it, and is not nearly as good.

Website
http://goya.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Goya Peach Nectar - 11.5 oz.

Gold Peak Iced Tea Sweetened

Gold Peak Iced Tea Sweetened

What a silent but delicious brand. I have had the lemon as well and will review that one in due time, but this tea is very close to the Southern sweet tea that you know and (hopefully) love. I enjoy this tea because it's got a nice "real" tea flavor and is naturally sweetened with real sugar and not a substitute or sweetener. Gold Peak is also very cheap. I found this guy in a 6-pack for $3 and change and I know you can get a big 40-ish ounce bottle on sale for around $2. It rivals the gallon jugs from Arizona. I can see it as being a bit sweet for some and it's not terribly good for you, but if you don't care, then who cares, right?

Website
http://www.goldpeaktea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Swiss Premium Tea Cooler - Iced Tea & Lemonade

Swiss Premium Tea Cooler - Iced Tea & Lemonade

I have always thought of Swiss as being the bargain iced tea that you would find at convenience stores for $1 a gallon. I had no idea they had launched a "Premium" line until a few days ago. This line is pretty much the same recipe as the regular tea, except they have replaced the high fructose corn syrup with regular sugar. It's still extremely sweet. It reminds me of the "ghetto tea" we used to drink during breaks while skateboarding when I was a kid. I think it's that nostalgia that lets me still enjoy this so much. Also, this is supposed to be an "Arnold Palmer," but it really just tasted like lemon iced tea. The lemon flavor is not as prevalent as I have come to expect in iced tea - lemonade combos.

Website
http://www.swiss-tea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Lemonade
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Southern Graviola Distribution Inc. Graviola Life Original

Southern Graviola Distribution Inc. Graviola Life Original

No thanks. The whole drinks packaging reeks of "As Seen On TV" sales tactics. With phrases like "World's most powerful heath drink" and "Low on sugar low on carbs" (no spaces or punctuation). I should have known. Not to mention, the website listed on the bottle is not correct. That rarely happens.

Let us continue...

From opening up the bottle, it gave me a plasticy, unnatural taste. The primary ingredient is a fruit called the "graviola" or known by its more common name "soursop". It does have a slightly sweet, milky smooth taste, but that strange aroma overpowers the taste and welcomes itself back into your senses.

Having heard nothing of graviola or soursop, I did ten seconds of research on Wikipedia, the worlds most reliable (sarcastic) source, and came across two items which interested me:

1. "Nutritionally, the fruit is high in carbohydrates" - After it had previously stated that it was low in carbs
2. "Research carried out in the Caribbean has suggested a connection between consumption of soursop and atypical forms of Parkinson's disease due to the very high concentration of annonacin." - Which just plain isn't good.

Sure, everything is good in moderation, but this just plain isn't good. Needless to say, the garbage found a 3/4 full bottle of this drink.

Website
http://www.graviolalifetea.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sports/Dietary Supplement
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Chadwick Bay Enhanced Black Tea With Raspberry

Chadwick Bay Enhanced Black Tea With Raspberry

When I saw this drink in a store near my house, I thought it was a store brand. For some reason I picked it up and I saw that it was not, but that it was a new semi-local product for us. Chadwick Bay is based out of Dunkirk, NY, which is about 45 minutes away from Buffalo. It's a decent basic flavored tea. It reminds me a lot of the raspberry Arizona tea, but without the syrupyness. It's definitely super, super sweet, so if you have some cavities that are bothering you, I would stay away.

Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Iced Tea
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |