Sparkling (502 reviews)

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Ginger Ale

R.W. Knudsen Spritzer Ginger Ale

I've really been getting into spritzers lately. It's such a nice light alternative to your average pop. When I was in the local co-op earlier this caught my eye, as I've also been really into ginger as well. I was really hoping for a stronger presence of ginger from this drink, but it was pretty mellow. It did have a slight hint of the burn, but it wasn't very strong. If you want a mellower ginger ale this is the way to go, if you're looking for something stronger, I would stick to ginger brew.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Ginger, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 5th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Spritzer, Ginger Ale, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Hotlips Boysenberry

Hotlips Boysenberry

Boysenberry soda? Really? I was pretty shocked when I saw this, but also excited to try it. It's a local Portland soda made by the people who run the Hotlips Pizza chain. It has a strong berry smell, but luckily the taste isn't as strong. I was afraid this was going to taste like carbonated juice, but it definitely was not the case. The boysenberry is represented perfectly: not too sweet, not too watery.
The only major complaint I have is the price. At $2.50 a bottle, it's one of the most expensive specialty sodas I've seen in a while. I could see myself picking this up once in a while as a treat, but my wallet would never forgive me if it became a regular drink of mine. I am excited to try the other flavors Hotlips sells, especially the blackberry and pear flavors.

Edit: I wrote this review when i was half way through the bottle. I just finished it and was surprised by little chunks of boysenberry near the bottom. This might make some people happy, but when you're not expecting it, it's a little off-putting.

Website
http://hotlipspizza.com/soda/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Chunky, Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on September 6th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Switch Black Cherry

Switch Black Cherry

I stumbled upon this drink when stopping for provisions to go camping. Since then I've been searching high and low for it. Recently my search paid off, as I found it at a grocery store about a half hour away from my house. Switch really knows what they are doing. It's straight up juice mixed with sparkling water. Nothing else is added. If you're a fan of black cherry, I highly recommend this. It tastes like someone mashed up a bunch of cherries and then carbonated the juice that was forced from them. I'm not a huge black cherry fan myself, but it is still tasty.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Black Cherry, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Switch Fruit Punch

Switch Fruit Punch

Switch is quickly becoming one of my favorite beverages. If only I could get it somewhere closer to my house. 100% lightly sparkling juice. I think the fruit punch may be my favorite flavor. When I first had it, I thought it was a little weird, but by the time I got done with the can, I wanted another. It reminds me of Juicy Juice fruit punch, if it was carbonated.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
5/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Fruit Punch, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

Ooba Sparkling Hibiscus Hibiscus

Ooba Sparkling Hibiscus Hibiscus

This beverage comes in an eye appealing little bottle. I had seen it at the grocery store for a while, but didn't actually pick one up until today. I had expected it to be very lightly flavored water, but in reality it was actually very flavorful. I don't believe I have ever had anything with hibiscus in it before, and I really don't know how to describe the flavor. It was sweet and tangy, nothing like what I would expect a flower to taste like. I'll definitely be picking this up again, and I'll be on the lookout for other hibiscus flavored things.

Website
http://www.oobabeverage.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Cane Sugar
Categories
Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
OOBA Sparkling Beverage, Hibiscus Original, 12.5-Ounce Plastic Bottles (Pack of 12)

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

Wegmans Frizzante Blood Orange

At first I wasn't sure if we should review store brand beverages. The conclusion that I came to was that it shouldn't be a regular thing, but every once and a while it would be fine. This decision was easier to make because of the deliciousness of this beverage. It's your typical Italian Soda, but it's extremely flavorful, with a nice harsh carbonation. I just wish that everything that was orange flavored in the world were actually blood orange flavored. It's such the superior to a normal orange flavor.

Website
http://wegmans.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
Sugar
Categories
Juice, Soda Pop, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Wgmns Frizzante European Soda, Blood Orange, 33.8 Fl. Oz. Gluten Free. Lactose Free. Vegan, (Pack of 4)

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Cucumber

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Cucumber

This looked so enticing sitting on the shelf. I had never even thought of it before, but a cucumber spritzer just sounds so refreshing. Unfortunately the carbonation in the drink tastes exactly like seltzer water, which I greatly dislike. I will say that underneath the bitter seltzer taste, it does taste exactly like cucumbers. Hopefully in the future a different cucumber spritzer will hit the market that I can enjoy.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence, Organic Cucumber, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Blueberry

R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence Blueberry

After my disappointment with the cucumber Sparkling Essence, I was skeptical to try another flavor. Today I gave in and tried the blueberry. It had the same strong seltzer water flavor that I just can't get into. It does smell and taste exactly like blueberries. I just wish they would carbonate it differently. I did have a friend who likes seltzer have the rest of my can, and they loved it. So if seltzer is "on your list of the best things in life," this very well may be the sparkling beverage for you.

Website
http://www.rwknudsenfamily.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 7th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
R.W. Knudsen Sparkling Essence, Organic Blueberry, 10.5-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

12 Noon To Midnight Original

12 Noon To Midnight Original

This bottled beverage taunted me for months from the shelf of my local grocery store. The bottle made it look so fancy and tasty. I thought of it as the grail of beverages. The $8 price tag on it always deterred me. I would look up at it weekly and say "Some day. Some day." Finally I got to the point where I couldn't stand it any longer and bought it to have with dinner that night. This drink had been built up in my head to such a level that I cannot describe my disappointment as it splashed on my tongue. It tasted like the blandest fruit juice I had ever tasted. It tasted the way every health food was described in 80's movies. It also had a strong fennel aftertaste, even though it's not listed in the ingredients. I had a handful of other people taste it, wondering if it had magically powers that made it taste so disgusting to those who weren't worthy of it's glory. After one sip everyone thought it was completely terrible, and half a bottle of it was sadly poured down the drain.

Website
http://www.twelvebeverage.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
1/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 8th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
12 Beverage Sparkling Fruit Juice and Tea Blend 25.4 oz.

Switch Grape

Switch Grape

Another great flavor from the Switch company. As always it tastes like they took a glass of grape juice and lightly carbonated it. It's the perfect grape soda. It reminds me of a drink you could get at the grape stand they have at the local fair. Normally when I get a beverage that comes in the smaller cans I feel like it just wasn't enough. I never have that problem with Switch. It's the perfect amount, and the flavor stays with you for a while.

Website
http://www.switchbev.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Naturally Sweetened
Categories
Juice, Sparkling
Rating
4/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on September 9th, 2010
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
The Switch Carbonated Juice, Grape, 8.3-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)
<< previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |