Water (254 reviews)

Elisha Aerated Water Orange

Elisha Aerated Water Orange

I usually don't care about flavored water, but the unique packaging of this bottle drew me in. It's clear plastic and has a footed bottom like most bottles. But then it is shaped like, and has a top like a can. Weird.

Unlike the packaging, this drink is pretty straightforward. It has very light carbonation and sweetness, which lets the orange flavor really stand out. It's a really light drink, and pretty refreshing. I keep wanting this to be a soda with more carbonation, but sadly it's not. This is precisely why I can't get into flavored water. It doesn't want to be water, but it doesn't want to commit to being a soda. Pick a side!

Website
http://www.elisha.com.cn/
Country
Singapore
Sweetener
Fructose
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on February 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Bot Water Key Lime

Bot Water Key Lime

Tonight, I was accompanied by a tickle in my throat. It was an unwelcome guest that I couldn't get rid of fast enough. I didn't ask for it, and it's not like I didn't drink anything all day. I drank many glasses of tea and no water. I know, I should drink more water, but it's hard when there is tea in the fridge. It's unsweetened tea, so I don't want to hear anything from dentists, dentist apprentices which just occurred to me is a pretty killer rhyme but I don't know where I would use it in a rap lyric, or any other profession that cares about teeth. I don't need you professionals or 2-week course takers telling me what to do. I know what's going on in my mouth and although I don't floss as much as I would like/need, I eventually get around to it and if you accompany me on the bus in the morning, you will rate me in the high percentile of dental hygiene. Seriously, there was a dude on the train last month in 20-degree weather sweating profusely in only an unzipped hoodie. So don't tell me.

While you're not telling me anything, don't tell me that I should have had a key lime pie by now because some people just don't have time to experiment with new pie flavors when there are apple and pumpkin pie lying around to be eaten. That being said, I have had key lime jellybeans and although they're not my favorite, they're not terrible and I feel, a fair representation of the general idea behind key lime. This drink was pretty good. It was lighter than the
grape Bot drink, but this was more quenching and less juice. It was good. Light on the flavor, lighter on the sweetness, and quite fulfilling for what I needed it for, the aforementioned throat tickler.

My throat is now fine and I owe it all to you, Bot. Thanks.

Website
http://www.botbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 6th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bot Enhanced Water, Lime, 16.9-Ounce (Pack of 12)

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Watermelon

Hint Unsweetened Essence Water Watermelon

I gave my mom first sip, she said that it was just water. I made her try it again, and she said that it's like they forgot to put the flavor in. I gave it to my dad and he said that it was weak. I tried it and they were both right. Yes, it does taste like watermelon, yes it is weak, but it's different than the rest of the Hint stuff I've had. This drink is like Fibonacci sequence of drinks. The more you drink it, the more it tastes like watermelon. Once you stop, it gets back to square one. If you drank the whole thing, gluttonously and irresponsibly, in one chug fest of a drink session, it would probably be like eating a really wet watermelon.

This is good. It's refreshing, but if you're looking for a juice, this isn't it. If you want water with a little tiny bit of taste this is for you. If you like lemon water but are sick of always drinking the same thing, try this on for size, why don't you.

Website
http://www.drinkhint.com
Country
United States
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Hint Premium Essence Water, Watermelon, 16-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Bot Water Meyer Lemon

Bot Water Meyer Lemon

For a while now I've seen these little guys sitting on the shelf of Wegman's natural drink aisle. They used to have a different design with robot animals on them. It looked like a kids drink, and I'm not a huge fan of flavored water so I always passed it by. I can only imagine that there was a meeting at the company where they decided to change their image in order to reach a wider market. I keep picturing the Paul F Tompkins bit about peanut brittle. Someone surely must have yelled "I want five modern fonts on my desk by five o'clock! That's right five by five!" I think the decision they made was a wise one. The new look of Bot looks "new" and "fresh," but at the same time it could still be alluring to children. Bright colors will do that.

On to my other concern: do you remember in the 90's when flavored water was all the rage? I certainly do. I can also tell you that every one that I tried was terrible. The water would be flavored, but for some reason the companies felt compelled to add artificial sweetener. It's water people. It doesn't need to be sweetened. A little fruit flavor in there and you should be all set. The powers that be and I did not see eye to eye. As a result I avoided flavored waters.

About ten years ago or so Vitamin Water popped up. For the longest time I didn't try it because of my previously mentioned reasons. When I finally did I was shocked to see that I actually enjoyed it. It was a gross between the gross flavored waters of the 90's and Gatorade. Similar companies started popping up. Bot is going for something along those lines as well. The thing is that their water drinks are a lot thinner than their counterparts. This has more of the consistency of water than other ones I've tried. The flavor is also lighter, but it's definitely there and enjoyable.

Does this taste like a bottle of water with a lemon in it? No. Does it taste like a syrupy mess? Also, no. It's in the middle ground right where I like it to be.

Website
http://www.botbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Raw Cane Sugar
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on April 18th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bot Enhanced Water Lemon, 16.9 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Bot Water Mixed Berry

Bot Water Mixed Berry

I'm a stupid idiot. I don't like painted wood. Why did you install wood with it's nice grains if you were just going to paint it. I can't imagine how awesome my house would look if all the wood was stained instead of lazily painted white. So, since I don't like painted wood, and I own my own house, I took all of the doors off the hinges to strip them. Here's a question for the general public; Did you know that stripping wood is exhausting and tedious work and nothing about it is easy? I tried using stripping chemicals and they just kind of melted the paint. I am currently using a heat gun and it's working, but about two inches at a time. It's tiring and when I got done today, I looked through my stock of drinks and knew that I needed something refreshing. Water? Or juice? I saw that red bottle looking at me and I grabbed it. It was nice. A little sweet and a little flavored. More than a lot of the Hint stuff but still less than a juice that would be too sweet. This was good. It's super low in calories and you can slam it until your heart is content, or until it's time to go back out and scrape more wood. Me? I've got three full doors and one half of another one. I'm closer to starting than to finishing and that blows. Once again, I'm an idiot, but a quenched idiot.

Website
http://www.botbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on April 23rd, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bot Enhanced Water Berry, 16.9 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Bot Water Valencia Orange

Bot Water Valencia Orange

I'm pretty sure BOT may have been contracted by NASA to make this beverage. I can think of no other reason why this smells so much like Tang. It's what astronauts drink, in case you didn't know. Not only do they drink it, but Thirsty Mike used to drink an obscene amount of it when we used to live together. He had a huge tub of the powder that me mixed with water in an old juice container. That powder had a very specific smell that has been exactly replicated by BOT. The flavor is also there, but in a subtle way. You may expect this to be just another version of Vitamin Water, but it stands on it's own. It tastes more like flavored water. It's also has more natural ingredients. The bottle boasts, "Low calorie. No Artificial Sweeteners. No Dyes. No Preservatives. No Sodium." BOT has taken the original Tang and made it better. They want to make sure that our fellow Americans in space get their vitamins, electrolytes and antioxidants. They care about our nations heroes. Well at least they do in my head. They were really probably just trying to make orange flavored water, and the whole Tang thing came as an accident, but a boy can dream.

Website
http://www.botbeverages.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Pure Cane Sugar
Categories
Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Jason Draper on May 17th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Bot Enhanced Water Orange , 16.9 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)

Coco Water All Natural Coconut Water + Pineapple

Coco Water All Natural Coconut Water + Pineapple

I’ve never been to anywhere in the world that could be considered tropical. The closest I’ve ever come is Disney World in Orlando, Florida. While some may call it the happiest place on earth, I don’t think anyone has ever called tropical. That label is reserved for places like Hawaii and the Bahamas. I have no desire to go to these places because they are very hot, and I don’t like extremely hot weather.

But if I were forced to go to somewhere tropical at gunpoint, I would imagine drinking this there would be very fitting. While I’m not crazy about coconut water, this one is actually pretty good. It tastes really fresh and has a real creamy taste to it. While the summer heat in Buffalo doesn’t compare to the tropics, this is definitely helping me ‘beat the heat’ as they say. My only complaint about this is you can’t really taste the pineapple. This is disappointing to be because pineapple drinks are delicious and I was really looking forward to tasting the combination of coconut and pineapple.

Website
http://www.naturalcocowater.com/
Country
Thailand
Sweetener
No Sugar Added
Categories
Coconut, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Derek Neuland on June 8th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Coco Water Pineapple- Pure Coconut Water + Vitamin C, All Natural, 16 Ounce

Kiki Maple Sweet Water Strawberry

Kiki Maple Sweet Water Strawberry

You know that a drink cannot surpass "three bottles" when with every sip you wonder if it has gone bad. I am half way through this bottle and, as aforementioned, I don't know if it's going to kill me or not. It could be the maple syrup that my palate is not used to but it's not like anything that I'm used to.

The strawberry though...that is real. It tastes like someone took an iced tea sweetened with maple syrup and just squished some strawberries into it. It tastes natural. I can honor that part of it. The maple syrup part of it...that's just odd. Call me an "ignorant American" Canada, but this kind of makes it taste funny.

Maple syrup. You're great on pancakes. Stick to pancakes. You're good on that.

Website
http://www.trollbridgecreek.ca/
Country
Canada
Sweetener
Maple Syrup
Categories
Juice, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on September 10th, 2013
Comments
View and Leave A Comment

Sobe Pure Watermelon

Sobe Pure Watermelon

Sometimes when I'm in the presence of a certain and very specific smell of wood, I can only think of one thing. When I was a kid, for no reason or for hide-and-seek, I used to hide in this cabinet/shelf we had in the basement. I could go there now, 25 years later and it would smell the same. It reminds me of that. I don't know if it's pine or what, but I catch a smell of it and I'm right back there, in that cubby. I don't think there is any way that I could fit in there now, but I could put my head in there and relive my past over and over again.

This drink did not make me think of wood, but it has a smell that is reminiscent of something. You know when you're like "Oh, what does that smell like?" It drives you crazy, right? You can't place it but you've got such a familiar association with it, that it's like looking into your past. I want to say this tastes like a watermelon Jolly Rancher, but that's a cop out. If they ever made watermelon Freeze-e-pops, this is what it tastes like, but less syrupy and sweeter because of the Stevia.

This pales in comparison to the black cherry because it's a bit too candy. Watermelon seems to be a tough flavor to get to not be like candy, that's what it's so awesome to find something "grape" flavored that doesn't taste like what the world has accepted as "grape", you know what I mean? Grape PEZ doesn't taste anything like any grapes I've ever had, and neither has anything watermelon flavored. Get on that, world; you've got the skills.

Website
http://www.sobe.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Erythritol
Categories
Diet, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on June 30th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
SoBe Pure Watermelon, 20 oz (Pack of 24)

Twist Mandarin White Tea

Twist Mandarin White Tea

What a day. It has been dry as a bone for a month here in the North East. My yard is yellow and looks terrible. I am sure that I am going to have a thousand dollar water bill, as will the rest of the gardeners up on the East Coast.

Today the sky broke and rain poured down from the sky. It fell down so hard that I knew I was in for some trouble. My house was built in 1827. No joke. 1827. The basement takes on water like a sieve and today was one of those days.

I checked when it started to rain and there was nothing. Awesome. I checked again, because I felt it in my bones that trouble was afoot. I couldn't have been more right. 6-8" of water covered my floor. It blew the cover off one pipe and filled my sump pump. I had to bail water myself with a bucket up and down the stairs as my basement took on more water.

Mike's Basement

Eventually, the rain subsided and the water started flowing out instead of in.

When all was said and done, I stood outside in the drizzling rain, catching my breath, and cooling down. I needed something to drink and this was the clear choice. No pun intended. It did a great job and I liked it more than the other flavors that I had. This actually gave the essence of flavored water. Water first, flavor second. I didn't get a lot of white tea taste but I did get a fair amount of mandarin and that's all I could have asked for.

Rule for first time homebuyers; check the basement before you buy a house. Check out the house on a saturating day to ensure that it can take it.

Website
http://www.talkingrain.com/
Country
United States
Sweetener
Organic Agave Nectar
Categories
Iced Tea, Sports/Dietary Supplement, Water
Rating
3/5
Reviewed By
Mike Literman on July 25th, 2011
Comments
View and Leave A Comment
Buy Now
Twist Lightly Flavored Water, Mandarin White Tea, 19-Ounce Bottles (Pack of 12)
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 |